Index | The sale of Knelle Manor

PERSONS INVOLVED IN THE SALE OF KNELLE MANOR: BATESFORD

BATESFORD, BATELESFORD, BATTISFORD

Arms: Argent, 2 crescents sable, a canton gules, or crescents gules a canton sable; argent, 2 crescent gules; argent, 3 crescents gules, a canton of the last. The British Herald  gives for Batysford, Suffolk, argent on a chevron between three crosses bottonée sable as many fleurs-de-lis of the first. - AR 2 crescents GU a cannton with a crescent OR (The General Armory). - AR 3 crescents GU a canton SA, Essex (Crusaders by J. Dansey).

Early in the year 1385, March 26, Thomas Lyvet, cousin of Edmund de Knelle, kt., the last male heir, had issued a charter to John Lyvet as well as to William Batesford and Robert Oxenbridge, their heirs and assigns, concerning the manor and the appurtenances and services in Beckley, Peasmarsh, Iden, Playden, Northiam and Wittersham and the reversion of the premises which had been granted to Sir Robert Belknap by William de Welles, son of William de Welles and Margaret de Knelle (CCR). - On Michaelmass of the year before, William de Batelesford and Richard de Cristelton, clerk, had levied a fine and granted the manor of Knell, 90 acres of land in Beckley to John Preston for the life of William de Welles of Canterbury, and the reversion to Robert de Belknap and Juliane his wife (CPR).

Norfolk and Suffolk

Battisford - A place called Batesford (in Suffolk) is mentioned as early as mid 13th century in a feoffment charter (PRO HD 1538/129/1), where seems to have existed a hospital. - The manor of Batisford (or Batsford) in Gloucester with its park appears in a document dated 1544 (DDCC/111/208). In Lincoln exists a Battesford c. 4 miles from Horncastle (Cartulary of Trentham Priory). Further lands called Battesford were situated in Pevensey, Hamsey and Nunningham Farm, Batsford farm in Dallington and Warbleton, Sussex (PRO C47/7/5/14): Commission and inquisition as to the sewers on the sea coast between Batesford, Ashburnehamesmyll (mill in Ashburnham) and Godyngeshaven. Several documents show properties in Devon.

The first document found so far relating to William of Batesford of Suffolk is a grant of land to Osbert, son of Ruff of Wachesham, as settlement on his marriage to William's daughter Cecily in c. 1175, (PRO GBR/429). The same year shows a dispute between the prior of Bricett and William, son of Walter de Batesford over land in Battisford (PRO GBR/553). - Between 1154 and 1189 he gave 40 acres of land and 6 acres of wood of the fee he held of the king to Battisford Hospital or the Preceptory of Battisford (VCH, V. 2).- Batisford manor was purchased by the bishop of Norwich c. 1320 of Philip de Columbariis, whose family had been overlord there for a long time.

A Richard de Batesford lived between 1182 and 1211 in Bury St. Everard, Suffolk. He and his son Everard in 1202 gave land to the Abbey of Bury St. Edmunds (A Dictionary of Surnames). - In 1201 Nicholas Batfot, putting in his place his father Richard, sues Ebrard Batfot for 40 a with appurtenances in Ferlee (CRR). 1203-4 Goeffrey F. Geoffrey v. Walter FitzUmfrey concerning the manors of Chipell, Barl', Gelham with appurtenances. Geoffrey quitclaims to Walter, who gives him other land formerloy held of the fee of Eborard de Batford (ESSX FF V. 1, p. 47).

1221 sees Adam de Batford' as witness and juror with Peter de Nerford (CRR). - Hugh de Batesford of Suffolk witnesses a grant to William de Valence, lord of Pembroke (TNA E 40/3964). - In 1225 there are 2 grants of land in Wattisham to the prior of Bricett by Sir William de Batsford (PRO GBR/445 & 6). He had been elected juror in the year 1219 concerning troubles of Peter de Nereford (CRR). In 1220 he was juror in a grand assize between Peter de Nereford and Matilde de Calceto regarding 15 a in Micklefield (CRR). - William in 1238 granted to the prior of Brisete a tenement, which he had in Battisford, held of Robert de Tateshal (CPR). -  William de Batsford, who was probably his descendant, in 1275 granted to the priory of Bricet rents of land there.

1237 The Bishop of Ely sues by his attorney, Thomas de Batesford, Gilbert the Forester, John de Littlebury and others in Essex. In 1244 the same against Galiena for a transgression (CCR). - 1239-40 Roger Bavent and Sara his wife are represented in court by Sampson de Batesford  who sue John de Say regarding a messuage, 24 a of land in Bromston. John acknowledges this and all his tenements he had in Gosfield, Essex, Hachesham in Surrey, Cocking in Sussex and Sybourn in Kent as inheritance of Avelin his former wife, sister and heir of Sarra, who is her heir (ESSX and SSX FF).

1257 The King orders the sheriff not to allow Henry de Batesford his possessions in the church of Toftis, and if he disturbs the laymen there and unlawfully enters his possessions, he is to be removed immediately (CCR). 

1262-3 Nicholas Wytton and Elena his wife sue Humphrey de Batefford and Margery his wife for 10 a of land in Dykelegh'. The plaintiffs pay 9 marks of silver to hold the property of the chief lords (ESSX FF). Humphrey de Batesford, witnesses a quitclaim of a field in Cookley, Suffolk, in the 13th C. (N.D. PRO HD 1538/187/1), he also was witness to a quitclaim by Margery, widow of Sir John de Vallibus of  Keswich (NF).

1275-7 Cornwall: Pardon of Edmund earl of Cornwall to the Prior of Eye, witness Bartholomew Batsford (Eye Cartulary). - 28 April 1286 Order to the sheriff of Norfolk to restore to Sampson Batesford, clerk, his lands in the King's hand for suspicion of having caused the death of Wymer le Pestur. But he had proved his innocence (CCR). - 1264-72 Goeffrey son of Sampson de Batesford stays at St. Edmund (Plc. terris ossupatis p. 218). Sampson had the daughters Joan, Clemencia and Alice, who were tenants, mentioned in the inheritance of Edmund de Pakenham and Roesia his wife and Robert de Ufford and Cecily his wife. In this connection appears also a Nicholas de Batisford  in 1306 (CCR). This would be Nicolas de Batesford, freed from prison in 1287. He had caused a death (CPR). - In that year Clemencia and Alice also held land of the manor of Combes in Suffolk (CCR).

1297 William de Batesford, parson of the church of Lokestone (CPR). - In 1300 William Batesford witnesses a deed by James Ardern to the Prior and Convent of Ardern. He was of Codyngton in Yorkshire (Publications, V. 1). - In 1302 William Batesford is parson of the churches of Boclond and Lokerton (CPR). He was witness to a charter by William de Middelton to Richard  de Pir'. - London: 1313-4 Will of William Batisford, rector of the church of Bocland and Loxton of all his tenements in London to be sold (Husting wills).  - 16 Aapril 1315 William de Batesford was witness to a release by John de Pilsden to John de Westcote (CRR p. 222).

Robert de Batesford witnesses in 1308 a feoffment and quitclaim by Robert Wygge concerning tenements in Flixton, Suffolk (PRO HD 1538/222/36). He was creditor in the amount of 40 s to Simon Wrevel of Norwich in 1313, and is mentioned in 1322 in an inquisition into the lands of John Kelleveden in Essex (TNA SC 8/234/11662). - 1318-9 Thomas atte Felde of Hatfeld Peverel and Agnes his sister plead for land and rent in Wykham against Robert Batesford of Witham and Agnes his wife. He loses this case and is remunerated with 10 lbs sterling (ESSX FF). - 1323-4 Robert and Agnes lose land in Wykham to William Scaperel, clerk, who pays them 100s. In the same year Thomas atte Felde of Hatfeld Peverel and Agnes his sister v. Robert de Batesford of Witham and Agnes his wife regarding land in Wykham. It went to the plaintif for 10 lbs sterling (ESSX FF, V. 2, pp. 187 and 211). - 1327 Robert Batisford and Cecily his wife hold a messuage and 120 a of land paying 20s rent to the prior of Wirmegay, 8s to the master of the Hospital of St. John in Batisford and 8s to William Curzon in Suffolk (CIPM). - Robert is mentioned in a marriage settlement for Isabella Poynings and William Cricketot on 17 April 1343, by which William was obliged to enfeoff Michael Poynings, Isabella's brother, her uncle John Boteler, Richard Froisel and Robert de Batesford in the manors of Ashfield and Oversden in Suffolk. - He lived in the town of St. Edmund's in 1331, and in 1332 was mainpernor for John Hunterston (CCR). - Robert de Batesford is enfeoffed in the manors of Ashfield and Ouisden (Oversden) in Suffolk on 1st May 1341 (CPR).

1345 the abbot of Wilmington Priory recovered 100 lbs in compensation for damages caused by William de Batelesford and others. - In that year Robert is one of the rebellious citizens of the town of St. Edmund's, who did not want the presence of Robert de Foxton, king's clerk, in the town, under the summons of Richard, Abbot of St. Edmunds. The clerk fled to the church of the abbey, where he was surrounded by the crowd who detained him there and damaged his house in the town (CPR).  

1319 Complaint by the Bishop of Ely that John Batesford, his servant, Hugh and Thomas, sons of Thomas de Batesford, and others broke into his close and carried away timber (CPR). A John Batisford was parson of Bucklesham in Norfolk in 1320 (Miscellanea Geneologica). - Roger Batesford of Norwich acted as a creditor in 1313 (TNA C 241/79/174). - 1324 Commission to Thomas Bavent and others to deliver the goal of St. Dunwich of Roger Batesford, William Brome, late parson of St. Peter Dunwich and others, being there for the death of William de Bronte, late parson of St. Peter in Dunwich (CPR). 

1327 Thomas of Battisford of Fornham St. Genevieve, Suffolk, a merchant, witnesses a title deed (PRO 449/2/209). Of him further deeds can be traced up to 1351. In a deed dated 1328, this Thomas, Ethelreda his wife and Robert their son, are granted a messuage with land and a croft in Fornham St. Genevieve, Suffolk (TNA 449/2/211). 1341-2 Thomas de Batesford, knight of Suffolk, who held a fee in Newton, Stow Hundred, was debtor to John de Godeston, bootmaker of London (TNA C 241/115/458 and /117/448). In 1340 he had to pay 350 lbs for the farming of the manor of Stowmarket with appurtenances. From William, son of Walter Banyard, he was granted all his lands in the town of Thorney and outlying hamlets (CCR). In 1346 Thomas held a quarter fee in the manor of Boxsted in Essex, which comprised a messuage, land, wood, a mill and rent there (Feudal Aids).

In 1341 Thomas Batesford, late the sheriff of Norfolk and Suffolk, was to act with John de Wingfield and had order to deliver his accounts to Edward Cretyng, newly appointed sheriff of Norfolk and Suffolk. During his time as sheriff he had also the custody of the castle of Norwich (CFR). - In 1342 Edward Cretyng, now the sheriff, was committed to associate himself with Thomas, John de Wingfield and John de Aspale to levy certain fines (CFR). Thomas de Batesford, kt., had to acknowledge that he owed to Henry de Lancaster, earl of Derby, and to Ralph de Brok, parson of Gosberkirk church 240 lbs (CCR). - In 1348 and 1349 he acted once more levying subsidies (CFR). In 1350 John and Thomas de Wingfield testified that they have received from Thomas 300 lbs to traffic with and to render the sum back with profits next midsummer.

Thomas Batesford of Norfolk presented to the church of Durham Parva in right of his wife Maud, sister to John Durham (Blomfield, V. 9). - A Sir Thomas of Battisford, kt. of Newton in Stowe Hundred, is mentioned in 1341 (PRO 449/2/220), owing 47 lbs to John de Godeston, shoomaker of London (TNA C 241/117/448) to be levied on his lands in Suffolk (CCR). In 1342 John de Wingfield, John Aspale and Thomas de Batesford were appointed to collect the fines amounting to 4000 lbs (CCR) On 18 October 1343 John and Thomas Batesford became collectors of money of those who were ministers in Norfolk and Suffolk (CCR).1345 Thomas de Batesford acts as one of the jurors to decide in an inquisition concerning the manor of Hempstead Marshall in Berkshire after the death of Thomas Brotherton, earl of Norfolk (ESSX FF). - 1348 Appointment of Thomas de Batisford, kt., to arrest all people who are not willing to pay their tenth and fifteenth in the county of Suffolk. In that year he also witnesses a grant to the abbot of Ely (CPR). - 1350 Account for the lands of Thomas de Batesford, collector of the Fifteenth and Tenth, the manors of Fornham (St. Genevieve) and Thorneye, Norfolk and Suffolk and Boxted (TNA E 199/29/29 and /10/13). - In 1351 he owes money to Master Bernard de Saut, clerk (TNA C 241/129/34).

1352 Nicholas de Wandlesworth of London and Maud his wife sue Thomas de Batisford, kt., and Maud his wife for the manor of Boxsted, which the deforciants quitclaim receiving 100 marks (ESSX FF). This is probably the Thomas, who married Maud Breton, daughter of John Breton the younger of Essex, as her second husband. She had been married before to Richard Rivers (1346-52, VCH Essex, V. 10). - 1346 Thomas de Batesford and Matilda his wife and William de Esthalle had a quarter of a knight's fee from John de Laroyn in Peagrave. Thomas held another quarter fee from the earl of Arundel there (Feudal Aids). 1347 Thomas de Battisford knight of Bosmere Hundred in Suffolk was reported as debtor to William de Bohun, Earl of Northampton, and William de Dersham in the amount of 100 lbs (CCR).

1346 John de Batesford, clerk, is sued by Richard de Middleton, clerk, concerning the church of Littlebury (TNA KB 138/116). - 1350 Clement de Batesford, clerk, named by Hugh de Nevill as his attorney during his absence on a pilgrimage (CPR). - 1357 Alice,  wife of John Wardeyn the younger, daughter of the late Philip Batisforye of Norfolk. - 1360 Walter de Batisford obtains a licence for alienation of mortmain of rents and lands etc. to the convent of St. George, Thetford, Suffolk (CPR). - In 1377 occurs a robert de Batesford in Norfolk (PRO 9/14).

1383 John Batesford, clerk, charged with felony by Thomas Sampson of Kersey in Suffok (CPR). - John Secayn, John Botisford and John Hale sue Benedict Chapman and Agnes his wife for a messuage and land in Stanbourne, who quitclaim to John Botisford and his heirs (ESSX FF).

1399-1402 The prior of the Holy Trinity of Ipswich had bought premises of John Battisford without licence, who had been one of the leaders in the time of insurrections (Inq. Misc. V. 7 p. 86). - 1422 William Batesford had 4 acres of land in Narburgh, Norfolk (CIPM) - 12 July 1423 To the escheator of Norfolk: Order to give William Narburgh seisin of a cottage and 4 acres of land in Narburgh, held by William Batesford, outlawed for felony.

Batesford in other counties:

Hertfordshire 1207 Philip de Batesfeld' is mentioned in a Curia Regis Roll.-  In the 15th and 16th centuries further family members lived in Cambridge, Berkshire and Hertshire.

Nottingham: 1244 Thomas de Batesford acted as attorney for the bishop of Ely (CCR p. 254). - 4 Aug. 1255 Alice de Batesford and John her brother give to the king one mark for an assize of novel disseisin in Nottingham held by Gilbert de Preston (FF& CFR). - Alicia who was the wife of Walter de Bottlesford (Cal. Geneal.). Her inquisition dated 1279 mentions Alicia, daughter of her deceased daughter Beatrice and her daughter Sarra, married to Roger le Breth. - Devon, Stodham - Walter de Batlesford and his tenants hold one knight's fee called Tulesworth from William de Zouche in 1284-6 (see under Sampson Batesford Norfolk above).

Surrey:1280 Robert de Batesford represents Laurence de St. Michel in court against Robert Bishop of Bath and Welles (Surrey FF).

1347 Thomas Batesford has in Boxstede, Essex, a messuage,a mill, a wood and rent (CIPM). - 1347 Adam de Batford and Agnes his wife give to the Abbey of St. Mary of York  land in Wederhall, Cumberland (CIPM).

1314 Cal. of wills in Husting, London: William de Batisford, rector of the church of Bocland and of Loxton wills that all his tenements in London are to be sold to fulfil his testament.

1392, Feb. 1 - Hugh Battisford of London as creditor claimed 90 marks from William Peek of Derbyshire, who had to relinquish to him his property in Kent (TNA C 131/42/14). In 1394 Hugh Battisford was common serjeant-at-arms (Cal. of the plea and memoranda rolls of the City of London, Vol. III). In another document he is called 'Herre' Hugh of Batesford. In the german language 'Herr' is still the synonym of 'Mr. William Batisford, parson of All-Hallows at Hay-wharf in Ropery, London, in 1398 (CPR). 1399-40 Bequest by John Starlyng to Sir William Batisford, rector of the church of All Hallows at the Hay, London (Husting Wills).

Bedfordshire

William de Botlesford appears in the Curia Regis Roll of 1199 (K. Richard & John).

Sampson Batesford in 1240 represented Roger de Bavent and Sarra his wife in an assize of 'mort `'ancestor' against John de Say regarding tenements and land in Essex, Surrey, Sussex and Kent (SSX and ESSX FF). Sarra and Aveline, who had been John de Say's wife, were sisters. Sampson de Batesford is witness to another deed of William de Valence (TNA E 40/3469). He is mentioned in Bedford in 'A Dict. of Engl. & Welsh Surnames'). - 1265-70 Galfrido, son of Sampson de Batesford, was pardoned for his roll during the disturbances and lives at St. Edmund (SF) (Rot. Selecti).

William de Batesford has a seventh part of a knight's fee in Walhull in 1346 (Feudal Aids), which Sampson de Batesford once had in 1302 (Inq. and Ass.). - This Sampson was juror in a trial at Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk (The Corporation of Bury St. Edmund's) in 1292 (see Sampson under Norfolk, above). - The same source reveals that Walter de Batesford and his tenants had two knight's fees in Stodhauk, Hundred of Maunsfield.

1344 John de Batesford acts as mainpernor for Thomas de Pabenham (CCR). 

Hampshire

Ca 1260-70 occurs a Henry Batesford as witness to a grant in Hampshire (PRO 44M69/C/377). - John de Batesford of Hampshire and Sussex (d. 1320) - John was a justice itinerant appointed by Edw. I in 1292-3 to take assizes, jurats and certificates throughout the Kingdom (The Judges of England, V. 3, p. 37). John Batesford was invited to the coronation of Edward II in 1307 (Dormant & Extinct Peerage of Burke). The King afterwards sent him on assizes to Hampshire, Wiltshire, Somerset, Dorset, Cornwall and Devon .

In 1293 John de Batesford settled a messuage and 2 virgates of land in Finley on Robert Finley and Maud his wife (VCH Hampshire). The same year he is acting as justice in an assize in Prestain Amanderness. - Thornton  ca.1294. In a trial in Lancaster Sir John de Batisford acted as justiciar (PRO DDBL 50/12). There are also diverse Assize Rolls of John Batesford between 1293 and 1302 mostly for the southern counties, including Hants, Surrey and Sussex (JUST/1299-1328).  - In 1293 he was appointed by King and Council to take assizes with William Haward in York, Northumberland, Westmoreland, Cumberland, Lancaster, Nottingham and Derby (CCR).

1298 John de Batesford and Roger of Hegham appointed to take the assize of novel disseisin arraigned by Alianore, da. of William de Coleville of Crondale, Hampshire, and Agnes her sister (Coll. of Rec. relating to the Hundred and manor of Crondal). - 1299 John de Batesford and R. de Hegham received a commission of oyer and terminer touching the persons who assaulted Roger de Bella Fago at Waterpirie, co. Oxford. - They also had to hold an assize of novel disseisin in Southampton in 1298. John de Batesford in 1300 acted in Eynham and was ordered to take an assize in Oxford (Eynsham Cartulary). In 1302 commissioner to treat with the men of Hampshire (Judges of England, V. 3). John and Roger de Suthcote are judges in a case of assault in Hampshire (CPR). - 1309 Roger de Bella Fago, John de Batesford and Thomas de la Hyde were appointed to look into a matter where several persons had allegedly appropriated a whale found on the land of Ranulph de Albo Monasteria in the Scilly Islands, Cornwall (CPR). - In 1300 he was summoned to Parliament.- 1301 the King orderd John and John Randolf to decide upon the case of Andrew Sackville, whose Park at Buckhurst had been spoiled and his deer and game had been taken away (Parish of Withiam, SSX).        

C. 1300-1310 John had a commission with William de Echyngham to react to a complaint of Robert, vicar of the church of Burgersh in Sussex, who had been robbed, imprisoned and mutilated by various men, inclusive the parson of the church of Burgersh (TNA SC 8/72/3564). - On 1 October 1309 Magister Richard de Abynden and John de Batesford have a commission by the Council  to induce the sheriff of Dorset to inquire into the possessions of the abbot and convent of Middleton, whose charters were destroyed by lightning This inquisition was held in 1310 (Inq. Misc. V. 2 p. 20). -

 In 1311 John acted as a justice of Assize and held an inquest in the convent of Middleton in the Hundred of Whiteweye, Gloucestershire, to confirm their charters, which had been lost by a lightning. 1312 he and others were commanded to enforce the statute of Winchester in Devon and Cornwall. Other commissions for John are recorded 1314 in Surrey and 1319 in Sussex and Hampshire (CPR). - In 1329 John de Batisford is witness to a deed in Brettenham, Suffolk (PRO HD 1538/6 Vol. 6/fol. 29) - He had a commission touching the persons who entered John de Bella Aqua's (Bellew) park at Thorp Arches, cty. York. As justice he had to decide in a case of novel disseisin between John and Margaret de Breouse and Fremund Inge in that year.

In 1319/20 William Batesford in Hampshire receives licence for the alienation of land in mortmain to the Prior and Convent of Swithun’s in Winchester CPR). - 1320 William Batesford to grant a messuage, land and rent in Wynenaston to the prior and convent of Swithum, Winchester, retaining land in Hampshire (TNA C 143/140/16). - John le Hwyte of Mattingley complains in that year that he had been ejected from his land by the prior of Merton, who had demolished some of his houses and taken goods and corn in which case William de Batesford and others were involved (TNA SC 8/174/8654).

Batesford of Sussex:

Batelesford belonged to Battle Abbey as per charter of King Henry I. - Batsford (Betelesford) in Warbleton was mentioned on 13 Sept. 1114 in a charter by King Henry I to bishop Ralph of Chichester and his officials of Sussex, that the abbot of Battle has proved that he does not hold the lands of Ovingdean, Coding in Hove, Batsford in Warbleton, Shoyswell in Etchingham, Boarzell in Ticehurst and others, which formerly pertained to Alciston (a large manor which the king had given to Battle abbey at its foundation). Witness William Pont-de-l'Arche. Dated 1100-1123 (Regesta H. 1). - Patronymica Britannia: Batsford, an estate in Warbleton, Sussex, which had owners of that name in the 14th C. It was variously written Battesford, Batisford etc.

John de Batesford represents Edmund earl of Cornwall, son of Richard King of the Romans, brother of King Henry III, when he empeached John de Thenelby and Alix his wife for the manor of Bevington (Bevendean). John and Alix acknowledge his right and shall pay a 'denar' at Easter term. Therefore the Earl gives them a Sparrowhawk 1277 (SSX FF). 1299 Inquisition before the escheator of Sussex by the oath of John Batelesford, John de Monceaux, John de Heringaud and others (Robertsbridge  CH nº 285, p. 99). - On 9 Oct. 1296 John de Batlesford and Richard Pike as justices had to find out in a grand assize at Oxford whether the prioress of Goring and others unjustly desseised the abbot of Eynesham of a common pasture in Goring which belongs to a free tenement in Kaversham (Cart. of Eynesham nº 510, p. 346).- In 1295 John de Batesford is summoned as justice of the Council to Parliament at Westminster on 1 Aug. The same on 6 March 1300 and on20 Jan. 1301 to Parliament in Lincoln. The same year he had letter of credence of 18 Dec. for the counties of Southammpton, Surrey and Sussex to act for the King's matters and ask the knights for their aid to supply grain sor the King. He was further summoned t Parliament in 1304 and 1305. 

In 1268 Richard, son of John Batesford, sues John Batesford for land, and a mill in Old Shorham and rent in Old and New Shorham, as well as land and rent in other places in that area (SSX FF).

Jacobo de Batesford and William, pay tax for land they hold in Coppdebech (Cowbeach in Foxearle Hundred) in 1296, 1s each. - Johanne de Batelesford paid 4s 7 3/4d in Wartling in 1296 and was juror there (SSX SB). He is probably the judge John de Batesford above.

William Batesford petitioned of Simon Gyles and Alice his wife a mill and 4a of land in Warbleton, Sussex in 1319, which became his for 20 marks (SSX FF). - In 1326 The abbot of Grestein has recovered in an assise 160 a of land, 4 a of meadow and 10 a of wood in Hellinglegh and 100 lbs for damage of William Batesford and diverse others (Abbrev. Plac. p. 355).

He and John his son held land in Cowbeach near Hastings in 1327 and 1332 for 2 s tax each (SSX SB). - In 1327 John was jurat in Wartling paying 7s 7 3/4d in Cowbeach, which had been of Jacobo Batelesford in 1296. Further he paid tax in Hailsham, Pevensey, and In 1332 he held land in Ferles and Cowbeach. - John Battesford in 1339-40 was Centenar in the Hundred of Foxlearle, Hastings Rape, comprising Ashburnham and Herstmonceaux, in the array ordered by the king (SSX Muster Roll). - He witnessed a grant in Sussex on 3 April 1355 (ASH/4501/15).

Ellen, daughter of Robert Battisford, possibly son of Richard above, married John de Sidney of Sussex 1326 at Lewes, son of John Sidney, third son of William Sidney (d. 1317) and Elisabeth, daughter of Richard Ashburnham. They were descended from Sir William Sidney, kt., buried at Lewes in the Lady Chapel 1188. This Sir William was chamberlain of King H. II, who gave him the manor of Sutton in Surrey (SSX Genealogies). - John and Ellen had a large descendancy. From the elder line was William of Sussex who married Elizabeth or Jane, daughter of Sir Henry Norbury. Their second daughter Elizabeth married John Hampden (see Belknap Genealogy (Julia and Edward Hampden). - This William married secondly Thomasine, daughter of John Barrington and widow of John Lunsford of Battle, and Anne, daughter of Sir William Brandon, cousin of Charles, Duke of Suffolk. They had a son William and a grandson Henry Sidney KG, Lord deputy of Ireland and president of Wales (d. 5 May 1586), who married Mary, eldest daughter of John Dudley, Duke of Northumberland (d. 9 Aug. 1586, executed). - Henry's youngest sister married Thomas Radcliff, earl of Sussex), and his eldest son Philip married Frances, daughter and heir of Sir Francis Walsingham, the spy master (SSX Genealogies). - Family members married into the families of Ore, Aspley, Lunsford, Covert and others. Their only daughter Elizabeth married Roger Manners, Earl of Rutland. Sir Henry's second son, Lord Robert Sidney, Viscount Lisle (d. 1626) became the first earl of Leicester.

The arms of Sidney were: OR, a pheon AZ, quilled and chained OR. Crest: A bear, sejant, supporting a staff, reguly AR, muzzled SA. Supporters: On either side a lion, each ducally crowned, the dexter OR, collared and chained AZ, the sinister guardant AR.

Enfeoffment to Robert de Battesford and others in Crowhurst in 1343 (PRO U1384/E4). He is mentioned as a trustee in a marriage settlement the same year (PRO BAT/1024). - 1362 John Worth to Sir Richard Pecheham, parson of Fletching, and Robert Batesford, chaplains, to deliver to Roger Dalyngregge and Alicia his wife seisin of two thirds of the manor of Sheffield Seymour and of lands (CCR). - Worth was cousin and heir of Thomas Seymour, and Alice had been Thomas's wife (please see Dallingridge genealogy). - In 1377 Robert de Batisford was named deputy of the chief butler in Winchelsea together with others (CPR).

1352 Ralph de St. Owen, sheriff of Surrey and Sussex, John de Batesford, Richard de Herst and others were committed to fell 100 oaks destined for works for the King in the forest of Rotherfield, which Guy de Bryan and Elizabeth his wife hold for her life (CPR). - John de Badesford, William de Northey and others had order to collect outstanding fines in Sussex in 1354 (CFR). William Northey, escheator in Surrey and Sussex, in 1356 had mandate to let Joan, daughter of Robert Dole, deceased, have seizing of her father's land, including 10 lbs rent of lands in Monkesey, Wartling and Catsfield, which John de Batelesford holds for life (CCR). The next year John was collector of 10th and 15th in Sussex (CFR). The year 1357 was important for John, because he was appointed bailiff of the king's son (in law) John, earl of Richmond, in the rape of Hastings, to hire artisans and workmen for the repair of the houses etc. of the earl's manor of Crowhurst, Sussex. 

A daughter of Sir John Batesford married John Covert of Chaldon, eldest son of Roger Covert of Chaldon, Surrey, and Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John de Braose of Wiston?(SSX Geneal.). They had the sons Roger, William of Sullington (d. 25 Sept. 1444), married to Grace, daughter of John Barentyne, and Joan, married to Walter Bolney and secondly to William Blast. 

Note: John de Braose of Wiston deid between 29 Nov.-3 Dec. 1426. He was twice married. Elizabeth could be daughter of his first wife, Margery, daughter of John Nereford, or of his second wife Margaret Poynings, but for Elizabeth's marriage no document is known. The family of Covert insists on a Covert-Braose marriage. Therefore, if anybody could come up with firm dates about that marriage, or of a daughter of John de Braose, that would be highly appreciated.)

From all those data compiled, it looks as if the Sir John de Batesford, was a son of John, son of William, son of Jacob or James.

Inquisition 'ad quod damnum': Hugh le Deye of Combes and Alice his wife to retain a messuage and land in Combes and Boyton, remainders to William son of John de Batisford and others (TNA C 143/281/19). - In 1345 the prior of Wilmington Priory recovered land and wood in Hellinglegh and received 100 lbs for damage done by William de Batelesford and others (SAC). 

Now we come to William de Batesford, Battesford, Batelesford, Bat(t)isford or Batsford, the judge. Arch. Cantiana has him as one of the sons of James Batesford of Kent, but that is the William above, whose son John held land which had been of Jacobo in 1296 in Sussex. As per those data he would be son of John, son of William, son of James, and therefore a brother or cousin of Sir John and Robert de Batesford above. John, son of William is last mentioned in 1357. He must have died soon afterwards.

William Batesford seems to have battled for land and other properties all his life. In 1364 Buckholt manor had been granted to William de Batisford (the elder) by John Ashley, which his daughter Joan later held in 1412 (SB) and maintained it until her death in 1453, after which her heirs disputed the manor. - In 1358 he sues John de Preston and Maud his wife for land and rent in Westfield, Guestling, Icklesham, Pette, Ore and Playden and succeeds for a payment of 100 marks (SSX FF). - In 1358 William Batlesford of Wynchelsea acknowledges that he owes to Peter de Falco, prior of Okeburn, 100 lbs which he pays (CCR).

In 1362 with William Halden against Ralph, son of Ralph de Restewolde and Elizabeth his wife, land and rent in Catsfield with homages and services. The plaintiffs won paying 100 marks .(SSX FF). - The manor of Buckholt in Bexhill, Rape of Hastings, had belonged to Ingelram de Northeye in the time of King Henry I. - John Assheby, cousin and heir of John Haket, granted the manor to William Batellisford. William, Thomas Pepelisham and others witness a charter by William, son of William de Septvanz, to Richard de Herst and Joan his wife of his manor of Morhalle in 1365. A quitclaim followed (CCR); but William Septvanz was a minor at that time so that this grant was revoked). The manor had been held by Edmund de Knelle before his death c. 1358. - 1366 William de Halden and William de Batelesford claim from Ralph de Restwold and Elizabeth his wife land, wood and rent in Catsfield, with homages and services of Alice atte Broke, Simon de Bromham, William de Panyngrigge, (a faulty transcription of Dallyyngrigge?) (SSX FF). 

In 1370 William wins against John Stoneacre and Agatha his wife, 5.668 acres of land in Wartling for a payment of 40 marks (SSX FF). - 1368, 21 Nov. - Grant of Peter de Dene of land in Friston, abutting land of William de Echingham, William Batelesford and others (SAS/65/34). - In 1372 William Halden and William Batelesford and Peter, rector of St. Thomas in Winchelsea, have to pay 100 marks for a messuage, land and rent in Sutton by Seaford. William (Batelesford the elder) gains more land in Wartling in 1385. In the same year he and others sue for 312 acres of land and rent in Sutton, Seaford, Blachington, (East)Burne and Bedingham (SSX FF). - Those are only the ones he won. - In 1385 he holds further land in Bexhill (ASH/4501/32).

1362 commission de 'walliis and fossatis' to William Batesford, Roger Ashburnham and others, and 1366 commission to William de Batisford to make inquisition in Suffolk (CPR). - In this year Robert de Ore, William Batesford, William Tauk, serjeant-at-law, and William Echingham quitclaimed to Robert Passele from his feoffees at the Moat at Leigh in Iden (Cal. of Deeds in PRO). - Further he is one of the commissioners appointed to overlook dykes in Kent and Sussex in 1370, 1379, 1383, 1384, 1394 and 1400 (History of Romney Marsh). - In the Calender Patent Rolls of 1370 exists a commission of “walliis et fossatis” to William Batesford, Robert Belknap, John Edward and others between the towns of Bourne and La Rye, county Sussex, all of them involved in the sale of Knelle manor. - In 1371 William, Roger Dalyngrugg, William Echingham and others are collectors of Subsidy in Sussex (CFR).

In 1373  William Batelesford witnessed a grant by Alexander Goldington, kt., to Robert Belknap and Juliane his wife (CFR). Further, John Oxenbrygge the younger, represented by John Brook, and others, claimed from William Batelesford around 500 acres of land, money, rent out of Playden, Beckley, where the Knelle family also held land, Westfield, Ore, Farleigh, Hollington, Ashburnham, Hastings and Guestling (FF). - Here we have again almost all the persons involved in the sale of Knelle manor. It gives the impression that those officials competed like hawks for their prey.

In 1374 William witnesses together with John de Lunsford and others a grant of Thomas Lewknor, whose seal shows 3 chevrons (ASH/4501/28). - The same year William sold lands to John Woodhull, clerk, once Richard Hervey's, from the manor of Sandore, in total 11 acres (SAS-M/1/331). - 1375 sees him in association with Hamo, abbot of Battle, in a commission of peace in Sussex. With this abbot and William Percehay, sheriff of Sussex, he has the mandate to look into the escape from arrest of John Wauter (CPR). William Betelesford, Robert Belknap, Roger Dalyngrugge and others were commissioners of peace in Sussex (CPR).

In 1376 William de Battesford paid to William de Bughbrugge, Prebendary of Crowshurst, rent for the farming of the Prebend (PRO U1384/E4). On 20th Oct. of that year William received a commission in the county of Sussex under Richard earl of Arundel with Robert Bealknap, Roger Dalyngrugg, and others, and on 20th Dec. William Batlesford was a member of a commission of oyer and terminer with Robert Belknap, William de Echyngham and Roger Ashburnham, because more than 10 persons had broken into the parson of Brede's house and threatened him and his servants.

William, Roger Ashburnham, Richard Halle and Edmund del Clay in 1377 were enfeoffed of the manor of Gacelyns by Sir Simon Lek (A Hist.of Hertford). On 16 April they quitclaim that manor, also called Gasselynpark and Holewelle, with lands, rents etc. in Hertfordshire to certain persons (CCR). - William de Batelesford and William atte More sue William Guildford and Johanna his wife for a moiety of the manor of Brokecote with appurtenances and for 14 messuages, 2 tofts, land and wood with appurtenances in Rolvenden, Benynden, Tenderden, Ubbeneye and Appledore, Kent. William Guildford and his wife quitclaim to the plaintiffs for 100 silver marks (Kent FF). - In 1378 William Batelesford, Robert Tauk and others act as mainpernors for brother Philip Ranulph, proctor of England for the abbey of Fécamp, that he may stay quietly in England (CRF).

In the year 1380 William is mentioned in the Hospital of Playden, when a commission of inquiry was issued to him and to William de Horne, as the administration of that hospital had turned out not to be satisfactory (Brit. Hist.Online). on 22 Jan. 1380 the Jury in Sussex found out that  Robert Burton, master of the Hospital of Plaiden, had occasioned damage in their waste land. He had felled 75 oaks worth 20 lbs, and the hospital is in the King's hand. He had robbed practically anything valuuable there he could get hold of (Inq. Misc. V. 4 p.67).

In this same year he was appointed Constable of Pevensey Castle with powers pertaining to this office by Letters Patent of Duke John of Gaunt (John of Gaunt's Reg.). He is envolved in another commission of peace in Sussex (CPR). -  The Abbot of Battle, Edward Dallingridge and William de Batesford had order in 1380 to survey Winchelsea and to enquire how the town could be secured against the imminent attack of the French (Modern Winchelsea). - On 24 Oct. 1381 Edward Dallingrugge and William Batesford were mainpernors for Richard earl of Arundel of his keeping all the lands and possessions of the abbot of Fécamp in England (CFR). - 1382 William is again ordered to collect the 10th and 15th in Sussex (CFR). - 1385 sees him committed to array men in Sussex with Edward Dallingridge and others (CPR).

1383 - Roger Ashburnham and others claim against William Coumbe and Joan his wife a moiety of the manor of Ewherst excepting 13s  4d rent for the same moiety which William de Batelesford the elder holds for life, and which should remain on his death to Joan (his daughter), late the wife of John de Codyng for life. Reversion after the death of John and Joan to Roger and his heirs. - William Batesford the elder v. Adam Dyne and Agnes his wife for land in Wartling, which he gets adjudged (SSX FF).

Circa 1384 John, chaplain of the free chapel of St. Leonard by Hastings, petitiones the King for the tithes of the manor of Wildmarsch, because William Batesford, the holder of the manor, has detained payment for five years and has helped the parson of Pevensey to take them for his church (TNA SC 8/183/9129). In 1383-4 William appears in a series of commissions with John Lynot, Robert Bealknap, Edward Dalyngregg and others, all of them involved in the sale of Knelle manor 1384-5. - William Batesford the elder sues Adam Dyne and Agnes his wife for a moiety of 30 a of land, 2 a of meadow, 5 a of wood in Wartlinge which was adjudged to him (SSX FF).

1384 - Robert Belknap and Julia his wife and John Preston of Warehorn v. William Batelesford and Richard Cristelton, clerk - manor of Knelle, land and rent in Beckley, Sussex - To John for life of William de Welles of Canterbury etc. (John Preston seems to have been John de Welles, probably a cousin of William, son or grandson of Walter de Welles, see Welles genealogy). - In that year William Batisford, William Guildford, Thomas Hope, William atte Hale and Roger Mue sued Thomas Mayhewe of Romney and his wife Agnes for 4acres in Appeldore. They won the case paying 10 marks to Thomas and Agnes (Kent FF) - In 1385 Robert Belknap had enfeoffed various other properties in.Kent to William Batelsford, John de Preston and others, for examñle the manor of Lydd, a moiety of the manor of Kingsnote, the manor of Piroe (lnq. Misc.  V. 5 pp. 29, 33, 37).  (see Belknap)

William also seems to have held land in Beckley according to a grant by Richard de Herst and Alice his wife in 1385 ”between land of William de Batesford” (PRO ASH/4501/32). This is exactly the year when Knelle manor was sold. Furtherlled Battesford, are mentioned in diverse documents in Pevensey, Hamsey and a Batsford farm in Dallington and Warbleton. A grant of 1420 refers to land and tenements in Catsfield abutting a wood of William Batisford. Land in his possession in the parish of St. Thomas in Winchelsea is mentioned under AMS 2286. - In this year William Batesford the elder sues Adam Dyne and Agnes his wife for a moiety of 30 a of land , 2 a of Meadow, 5 a of wood in Wartling, which went to William (SSX FF).

William, William Echingham, Sir William de Fiennes (Batesford's son in law) and others occur in a deed dated 1388 (PRO DDFJ/1/64/106). In that year he had a commission of array with Walter Dalyngrugge, John Falvesle and others to set up beacons to warn people of the dreaded invasion of the French. - Grant by John de Barley, clerk, to Sir William Fienles, William Echingham, William de Batelesford a.o. in Derbyshire (DD/FJ/1/64/106). On 17 May 1389 the sheriffs of London and Middlesex were ordered to set free Agnes Stanley, a nun of St. Bartholomew Bristol, and to deliver her to William Batesforde, warden of that house (CCR). -

According to the East Sussex Record Office - The manor of Ewhurst - William Batesford and Roger Ashburnham each held a moiety of the manor from the 1380ies, and his daughter, Joan de Brenchesly, lady of Buckholt manor in Sussex, William's main seat, received a rent of annually 9 lbs out of the moiety of Ewhurst manor still in 1444-5 (NOR/17/3 & 4 & 6).

The same year 1389 William Batelesforde makes an indenture with Roger Ashburnham for a lease during William's life of land in Ewhurst and two acres of land in Iden. Obviously, Roger held other land in Ewhurst, Northiam, Beckley, Iden and Peasmarsh, where he was to be destrained in case of non-payment. Witnesses are William Brenchesle (his son in law), Robert and Thomas Oxenbregge, Vincent Fynch and others. - William's daughter Joan, late the wife of John Codyng, on 22 Oct. 1389 makes another indenture with Roger Ashburnham confirming him to hold during her life an estate in Ewhurst made over by William Batelesforde, her father, late tenant for life of the manor of Ewhurst in Sussex. Same witnesses (CCR).

On 3 November 1390 Thomas Wysebech, chaplain, and Richard Ley were committet of the keeping of the manor of Brede in Sussex, then parcel of the alien priory of Fécamp, from the time of the death of William Battisford, the last farmer thereof. But in 1403 Sir Cornwayle and Elizabeth, his wife, daughter of King Henry IV, received it. Later Robert Oxenbridge leased it from them (VCH). - 1391 William de Batesford and others have given to the Priory and Convent of Michelham lands in Seaford, Sutton by Seaford, Harlesham, Hellingley, Erlington and Brighthelmston, Westham and Jervington in Sussex (CIPM).

1430 - AMS2286:  Land in Winchelsea abutting on the plot of the lands of William Batelesford. This land was inherited by his heirs. William's daughter Joan was still living at that date, while her sisters had died, so that their descendants would be the coheirs.

The following data seem to concern William Batesford the younger whose parentage is dubious:

In 1383 Roger Ashburnham had claimed a moiety of Ewhurst except some rent which William Batesford the elder holds for life.

The year 1390 sees William Batesford the younger appointed by the chief butler, John Slegh, as one of his deputies in Winchelsea and Rye, and on Feb. 3 William Pettesworth, clerk, William Batesford and John Broke were committed to the guardianship of the temporalities of the Bishop of Chichester (CFR V. 10). 

In 1391 William was named deputy for John Devereux, constable of Dover castle and warden of the Cinque Ports, along with William Fienles, kt., William Brenchesley, John Brook and others (CPR).

In 1392 he is one of the grantors to the priory and convent of Michelham. They had licence to alienate land etc. in mortmain (TNA C 143/415/2 and CPR). - Richard, bishop of Chichester, going to Ireland in the king's company, nominates William Batesford as one of his attorneys for one year. - William also witnesseses a release by William de Middelton of his right in lands etc, in the parish of Chesterhunte, Hertfordshire (PRO D 326/886 n.d.).

Thomas Hoo, kt., son of William Hoo, charter with warranty to William Batelesford and William Brenchesle, to whom and to the heirs of William Batelesford, William Brenchesle, a third part of the manor of Ockley, Surrey, of which part John Bouett is tenant for life, witnesses Thomas Oxenbrigge and others. - 22 May John Bouett to William Batelesford and William Brenchesle to whom and to the heirs of William Batelesford, Thomas Hoo, kt., son of William de Hoo, kt., gave one third of the manor of Ockley in Surrey (CCR)

1395 John Seyton, kt., acknowledges to William Batesford, clerk, and others, citizen of London, that he owes them 200 marks (CCR). - In 1398 William de Batesforde and others are mainpernors in the chancery to certain chaplains of Norfolk (CCR). - 1397 seal of William Battesford, rector of the church of St. Mary Maidwell, Northampton: A chevron engrailed between 3 mullets (Birch V. 2).   

1412 Gerard Fynes has manors, lands etc. worth 100 lbs, the manor of Oldcourt, 500 a of land in Herstmonceaux Marsh, 100 a of land in Horsey and 80 a of land in Wildmersh, and the manor of Herstmonceaux, which was of William Batesford SB). - 1418, Jan. 27 William Batisford', clerk, and others v. William Butiller of Jatton and Margaret his wife - 5 messuages, 126 a of land in Querton and Ashford Boudlers. William and Margaret quitclaim to the plaintiffs for 40 marks silver (Kent FF). 

William the elder (d. shortly before 22 Oct. 1389) and his wife Margaret Peplesham, widow of Robert Cralle, and daughter of Simon Peplesham, died on 21 Jan. 1406/7, holding land in Wartling, Allington, Herstmonceaux, a water mill in Warblington, Buckstepe manor, land in Hailsham, held of the manor of Rokland, further land in Pevensey, Horseye and Munchensey (CIPM), widow of William Bateford, Sussex (CFR). - On 1 October 1406 the writ was sent out and the inquisition took place at East Grinstead on 23 November. She held in dower for life the manors of Wartling, Dallington, Warbleton, Bucksteep and Herstmonceaux in Sussex, with remainder to Elizabeth, her daughter, widow of William de Fiennes, kt., and her heirs. Her heir was her grandson Roger, aged 21, son of William and Elizabeth as Elizabeth had died between 1399 and 1406 (CIPM V- 19).  William had died on 19 Jan. 1402. There had been an inquisition in Oxford, Berkshire, Hampshire and Sussex stating that his son Roger w'as his heir, then aged 16. Roger's proof of age took place at Grinstead on 4 Oct. 1406. He had been bapttized on 14 Sept. 1384 (CIPM V. 19).

1405-6 Robert Oxenbregge and Ann his wife had petitioned for land in Beckley, Guestling and Westfield including the homage of Margery Battesford (William's widow), Henry Gotele and others (SSX FF).

The Visitation of Sussex shows a Margaret, daughter and heir of Simon Peplesham, who held land in Ore in 1296, 1227 and 1332 (SB). - Ralph de Peplesham had been porter of Robertsbridge abbey in 1180 and had given them Peplesham manor, of which the abbot in 1247 used to receive still rent for land worth 62s 4d of John Peplesham, which he had obtained since the time of Alice countess of EU (CCR). - Hugo de Peplesham in 1211-12. held Crockham by finding a ship for the count of Eu and his countess in the case of a sea voyage (SAC V. 17). Peter Peplesham acted as pledge in the King's court in 1207. John has a law suit with the abbot of Robertsbridge in 1258 (SSX FF), another John Peplesham had paid taxes in Bexhill in 1296 and 1327. - In 1310 Robert de Peplesham is witness to a covenant by John, bert anfson and heir of Hugh Codyng to Battle abbey to drain land. 1321 Robert and Joan his wife and John their son sue Robert de Crogham for land, wood and rent in Bexhill, which they obtain (SSX FF). - 1325 Robert and Joan his wife (by Bertram de Sutwerk) sue John rector of the church of Watlington and Thomas Thomas vicar of the church of Bexley for the manor of Peplesham, for the manor of Peplesham, 34 a of land and 4lbs 8s rent in Beckley, Ninfield, Bexley, Bulwartithe, Hoo and Battle. John and Thomas grant to Robert and Joan and the heirs of Robert the manor and land as well as 44s rent held for life by Thomas de Wardieu and Petronilla his wife, and 44s of rent held for life by Katherine, widow of Walter Wulsy. - On 12 Nov. 1336 Simon and Richard Peplesham, who was living 1347, witnessed a grant by Alice de Penherst to Henry de Penherst, her son and his wife Katherine, a moiety of the manor of Penherst etc. PRO (ASH/4501/9).

In the Robertsbrige Charters 1258 William, abbot of Tréport, and John Peplesham agree to a final concord in the King's court before the justices Robert de Brywes and Nicholas Haudlo, whereby the abbot recognizes a of land,and 4 lbs 8s rent in Beckley, Ninfeld, Bexley, Bulwartithe, Hoo and Battle. John John's rights in a carucate of land in Bene and Burgersh to hold of the abbot of Robertsbridge (nº 210). - Battle Abbey cartulary p. 20: Robert Peplesham, ca. 1240; John c. 1250, p. 33; Reynold c. 1250; John p. 49 in 1277 and p. 56 John in 1304. - In 1296 John Peplesham pays 14 s tax in 1296 in Bexhill and William 2s in 1332 (SB). - In 1378 Thomas Peplesham witnesses the proof of age of William, brother and heir of John, deceased. Thomas says that the birth of William on 1 Aug. 1357 is written in the book of the church and  the property of the Peplesham came to the Fiennes by marriage (SAC V. 12, p. 38).

Margaret brought William de Batesford the reversion of the manor of Bucksteep, a water mill in Warbleton parish and large estates in Dallington, Wartling and other adjoining parishes (SAC V. IV and IPM Margaret). - They had four daughters:

John Codyng was son of John Codyng and grandson of Thomas de Codyng, who in 1339 held one moiety of the manor of Ewhurst, which after his grandson's death was conveyed to William de Batesford (VCH). John de Coudinge and Robert de Pablesham witnessed a grant of land in Bexley (Bexhill (PRO ASH/4501/5). In 1370 Henry Godyngs is witness to another deed (PRO ASH/4501/27). 

The manor of Coding.

The first we hear of William de Cudenne or Codyng is in 1202, he being juror with William de Bodiham and others in an assize of 'mort d'ancestor'. In an assise dated 1206 Thomas de Godinges, Johannes de Godin', Richard de Coding', Nicholas de Godding' and Ingeram de Coding' are mentioned. In 1207. Peter Peplesham and William were summoned as jurors in a court case between Simon de Etchingham and Manasser de Hastings to determine whose right it was to be seneschall of the Honour of EU (CCR). The Curia Regis Roll of 1208 shows William de Codinges, who had again been nominated juror in a law suit between Simon de Etchingham and Robert de Hastings in the same matter.

Between 1220 and 1230 John de Codinge witnesses a charter of William, son and heir of William Echingham, kt, to the Abbey of Battle, and a charter of John Picard of Bexle (Bexhill). Hugh de Codyng does the same for Simon de Echingham. William de Codyng at the same time agreed with Samfrid de Somery on some lands lying in the Lordship of Codyng, and confirmed to him the lands in Bernhorne, which formerly were held of Warner de Sumeri. Further he released to Battle Abbey the rent out of this land in Bernhorn. Lord William de Coding was witness to a deed of M. Thomas de Torpel to the monks concerning a tenement in Newenham (Battle Abbey CH). In 1242 William de Goding (see Godyngeshaven) held one quarter fee of the Counts of Eu. He also held land in the Lordship of Codyng and in Barnhorn.

John de Codinge and Lord William de Coding are testators to Battle Abbey charters in the middle of the13th century, and John son of John in 1304 (Cartulary pp. 20, 45 and 56). Roger Goding in the late 13th C. witnesses a charter of Robert, son of Roger Sampson of Maidstone, to the Prior and Convent of Canterbury Cathedral Priory (CCA).  

Hugh de Coding, Simon de Lunsford, Lord William de Northey, Lord Matthew de Hastings are witnesss to a charter of Robertsbridge Abbey (nº 228). Quitclaim by Adam Nithin to Alan Lambyn of land, witness Hugh Goding (dto. c. 1260).- In 1265 an inquisition was held in the Hundred of Ninfield by Hugh Coding, Simon de Catsfield (Somery=, William de Broc and others, who swore that the earl of Gloucester had taken seisin of the manor of Hoo (Dawson V. 2 Hastings). The manor of Hoo was situated between Batesford and Ashbournham). - Hugh de Coding, son of William, died before 1275. He had Hugh de Coding who witnessed a grant by John Andrews of Winchelsea to the abbey of Robertsbridge about 1250 (CHnº220). Hugh was living in 1264 when he held 7 messuages in the Lowy of Battle (VCH) and lands called Codingdune, as well as a quarter knight's fee in Bexhill. Before that date he witnessed a grant by Roger, abbot of Robertsbridge, to Alan Lamkin (c. 1260). Other witnesses are William de Echingham, Matthew de Hastings (d. 1277), Simon de Lunsford and others (Robertsbridge CH). He also is witness to a deed, release and quitclaim by Ralph Fisher, son of Angerus de Bello or Battle, of a messuage in Battle, to the Abbot and Convent of Battle (Battle Abbey CH), and a grant by Daniel de Kichenham (Cal. of Deeds in PRO). - Hugh died 1275.

At Hugh's death his son John was a minor, who must have been of age in 1296, as he held Codyng manor at that date, wherefore he paid 14s subsidies. In 1304 he witnesses a Battle Abbey charter. In 1305 he sued Richard de Codynge and Matilda his wife for half the manor of Ewhurst. He recovered that moiety paying 100 marks (SSX FF). John, son of Hugh de Codynges, in 1310 granted permission to the abbot of Battle to drain the lands of their manor of Barnhorn through his foss called Meneflete. On July 18 of that year he witnesses a confirmation charter by king Edw. II regarding a former deed of John of Brittany, earl of Richmond (SAC). William and John de Echingham are further witnesses. He also is witness to a donation of land called Forland by William de Hastings to Battle Abbey (Battle Abbey CH), ca. 1310 - .John is witness to a grant and quitclaim by Thomas of land called Stumplehurst in Bexhill, which he had by feoffment of John de Pablesham (Peplesham), and to a deed by Robert de Pablesham in 1311 (PRO ASH/44501/5). 1312 John Codynge witnesses a feoffment by Clement Sericlege to his daughter Alicia de Somery, land in the Marshes of Codinge.

Richard Coding in 1305 was married to Maud, daughter of John de Wacelyn widow of John de Parrok.'  In 1302. John Wacelyn an idiot had died holding one and a half fees in Ewhurst and leaving his sisters Nicolaa, widow of Henry Sharden, and Maud, widow of John Parrock. - Richard held land in Ewhurst in 1320, 1327 and 1332 (SB), Thomas in 1339. - In 1303 and 1306 Richard Coding held one knight's fee in Ewhurst and Northiam and half a fee in Oxenbridge fam of Beckley (Davson V. 2). -  Robert and Richard Etchingham in 1315 sue Henry de Sharden and Nichola his wife  and Richard Codyng and Maud his wife for a messuage and 70 a of land in Beckley, which went to the Etchinghams for 100 marks SSX FF). - In 1317 John de Coudenne and Joan his wife sue Stephen Coudenne for a messuage, a mill and land in Wartling, which go to John and Joan, and successively to their sons Simon and William (SSX FF). - But there must be two different John's, because in 1317 John Codyng and Cecily his wife sued Robert Pechard of Wartling for the manor of Coding, which they receive (SSX FF). - In 1334 William Coding is juror at the IPM of John of Brittany, count of EU (Hist. of Hast. V.1, Dawson). - In 1346 John, son of Richard Codyng and Sarra his wife, petition Hugh atte Chaumbre and Stephen Pechard for the manor of Codyng (SSX FF). The manor goes again to Richard and Sarra for life with remainder to their son John, contingent remainders to his brothers Robert, Richard and Walter (SSX FF).

Their eldest son John was assessed in 1339. According to the Sussex muster roll of 1339-40 he had to procure one bowman for his lands worth 40s. - His brother Thomas had a son and a grandson named John, who is the one who married Joan Batelesford (VCH). - John's brothers are named Robert, Richard and Walter! - John  eldest son of John and Sarah  died 1379, married to Joan Batelesford. Therefore Joan was free to marry again.

There seems, however, to be an error in VCH: Sussex Subsidies - In 1296  Ricardo de Codyng held land in Codyng for 9s 31/2d., Elizabeth de Codyyng for 1s 2d, Isabel de Codyng for 5s. Johanne de Codyng held land in Catsfield and Codyng for 14s. This Johanne de Kuden paid subsidy tax in Wertlyng in 1296. - In 1327 Richard held land in Codyng for 9s 3 1/2d and Johne de Codyng for 15s 1 1/2d. Richard  Coudenne also held land in Ewhurst for  18s and  pays 1s 1/4d in Erlington. This Richard was married to Matilde (see Maud above). John, son of Richard, was married to Sarra which is correct. - In 1332 Ricardo held land in Ewhurst for 18s. - Stephen de Couden pays 2s 71/4d in Isenhurst in 1327, and 9s 3 1/2 d  tax for Codyng in 1332., Elizabeth and Isabel each 1s 2d, whereas John de Coudenne pays 6s 91/4d in Worthing. - The main lines according to this are the ones of Codyng and the ones of Ewhurst.

Hugh de Goding witnesses a grant of land by Daniel de Kechenham to John son of William de Smalefeld of land in 1329 (Cal. of Deeds in PRO). - 29 Jan. 1370 Henry Coding witnesses a grant by John atte Havene nad Petronilla his wife, daughter of Thomas Hoomes to John de Hoomes of a tenement called Sedde (ASH/4501/27).

In 1393 Philip Goddyng of Pekham grants to John Drinkwater a messuage and garden. In 1428 the heirs of John Goding and his tenants hold one and a half fees in Ewhurst. The heirs of John Godyng and of Joan Brenchesle (Batelesford) have between them a quarter fee in Codyng (Feudal Aids). A John Godyng was feoffee to uses for life in land in Brenchley, Kent, in the second half of the 15th century (Cal. of Deeds in PRO). - 1492 Thomas May and others v. Richard Goding and Margaret his wife regarding a toft, land and wood in Wadherst which went to Thomas May (SSX FF p. 290).

Joan married secondly William Brenchesle. - In 1397 Release by John Coumbe, clerk, kinsman and heir of John de Codyngge, to William Brenchesle, of all his right in the manor of Codyngge (Cat. of Deeds in PRO).

Brenchesle - Arms: Time K. Edw. III Arms of John de Brenchley of Brenchley, Kent, GU a cross engrailed ermine. - The General Armory by Bernard Burke: William Brenchley, Justice of the Common Pleas, second son, AZ a cross patence OR; crest: Within an annulet OR an escutcheon AZ charged with a cross patence of the first (The British Herald). - John Brenchley, GU a cross bottonée OR - He was lord of the manor of Benenden time H. VI (1422-61). - Brenchley of Maidstone AZ a cross patence engrailed OR.

1184 Daniel de Brencheslegh appears in the pipe rolls of Kent. - 1205 Norman de Clipsale and William de Brinchesle have one acre of land in Cnolle (Cambridge FF). - Elicia, daughter of Godard de Brenchesle, grants land in Brenchley, Kent, to Robert de la Londe in 1210 (Bodleian and other CH). - John Brenchesle was chaplain in Kent 1263 (CKB173/70d). - In the fine rolls of King Henry III was found a Henry de Brynchesle in the year 1273. - A Robert de Brenchesle and Felicia de Crevequer petitioned the King in 1297 to restore their lands in Brenchesle to them  (CCR). - 1300-1 Thomas Box in his will laid down at the Court of Husting, bequeathes to Thomas Brencheslegh, his nephew, his house with appurtenances in Yarmouth and the reversion of a house near Dowgate in London - 1307 Order to Roger de Brabanzon to deliver William de Brenchesle from the prison of Canterbury wherein he has stayed for 2 years. - 1311 John de Brynkele, corn merchant, leaves properties to his wife, his sons Stephen, William, John and Henry and to his daughters Johanna, a nun in Barking, Idonea, Margaret, Margery and Beatrice (Wills in the Court of Husting). - On 24 Feb. 1337-8 William, son of this John, left a messuage with shops to Alice his wive (Husting). 

Ricardus, Magister Brenchesle, is listed in the Register of Robert Winchelsey, archbishop of Canterbury (1294-1313), who in 1306 was procurer of the countess of Cornouailles; 1316 proctor and attorney for the executors of Margaret de Clare, countess of Cornwall, for her possessions in France; 1317 parson of the church of East Peckham, going beyond seas in that year to study. In 1321 we find him as administrator of the Archbishop of Canterbury. On 10 Jan. 1324 Richard de Brenchesle, rector of Pekham in the diocese of Rochester, was witness to the testament of John Triple being opened (Wills of the Court of Husting, London). In 1324-5 Richard de Brenchesle was presented as rector of East Horsley (Hist. of Surrey V. II). In 1327 he was archdeacon of Huntingdon, Prebendary of Carlton Paynell and chancellor of St. Barth's Priory in West Smithfield, were he became the Prior later on. - 1312-13 William de Pakelsham sues John Burre and Alice his wife for a messuage, land and rent in Wykford, which go to John and Alice, with remainder to Richard Brenchesle and his heirs (ESSX FF). 1320 Richard Brenchesle has a plea against Thomas Bernard of Croydon regarding a messuage in Southwark, Surrey (CPR). 1325 John atte Welde of Hadlo owes to Master Richard de Brenchesle, parson of the church of East Pekham (Kent), 60 lbs (CCR). - 1334 Master Richard de Brenchesle was canon of St. Paul's, London, when he sued John Baufou and his wife Alice for rent in Brenchesle and Jaldry with the homage of the tenants. Richard won and gave the deforciants 20 marks (Kent FF). - In 1336 Richard is still claiming that money (CCR). - In 1333 M. Richard de Brenchesle was still canon of St. Paul's in London (Duncan Harrington, KAS). - In 1324-5 mainpernors of Adam de Brunchesleye are several persons of Croydon.

In the same period of time we find a Thomas Brenchesle, who was ordinated and received his tonsur at Rochester (Reg. of Hamon Hette). Shortly afterwards he was in the service of the bishop of Lincoln, the chancellor, as purveyor, whom he accompanied in 1337 overseas. - 1342 Thomas Brenchesle was a merchant of London. 14 Sept. 1344 Gyleminus Pouche was arrested for debt to Thomas Brenchesle and put into the Tower (CCR). A year later John Weyle was detained in Flete prison due to a suit of Thomas de Brenchesle. - Bryncheslegh is mentioned with his wife Johanna in the will of Reginald le Clerk, her father, who had also a son John (Husting wills, 1332).

In 1327 Walter de Woknolle and Joan his wife sued John de Cressingham for a messuage, a mill, land and rent in Burgersh, Sussex. It went to Walter and Joan with remainder to William de Lunsford and Joan his wife, contingent remainders successivly to William de Brenchesle and Nicholaa his wife and John atte Halle and Isabel his wife (SSX FF). - 1346, 20 years later, Walter de Woknolle and Joan his wife sue John de Cressyngham, vicar of the church of Burgersh, for a messuage, a mill, land, wood and rent in Burgersh, which was adjudged to the petitioners, with successive contingent remainders to William de Lunsford and Joan his wife and William de Brenchesle and Nicholaa his wife, John atte Halle and Isabel his wife (SSX FF).  Thus those families were related to each other. They might also be related to William Brenchele, kt. - Note: The manor of Woodknolle was held of Burwash manor by knight's service.

1338 William Brenchesle, son of William de Brenchesle of Kent, owes money to William Martyn of East Peckham and Nicholas son of Gilbert the clerk (C 241/117/380). This William Brenchesle of Kent had assisted the king with men at arms at his expensen at the capture of Leeds castle in 1220, but later had helped Sir Bartholomew de Badlesmere, who was attainted, and thus William was in trouble (Scottish Letters). - In the Lay Subsidy Rolls of Kent 1334-5 appear Walter, Richard, John and Stephen Brenchesle. - In 1348 Walter de Brenchesle holds a moiety of a knight's fee in Brencheslee, Kent (CIPM V. 9).

A Daniel Brenchesle was in the king's suit in 1357. - John Brenchesle, esq., on 12 Feb. 1377 witnesses a charter of William Brampton, stockfishmonger and citizen of London (CCR). - In 1388 he had Simon Stacy detained in the sheriff's prison of the Compter in London, from where he escaped (CPR). - John Brencheslegh of Southwark serves several times as mainpernor (CCR). - 1387 John Brencheslee of Southwark (Surrey FF). Thomas, who in 1390 was elected 12th Prior of the Augustinian canons in Canterbury (CPR), and between 1398-1411 prior of Bilsington, Bilsington manor being then held by Joan Brenchesle (Arch. Cantiana). 

Nicholas Brenchesle and Isabella his wife sue Henry Latimer and Agnes his wife for land in Edelmeton, Middlesex (Ldn & Mddx FF).

William Brenchesle, kt, second husband of Joan Batesford - Sir William made his will on 19 June 1406 and named Joan as his heiress and one of his executors (Lambert Wills), but seems to have been still alive in 1408 (See the last statements dated 1408 below, apparently before 29 May, probably on the 19th, as his anniversary had to be celebrated at that day).

Arms: A cross patence OR engrailed, carved on the roof of the cloisters of Canterbury Cathedral. - Crest: within an annulet OR, an escutcheon AZ, charged with a cross patonce of the first (The British Herald).

William was Lord of the manor of Benenden in Kent near Dartford. It is assumed that he rebuilt this manor, which is recorded in Domesday Book. Joan Batelesford, his wife, held the manor in 1453 as well as Bexhill. After her death it went to Margaret, daughter and coheir of John Brenchley, esq. and his wife Margaret, daughter and heir of Richard Golding. Their daughter Margaret in 1443 married William Moore, esq., of Ivychurch. They had a son Walter and the grand children Thomas of Benenden and William of Bettenham. As per Sussex Fines William was also lord of Hever Cobham and Hever Brokays manors. - In 1391 the manor of Frant had been demised for life to William Brenchesle and his wife Joan (PRO DYK/4). William Brenchesle held a messuage called 'Le Moat' in Brenchley with Joan his wife, which he held it still at his death in 1406 (Hasted, Kent V. 5 p. 288).

Did William Brenchesle have a son of a former marriage? - Hasted says that he married early Joan de Benenden. Accordingly, there is a pedigree in Rootsweb by Bruce Cooley Pusch, which states that William (1350-1406) married firstly Joan de Benenden b. 1345. Son John Brenchley, b.1367. The first statement needs confirmation, but the More pedigree states the same according to The Peerage. - Tllhe Subsidy Roll of Kent (1399-1413) states that John Brenchesle owed the manors of Buckholt and Bexhill. - At some time after William's death, Joan held Buckholt manor together with Joan Brenchesle. Why?

16 Oct.1416 William son of William Brynkele received a commitment of the keeping of a brewhouse and shops in London. - In 1426-32 Reginald Lucy, kt., and Agnes his wife had a law suit against John de Brynchesle concerning messuages and land in Benenden, Rolvenden, Newenden, Staplehurst and Sandhurst in Kent, inheritance of Agnes (TNA C1/7/188).

John Brenchesle paid 37 lbs in Goding, Buckholt, Bexhill, Frant, Ewhurst and Lamberhurst for his land in 1412 (Feudal Aids). Note: those manors were of Joan de Batelesford's inheritance: - 1413 Stephen Walter and Henry Cook of Benynden against John Brenchesle of Benynden and Margery his wife for land in Wartlyng (SSX FF). - 1413 John Brynchesle of Beninden v. Reginald Lucy and Agnes his wife - 4 messuages, 14 tofts, land, wood, rent etc. in Benenden, Rolvenden, Newenden, Staplehurst and Sandhurst, Kent. Those premises went to John and his heirs for ever against a payment of 500 marks to the deforciants and 40 marks for life of Agnes (Kent FF). - In 1418 Reginald de Lucy and Agnes quitclaimed to John Brenchesle for 100 marks in another law suit (Kent FF).   

John Brynkele received a house in Caen from the King, which had been of Robert de la Fosse in 1420 (Les Mémoires de la Soc. des Ant. de Normandy). - John Brenchesle of Benenden in 1427 conveys land called Couperes in Wartling to Robert Oxebregge, Vincent and William Fynch, Richard Wakehurst and William Cheyney the justice, and William Cheyney of Sheppey (PRO U1384/T12/3). - Roger Fenys had purchased lands, rents and services from John Brenchesle and others in the parishes of Wartling and Herstmonceaux in 1430. Those lands had been held by William de Batesford. John  Brenchesle of Benynden, the elder, was nominated tax collector on 3 Jan. 1436 (CFR V. 16). He had a 'coram rege' suit for debts incurred, which on 30 Jan 1443 was resolved. Johannis Brenchesle sen. and jun. are mentioned in the 'Worthies of England' in 1443. John the father in 1391 had been summoned to appear before the King and Council.

In 1436 John Brenchesle of Benenden the elder took part in the Paliament of that year for the county of Kent (CFR p. 285). - 1437 Thomas Petylesden, son of John Petylesden of Tenterden, Kent, to John Brenchisle the younger, his heirs and assigns. Gift of a yearly rent of 10 marks out of his whole manor of Benynden and all the lands in the parishes of Benynden and Rovelnden, sometime of James Benynden, Lord of Benynden (CCR). - 1438 John atte Borowe, late of Northcharteford, Hampshire, was fined 9 lbs for not appearing to answer Alice, widow of John Brynkeley, esq., executrix of his will. - In 1449 Margery Brenchesley, widow, John, Walter and Robert Brenchesle, gents of Benynden Kent, sons of John Brenchesle the elder, had a bond of 300 lbs (CCR). In 1450 the inheritance was divided when Margery is named widow of John Brenchesley the elder. His will names Walter, John and Robert his sons. - 1454-5 Walter, John and Robert Brencheley of Brencheslee v. John Somersey concerning lands in Benenden, Rovelnden, Newenden and Brenchesle according to the will of John Brenchesle (TNA C 1/24/1). - 20 October 1460 Fulfilment of the will of Walter Brenchesle of Kent by his executors, regarding the manor of Forsham and land in Rolvenden with rent there. Charter of demise to William Sondysand and John Pennybrigge and others to enter the manor of Forsham, which had been enfeoffed to his executors and assigns. Witness William Kassingham and others (CRR p. 478).

1376-7 Between William Brenchesle and Henry Burgeys and Agnes his wife for a messuage, land and rent with appurtenances in Horsmonden. Henry and Agnes quitclaim to William, who gives them 100 silver marks (Kent FF). - 1377 William Brenchesle and Stephen Bettenham v. John Fynchingfeld and Matilde his wife regarding 2 messuages, land and rent and appurtenances. Wiliam and Stephen concede the properties to John and his heirs to hold of the chief lords (Kent FF). - 1382 William Brenchesle, William Rikhill and William Emery sue Robert Russe and Katherine his wife for 20s rent in Preston near Faversham and Selling near Chilham. The three Williams obtained it and the heirs of William Brenchesley, paying 20 marks (Kent FF). - William Brenchesle, William Dangiens, William Falconer and Nicholas DRu against Lawrence DRU regarding 20 marks rent from the manor of Segie and 12 messuages with appurtenances in Great Someerfield Maltravers (Wilts. FF). -.1385 William Brenchesle, John Finchingfield, John Shapstead and Thomas Kenefield v. William Piksel and his wife Joan regarding 60 a of land, who quitclaimed receiving 20 lbs from the petitioners (Kent FF). -

1387 William Brenchesle and others sue Nicholas Lange and Alice his wife and John Stanmowe and Joan his wife for a toft, land and rent with appurtenances in Parva Hugham. The deforciants render the property to the plaintiffs and heir of William Arderne for a payment of 100 silver marks (Kent FF). - 1387 Thomas Wallere of Rotherfield and Katherine his wife grant to Thomas Wallere of Lamberhurst, William Brenchesle and John Brook all their lands etc. in Rotherfield, Withyngham and elsewhere (CCR). - 1389 William Brenchesle sues John Holden and Alice his wife for land and rent with appurtenances in Hadlo. John and Alice quitclaim to William for 10 silver marks (Kent FF). The same happens with Gilbert Theringbury of Hadlo, who quitclaims also for 100 marks (Kent FF). - The year 1389 sees William and others claim from William Payn of Dorset and Margaret his wife and John Barre of Somerset and Avice his wife the manor of Burgersh, land and rent in money and kind in Westham, and Peasmarsh, Sussex, which are held by William de Burcestre, kt. and Margaret his wife for the life of Margaret.

1391 Rodolf Clifford, kt., Henry Grene, kt, William Brenchesle and others go against Thomas Wybourn, kt. and Elizabeth his wife for the manors of Bocton Aluph, Storting, Ditton Sifleton and Brampton with appurtenances. Thomas and Elizabeth remise and quitclaim the manors to the demandants for ever and receive 500 lbs sterling in compensation (Kent FF). - Jan. 1392 Inquisition by Willima Brenchesle and his fellow justices, whether Juliane de Leybournne, once countess of Huntingdon was seised in her demesne as of fee of 100 acres of land in Essetsford Ashford), held of the Prior and Convent of Christ Church in Canterbury.. The jurors believe that Juliane enfeoffed in January 1367 the manor of Essentsford and all her other lands, which is the reason that the prior does not receive the rents any more (nq. Misc. V. 5). - In 1393 William Brenchesle, John Brook and others received pardon for a payment of 25 marks for acquiring from John Stablegate the manor of Bilsington held in chief. - 1395 William Brenchesle, John Brook and others sue John Stablegate for the manor of Elsington and land with appurtenances in Bilsington. John Stablegate recognizes the manor to be the lawful right of William Brenchesle and William's heirs, having rendered two parts of the manor to the other demandants (Kent FF). - 1399 John Cassy, kt., William Brenchesle, John Brynkle and others claim from John Boteler and Joan his wife a third part of a mill with appurtenances in Osprenge, Faversham and Donnington. John and Joan quitclaim to the demandants for ever receiving 20 lbs Sterling (Kent FF).

In 1397 William Brenchesle sued John Coumbe, clerk, for the manor of Coding which re received (SSX FF). - 1398 William Brenchesle and Joan his wife petioned from Richard Huntingdon more than 1000 acres of land and rent in Bexhill, Ninfield, Hoo, Crowhurst, Catsfield, Holington and Battle, which was adjudged to them and the heirs of their bodies, contingent remainder to heirs of body of Joan, in default one moiety successively to Elizabeth or Alice, her sisters and others and the heirs of their bodies. The other moiety to remain to Alice, Elizabeth and others or right heirs of Joan, Elizabeth and Alice. - This is an important document, as it tells us that Joans sisters were still alive in 1398 (SSX FF). In that year William Brenchesle v. Roger Isle - a final concord was achieved for 100 marks regarding the manor of Frant (PRO DYK/9).

In 1399 William Marchaunt and Richard Huntingdon wanted from William and Joan the manors of Codyng and Southeye, land in Brightling in Sussex; land and rent in Brenchesle, Lamberherst, Goutherst and others in Kent. - to William and Joan for life, remainder to Richard Brenchesle and Ann his wife for life (Richard their son), then to Thomas Wallere, John and Thomas Brook draper, and others (SSX FF). - During the same period, William Brenchesle won land in Hadlo, Kent, but lost part of properties in Bexhill, Ninfield, Hoo, Crowherst, Catsfield, Holington and Battle, which went to William Goldsmith.- This again shows that William's and Joans son and daughter-in-law were already married at that time.

Sir John Peckam, clerk, William Brenchesle and Thomas Wallere made an indenture with Sir Thomas Culpeper and Eleanor his wife regarding land in Kent, in which they were enfeoffed (CCR). - 1400 William Marchant and Richard de Huntingdon sue William Brenchesle and Joan his wife for the manors of Coding and Southeye and land and wood in Brightling in Sussex as well as 3 messuages, a mill, land and wood in Lamberhurst, Brenchesle and other places in Kent. The premises went to William and Joan for their lives with remainder to Richard Brenchesle, their son and Anne his wife for their lives, then to other persons (Kent FF). - 1402 William Brenchesle, kt., petitions John Broke of Snarton and Johanna his wife, def. for the manor of Bilsington with appurtenances. The manor was quitclaimed to William and his heirs (Kent FF). - 1404 William Brenchesle and others sue William Rikhill for the manor of Elsingham in Frinsbuy with appurtenances in Kent and for the manor of Patinden in Surrey. William Rukhill quitclaims receiving 200 marks (Kent FF).

Sir Reginald Cobham of Sterbourough, Kent, in 1404 granted his estates to several persons including William Brenchesle. Between 1400 and 1405 William had several court cases concerning land and rent in Frant, which he all won. In one of them John Brook and Thomas Wallere were involved, in another one William Cornhill (SSX FF). In the latter year the rent was divided between William, Thomas Wallere and John Brook with remainder to William's heirs. John Brook appears in various pleas together with William. In 1403 he received a commission 'de walliis et fossatis' with Nicholas Carreu, Robert Oxenbrigge and others between London Bridge and Greenwich. - William, John Brook, Richard Huntingdon, William Champeneys and others sued William Sunninglegh and Margaret his wife for 198 acres of land and rents in Frant. It was adjudged to the demandants. In 1405-6 William, John Brook and Thomas Wallere sued Robert atte Wode and Agnes his wife also for rent in Frant and received it. - 1408 Grant by Reynold Cobham, son and heir of Reginald Cobham, lord of Steresborough, to William Brenchesle, kt., John Brook and others of certain manors in Kent and Hertford and lands formerly held in dower by Eleanor his mother. A second charter by Reginald deals of other manors and lands in Surrey, Sussex, Kent, Hertford, whereby John Dalyngregge is witness (CCR).

William Brenchesle was a well known judge of the Common Pleas. In 1390 he was a serjeant of law. In 1399 he became a judge of the Common Pleas. King Henry IV made him a Knight of the Bath on his coronation day. This office he maintained till Trinity term 1406 (The Judges of England V. 4). After the Great Rebellion in Kent in 1381 he became a surety with others to guaranty the good future behaviour of a certain Thomas Bardefeld. - William Brynchesle of Kent is mainpernor for William Burcester, kt., in that year (CCR). He is mentioned in many documents preserved in the Patent Rolls and elsewhere. He sometimes acted with William Batesford and William Rikhill. Thomas, earl of Stafford, William and others, on 23 Jan. 1387, were committed to keep all the lands in England, Wales and Calais, late of Hugh earl of Stafford (CFR). - In 1390 he was commissioner of peace in Sussex with his fellows Thomas Camoys, Edward Dalyngrugge, William Batesford, Roger Ashburnham, William Percy and John Wadham (CPR). 1392 commissioner of oyer and terminer. - 22 May 1394 John Bouett gave to William Batelesford and William Brenchesle and the heirs of William Batesford and Thomas Hoo, kt, son of William de Hoo, kt., a third part of the manor of Ockley in Surrey (CCR). - In 1394-5 he is found as justice of the peace (DE 210/2055). In 1393 and 1395-7 he was justice of assize with William Rikhill. The year 1395 sees him with Nicholas Slyfeld as justices of the peace for Surrey (Cal. of Deeds in PRO). In his last years William appears as one of the judges in the Kent Fines, he and William Hankfeld were appointed during pleasure as justices of the Bench on 11 May 1398 (CPR p. 341).

On 17 March 1400 William Brenchesley, Justice of Common Pleas, was made a Knight of the Bath (The kts of Engld. V.1). - In 1401 William Brenchesle, Robert and Thomas Oxenbrigge, the sheriff and escheator of Sussex and others were ordered to enquire into the petition of Julian, widow of Robert Belknap, regarding the manor of Knelle and land and rent in Beckley (CPR).

In Echingham church a William Brenchesle and Ann his wife are memorated (SAC V. 31) as well as Joan Batesford.  

William Brenchesle had two brothers

Thomas, who married Joan, first occurs in 1345: Grant by William Sheffield, son of John de Sheffield to Thomas Brenchesle and Joan his wife of a garden with appurtenances he had as gift from Ambrose de Newburgh, clerk, in la Charing, near Westminster (CCR). - In 1360 he is witness to a charter by Walter de Mutton, chaplain, and others in Kent (CCR), and in 1361 to a deed concerning Ewhurst manor (PRO AMS 6139/6). - In that year  Thomas Brynchesley received 100s yearly from the King for the capture of Charles de Blois and his service at the defeat of the Scotch at the battle of Durham (Issue Roll of Brantingham, bishop of Exeter). In 1360 Thomas de Brenchesle, John and Thomas Colpepper and others witnessed a grant concerning land in Brincheslee, East Pekham and elsewhere in Kent. In October 1363 Thomas de Brenchesle was removed as coroner in Kent (both CCR). - 1384 Thomas Brenchesle received the custody of Crowherst Park for life from the king (VCH). - In 1388 John de Cresford sues Thomas Bryncheslee and Joan his wife for a toft and land in Ewhurst which they obtain (SSX FF). 

In deeds dated 1403 and 1408 Thomas is shown as brother of William (PRO DYK281& 15). In 1390 this Thomas, yeoman of the chamber, receives a grant by John Grynford of all his estate in Langley park in Kent. Thomas Brynchesle and Joan his wife sue John Cresford for land in Ewherst. It went to John (FF  1388-92). - Thomas and Joan his wife in 1396 lose 15 acres in Ewhurst to Thomas Newynton (SSX FF). - In 1404 he is marked as Thomas Brinchesle, Kent, debtor to Simon Marchford, clerk. - The Calender of Patent Rolls show a grant of the King to his servant Thomas Brenchesle of the custody of the king's parks of Dothwelle and Crowhurst in Sussex. - 29 May 1408 Quitclaim from Thomas Brenchesle of Brenchesle, brother of William Brenchesle, knight, to Joan, widow of William, and Thomas Wallere of all his rights in the manor of Frant and in all other lands in Kent and Sussex, which the late William Brenchesle and others held by grant of Richard, son of Thomas Grygge (PRO DYK/15). - In 1410 Thomas Bryncheslee and Joan his wife were impeded by John de Cresford for a toft and land in Ewehurst which went to John.

-  Richard, mentioned as brother of William in 1391 in a deed concerning the manor of Frant. - Power of attorney to Richard, brother of William Brenchesle (PRO DYK/6). - On 29 April 1398 John Leitere of the parish of Tysherst was admonished for not appearing to answer Richard Brenchesle for a debt of 20 marks in Kent (CPR). - On 6 Nov. 1390 Thomas at Reed grants to Thomas Colepepper, Thomas Wallere, Thomas and Richard Brenchysle and others all his free lands and tenements etc. in the parish of Wadherst (SAS/PN/515). - On June 1408 a Richard Brynkelee, clerk, is mentioned in a CPR document.

 William Brenchesle (d. 1408)  and Joan (d. 1453) had a son

                  º  Richard who married Anne, daughter of John Salerne and Agnes his wife. Both  died in Joan's lifetime without leaving issue (Kent Archives). The Salernes were merchants of Winchelsea, one of the Cinque Ports. John Salerne in 1371-2 was collector of poundage. - In 1388 John Salerne of Rye and Agnes his wife (by Robert de Oxenbridge) sue Thomas Cockfield and Laurencia his wife for 7 marks rent in Iden which they received (SSX FF).

In 1398 Robert de Oxenbridge and William Marchant sue John Salerne and Agnes his wife for a messuage, 152 a of land, 10 a of wood, 40 a of heath, 310 a of marsh and rent in Iden, Playden, Rye and Beckley. It went to John and Agnes for life, remainder to William son of Roger Ashburnham and Ann his wife, daughter of John and Agnes and their heirs, remainder to right heirs of John. - In 1400 William Marchant and Richard Huntingdon sue John Salerne and Agnes his wife for land and rent in Iden, which goes to the deforciants with remainder to Richard Brenchesle and Ann his wife for life (SSX FF). - From those two documents results that Ann Salerne had first married William Ashburnham who probably died the next year, and secondly Richard de Brenchesle in 1400.

1403 Richard Brenchesle and John Salerne of Wynchelsea petitioned Thomas Pette and Petronilla his wife for land in Lydd, Kent, both Broomhill's in Kent and Sussex, Icklesham in Sussex (SSX FF). Richard and John shall have it after the death of John Salerne of Iden and Agnes his wife (SSX FF). - John Salerne of Rye and Agnes his wife (by Robert Oxenbrigg) sue Thomas Cockfeld and Laurencia his wiffe for 7 marks rent in Iden, which went to the plaintiffs (1389 - SSX FF, p. 196). - 1405 Richard de Huntingdon sues John Salerne and his wife Agnes for a messuage, land, wood and rent in Ebbene, Stone and Wightersham in the Isle of Oxney. John and Agnes were to hold the premises for their lives with remainder to John's daughter Eleanor and her husband William Cheyney. Note: Eleanor was a sister of Richard de Brenchele's wife Anne (Kent FF). - On 12 July 1411 Thomas Horden and John Pedelsden with others had to look into the petition of Alice, daughter of Robert Salerne of Iham, that John Salerne of Winchelsea disseised her of a grange with lands, tenements and appurtenances in St. Giles in Winchelsea, which had been granted to Robert Salerne her father with successive remainders to his wife Anne, Alice for life, Simon Salerne and his wife Alicia and heirs of their bodies, by Robert Arnold of Winchelsea and Valentine late Vicar  of Ickelsham (Inq. Misc. V. 2 p. 127).

Note: The Salerne family came from St.-Cyr-de-Salerne near Orbec and Bernay in Normandy or from St.-Cyr- de- Pière. In about 1125. Thomas and William, sons of Ralf de Salerne and his wife Agnes, sold to abbot Richard de Fourneaux all they had in Espaignes, Brionne and Toutainville, Eure, worth 40 lbs, including 20 sheep, 20 swine and 2 horses. In 1140 William de Salerne alienated his right in 3 churches in Brionne to Hugh d'Amiens, archbishop of Rouen. He had descendancy (Charpillon - Eure V.2, p. 765.

In 1406 took place a transfer of lands from Thomas Chiche, Thomas Wallere, John and Thomas Broke to Richard Brenchesle and Ann his wife (U1384/T12/1). That year William Makenade and Thomas Norpunton, clerk, granted to Richard and his heirs land and rent in Frant, Wadhurst and Mayfield, which were held by Joan, wife of William Brenchesle for life (PRO DYK/13).

After William de Brenchele's death Robert Suryndenne, John Brok, William Champeneys and others granted to Joan, widow of William Brenchesle lands and rents in Frant and rent in Pembury, Kent, which they had of the gift of William Brenchesle, to be held by Joan and afterwards by her son Richard (PRO DYK/12). - Thomas Wallere and John Brok in 1407 granted the manor of Bilsington to Joan for life with remainders to others including Richard Brenchesle  (TNA C 1443/438/15). - The manor of Bilsington had been held by John Mansel, Provost of Beverley in 1253, who founded the Priory of Bilsington there. In 1390 Thomas de Brenchesley was elected Prior (Dugdale Monasticon).

The Subsidy Roll of 1411-12 shows Joan Brinchesle holding the manors of Godyng, Buckholt, Bexley and Vernthe (Frant) in Sussex, worth 37 lbs yearly (Inq. & Ass.). - A Knolle family had settled in Frant at an early date. - 1411 Writ not to proceed against Joan, widow and executrix of William Brenchesle, or Rose, widow and executrix of William Rikhill (CCR). - Joan held dower in Brenchesle, Pepynbury, Capele, Tudele, Tunbridge, Hadlo, Ealding, Horsmonden, Seyntmariecherch, Newcherche and elsewhere in Kent, including the manor of Bilsington. But when she wanted to enter it she was informed that her son Richard had granted Bilsington away. For a fine of 10 marks the King in 1440 granted her licence to keep the manor for her life (CPR).

A law suit between John Halle, Robert Oxbregge and others against John Ashburnham concerning the manors of Skoteneye, Ewhurst, Apedale and Courthop and the reversion of them. This document showes that Joan held a moiety of the manor of Ewhurst, while the other half was held by Joan, widow of Roger Ashburnham (SSX FF). In 1427 John Adryan of Rokyng, co. Kent, has to answer Joan, late the wife of William Brenchesle, knight, for a debt. - 1428 The heirs of John Coding and the lady of Brenchesle have between them separately a quarter fee in Coding and the rest is held by the tenants (Inq. & Ass.). - In 1433-4 Richard Aylard demises to John Pelham sen. and jun., kts, Ewherst and also the reversion of all his lands in Ewherst, Northiam, Beckley and Iden, which Lady Joan Brenchesle held for their life (The Peerage of England). - Joan, formerly the wife of Sir William Brenchesle, is mentioned in a document dating from 1446 (U1450/T7/89, Centre for Kentish Studies). 

Joan made her will at Bexhill on 6 August 1453 "Dame Johane Brenchesle sumtyme wyf of Sir William Brenchesle, kt." (Transcript of Sussex Wills, V. I). In this will she disposes of some of her manors in Kent to be sold to the poor and installs Sir Thomas Knyell as executor of this. A Knelle-Knolle family was living in Knol or Knowle near Brenchesley since an early date. 1346 two fees which William de Knol had in Parock of the earl of Gloucester (Inq. and Ass. V. III). Still earlier there was a Theobald de Knoll).

A chantry known as Batisford chantry was founded in the church of Bexhill under the will of Joan Brenchesle, widow of Sir William Brenchesley, dated 6 August 1453. - There exists also a separate shorter testament. - The Foundation Charter by Thomas Lewknor, kt., Thomas Hoo, esq., Richard Wakehurst junior and Alexander Altham, clerk, for a perpetual chantry for one chaplain at the altar of St. Mary the Virgin, for the sake of King Henry IV, Margaret his Queen, 'Domina' Elizabeth Lewknor and Thomas Hoo, of their souls after their deaths; and of the souls of William Batylford (Batysford), Margaret his wife, William Brenchley, William Fenys (Fiennes), kt, John Codyng the elder and the younger, Richard Brenchley, Anne his wife, and all faithful departed. - This paragraph needs some explications: Joan's heirs were Elizabeth, widow of  Thomas Hoo, Sir Thomas Lewknor. Elizabeth was daughter of Joans' sister Elizabeth and William de Fiennes. She married firstly Sir Thomas Hoo and c. 1420 secondly Sir Thomas Lewknor as his second wive. Joan Rikhill was daughter of Joan's other sister Alice, who had married as his first wife Sir William de Echingham. Sir Richard Fiennes was grandson of Elizabeth Batesford and Sir William de Fiennes.

John Bower, clerk, was appointed the first priest to celebrate the anniversary of William and Joan on 19th of May every year. - Licence had been received from the king in 1452 and from the bishop of Chichester and his chapter in 1458. - Joan had held also the manors of Hever Cobham and Hever Brokas (see descendancy of James Fenys below). - As per Joan's will John Fray, chief baron of the Exchequer, Thomas Hoo and Alexander Altham granted to the chaplain, John Bower, clerk, an annuity from 'Southye' manor.

In 1446 King Henry had also granted a licence, and John Stafford, archbishop of Canterbury, and the Priory had given their consent, for the foundation of a chantry in the Cathedral of Canterbury. This was confirmed in 1448 by the new archbishop (endorsed with description of the ordination of John Brenchley). - Richard Neuton, kt., chief justice of the Bench, Thomas Lewknor, kt., John Fray, chief baron of the Exchequer, John Gorsich and John Crakall, clerks, granted to the Archbishop the advowson of Brenchley's Chantry at the altar of St. John the Baptist in the Cathedral church in 1447.  The same persons in 1448 founded the chantry for one priest.

Alexander Altham, cerk, was appointed the first chaplain. - He was granted a messuage in Canterbury, and after the death of Joan he was to obtain a payment of 10 lbs out of the manor of Bilsington to celebrate the anniversary of Joan and William who are buried there. (Canterbury Archives). - On 21 March 1453, Joan, wife of William Brenchesle, kt. and others obtained licence to grant the manor of Bilsington to John Cheyne of Sheppey, kt.

 

             º Joan who married John Rickhill (d. before 1432), a judge, son of William Rykhill, judge (d. 1407), and Rosa his wife. William's will is recorded in Lambeth 1 Oct.1407 and Rosa's 28 April 1418. She wishes to be buried in the Cathedral church of St. Andrew at Rochester, where her husband lies, and names her sons William, John, Thomas, Nicolas, and her daughter Maud with her daughter Elizabeth. As per her husband's will Maud had another daughter Maud, and Rosa had another daughter Joan, who in turn had a daughter Joan. -nIn 1415 Roger Gate and Thomas Oxenbridge found by inquisition to wall New Winchelsea that John Rikhill and his wife Joan and Elizabeth her sister, daughters of Wiloiam Lord  Echingham, kt. and his wife Joan own 36 yards in two tofts lying togehter wich descended to them as heeritary right from their mother Joan and are held of the King in chief by fee-farm Inq. Misc. V. 7 p. 280).

                         -  Joan's daughter Joan married  Richard Bruyn, who was a commissioner of peace. Arch. Cantiana states that they were both living in 1456 and had a son Richard, who died before 1476. - 1440 Thomas Echingham, kt., Richard Cordon, clerk, Richard Bruyn, William Garnet and Robert Saveray, clerk, and William Rikhull, def. regarding the manors of Shynlidwell and Rydle with appurtenances and the advowson of the church of the manor of Shinglidwell. William quitclaimed the manors to the petitioners (Kent FF). 

William Rikhill was born in Ireland. In 1384 he was one of the King's serjeants. On 20 May 1389 he was constituted judge of the Common Pleas after the attainter of Chief judge Robert Belknap and his fellow judges. In July 1397 Sir William had order to travel to Calais tin order to question the Duke of Gloucester, who had been arrested at that date. Soon afterwards the Duke was murdered. In 1199 the new king Henry confirmed his office which he exerted until Trinity Term 1407 (The Judges of England V. 4). -.In 1383 William Rikhill and his wife Rose sue John Lockin and his wife Mabel for the manor of Eslingham, who also quitclaim to them for 200 marks (Kent FF). - 2 Dec. 1375 Robert Neelle, cousin and heir of Walter Neelle, to William Halden, William Makenade, William Stowe, Thomas Swanton and others, quitclaim of the manor of Eslingham and appurtenances, wherewith they are tenants in possession (CCR) - In 1379 William Rikhill and Gilbert Melchibpurne sued Robert Neel and Alice his wife for the manor of Eslingham with appurtenances in Kent, who quitclaim to William and Gilbert and the heirs of William for 200 marks (Kent FF). -  31 Dec. 1380 Robert Neylle, cousin and heir of Walter Neylle (Knelle), quitclaimed to William Rikhill and others the manor of Eslingham with appurtenances, which they had by feoffment of William Stowe and Thomas Swanton - 16 Jan. Memoranda of acknowledgement (CCR).

William Rickhill, the father, was Lord of the manor of Ridley in Kent in name of his wife and held land in the Parish of Cleve, Kent (Cal. of Deeds in PRO) - As per his will he held also the manors of Eslyngham, Yfeld, in Frindsbury, Dutton Camoys in Cambridge and Hatfield Peverel and Mokyndon Hall in Ulton, Essex, as well as tenements in Rochester, Kent. - On 1 Feb. 1388 a writ not to poceed against William Rikhill, the father, was issued, who had been appointed with Simon Burley, late constable of Dover and warden of the Cinque ports, Robert Belknap and others to inquire in Kent about all goods and chattels, which were wreck of sea in the liberty of the Cinque Ports (CCR).

On 1 November 1383 Stephen Haym and others sue William Rikhill, John Shelford, citizen of London and others concerning the manor of West Tuderley im Hampshire and six messuages, 2 tofts, land, wood and rent in Felde Loveras (Cowsfield), Wiltshire, which John Sonde and his wife Joan hold in dower of the inheritance of John Shelford. Grant of reversion to Stephen Haym against payment of 200 lbs (Wilt. FF).

15 June 1391 commission to William Rikhill, Richard Skipp escheator in Kent, and the fello judges to inquire into the claim of William son of William Echingham, kt. referring to the manors of Henmpsted, a messuage with appurtenances in Lydd, Bromhill and elsewhere as per a fine levied at Michaelmas 1331 between John Ore and James Echingham kt., and his wife Joahn, who had granted the premises, which were later acquired by Robert Belknap, kt.. (Inq. Misx. V. 5). - 1396 John de Searle, kt. and William Rikhill versus John de Cobham, kt., concerning the castle of Cooling, the manors of Cobham, Cooling, Beckle, Pole and Shamham, Kent with other property in London, Surrey and Wiltshire, which John de Cobham had granted them. The deforciants are now rendering the premises back to John de Cobham and the heirs of his body, with successive remainders to members of the Cobham family named (Wilts. FF). 

In 1393 the king ordered William Rikhill and William Brenchesle, his justiciars, to hold assizes in Devon and to look into a petition by Henry Glanville's petition (Select Cases of Chancery). - 4 Feb. 1395 William Daunbury to William Rickhulle, Geoffrey Colville, Matthew Londoneys and others, charter of the manor of Wyecumbes with appurtenances and all his lands in Essex (CCR). - 30 December 1402 William Rikhnill, then guardian of the peace, and justice of oyer and terminer in Kent had to see to it, that Willliam Talmond and Robert Stallerworth of London are set free from prison in Maidenstone, as they have been mainperned to bring them before the judges. They had beaten Nicholas Simon of London on the way between Rochester and Gravesend and wounded him so much that he is in danger to die. On 9 Aug.1404 William Rikhhill and William Brenchesle acted as justices on order of the escheator in the county of Southampton. They appear in various other documents together. William's activity as a judge has been found as early as 1379. - Oct. 15, 1399 The constable of Rochester castle has order to cause William Rikhille, kt., who is in custody in the castle, to be brought to the manor of Lamberhythe and deliver him to the archbishop Thomas (Bourchier) of Canterbury (both CCR). - William Rikhill with others had several commissions to survey the dykes and seawalls in west Kent: 1389 between Eastbourne and Appledore; 1390 between Kent bridge and Newenden; 1401 inspection of the marshes of Lydd and Broomhill; 1414 repair of banks in Old Romney and between Fairlight and Appledore (Hist. of Romney Marsh).

This comes from Feudal Aids: 1401-2 William Rykhull, kt., pays 20s for one knight's fee for the manor of Mokelton, Lincoln, held of the honour of Tuttebury, Derby. - 1413-22 William Brenchesle, kt. and others v. William Rikhill, kt., in Tatynden, Sussex. - 1428 Nicholas Rykhill has one fee in Holfeld Peverel, Essex. - 1412 Cambridge - Johannes Rykell has property in Stenoheworth and Dollingham worth 6 lbs 13s 4d.

William, eldest son of William and Rosa (d. c.1443), knight of the Shire in 1420, sheriff in 1424, inherited Ifield and Ridley, which he sold to Thomas Engham in 1438. The next year William, Jon Felippe, clerk, and John Whyte petitioned William Idele and Rosa his wife for the manor of Rydele with appurtenances in Ash, who quitclaim to the petitioners (Kent FF). - William married Katherine Coventre, daughter of Henry Coventre, both buried in Northfleet church according a brass dated 1433. His daughter Rose married John Lymesy of Kent, a descendant of a once Norman family (Arch. Cant.). - John and William, his brother, had a commission with Hamo Belknap and others in 1419 (CPR).

On On 14 Nov. 1460 John Limesy gave by charter to John Young and many others the manors of Northflete Paul of Ifeld Welles and Cosington with all appurtenances and warrenty for 3 years receiving 1000 lbs. Witness Thomas Pedelsen and others CR p. 485). - On 2 October 1460 John Limesy of Kent, son and heir of Rose, widow of Edward Limesy, daughter and heir of William Rickhill, esq., confirms to William Sharp of London an identure dated 6 August 1458 by which his father had demised to William Sharp and his executors for 3 years the manors in Northflete Paul of Ifeld Welles and Cosington with all appurtenances. Dated 14 August 1458. Warranty (CCR p. 467-8).

Thomas (d. before 1441) inherited the manor of Patynden Bray in Surrey. He was married to Joan, daughter of John Worshop. They had a daughter Joan, married firstly to Henry Pevensey and secondly to Richard Asheby of Stratton upon Dunnesmore, Warwick. Thomas (d. 1476), son of Thomas and Joan, had a son John, b. 1472, and a daughter ElizabethThomas had also  a son Thomas and a grandson John, who was sued in 1483 by John Andreu for the execution of a fine levied in 1348 regarding the manor of Eslyngham and other property (Pedigrees from the Plea Rolls).

7 November 1458: Joan widow of Henry Pevensey, daughter and heir of Thomas Rikhill, esq. to Humphrey Duke of Buckingham, Henry Viscount Bourchier and others who are in possession of the manor of Mokelton Hall county Essex, which had been of Nicholas Rikhill. - Joan widow of John Rikhill esq., is tenant for life. - Quitclaim with warranty of all the premises to Richard Bruyn, Thomas Hoo and others who hold land in London, which were of Nicholas Rikhill, and two messuages in London, which were of Joahn, widow of John Rikill esq., tenant for life. Further to Richard Bruyn and Thomas Delton the manor of Elingham with large appurtenances. Memorandum of acknowledgement 11 November (CCR p. 347).

Nicholas was married to Isabel (d. 1443), widow of John de Boys. He inherited Chadwell in Essex and Ditton Camoys in Cambridge. He was sheriff in Essex in 1429. In that year he is mentioned  also as sheriff in Hertfordshire. - His son Geoffrey was sheriff in 1434 and 1449. In 1428 Nicholas Rykhulle recognizes to John Gaynsford a debt of 2000 lbs to be levied in Essex in exchange that John should be free of 1000 lbs he is bound to Thomas Echingham, Thomas Lewknor and John Rykhylle and Joan his wife (CCR).  - Nicholas Rikhill, escheator of Essex, had order on 20 May 1418 to give Idonea, widow of John Walden seisin of the manor of Dedham held in chief of the King (CCR V. 5, p. 462). - Nicolas Rikhill of Surrey has  died  as per writ of 'diem clausit extremum' dated1 February 1432, tested by Humphrey Duke of Gloucester guardian of England (CFR p. 51).

In 1311 The King orders the sheriff to distrain all those persons who have to repair the bridge of Rochester. Under those were John and Pagan Rikenild (Abbrev. Plac. p. 312). They seem to be ancestors of the later Rikhills, as Rosa and her husband wanted to be buried at Rochester. - The Rickhill arms were GU two bars between 3 anuletts OR. - The arms of Rikhill were GU, 2 borgemelles between 3 anulets AR (Arch. Cantiana.).

              º Elizabeth who married first Sir Thomas Hoo, kt. (d. 23 Aug. 1420), son of William de Hoo and Alice de St. Omer, and secondly, c. 1421, Sir Thomas Lewknor of Trotton, as his second wife (Miscellanea Genealogica and Heraldica). Her son from the Hoo marriage was Thomas Hoo esq. who married Alicia, da. of Walter Urrey and died 28 Oct. 1486 sp. He was the half brother of Thomas Hoo, Lord Hoo and Hastings. At her marriage to Hoo Elizabeth was assigned the manor of Wartling as her dower. - The first wife of Thomas Lewknor had been Philippa Dallingridge, with whom he had their sons Roger and Nicolas. When Elizabeth's husband died in 1454, Roger Lewknor, the eldest son of Philippa, fought Elizabeth, because he felt that his father had bestowed too many properties on her in dower. He was harrying her and taking her manors away. She finally recovered Goring manor only, but held Wartling, which the dying Lord Hoo and Hastings had confirmed to her for her life.

Thomas Lewknor and Elizabeth Echingham had a large descendancy (see Dallingridge in this web page).

 

The Fiennes family can be traced back to Conan de Fiennes in 1020, who took his name from a village of that name in the county of Guisnes (Patronymica Brittania). Eustace Baron de Fiennes is mentioned in France c.1050. He was married to Adele de Sevesse, Dame d'Ardres. - In 1101-16 Paganus de Fenis is witness to a charter to the abbey of S. Petri Carnotensis (Caen). - Conan son of Eustace, living still in 1112, had the sons Eustace, the heir, Roger, Anselm and Guillaume or William. Eustace founded the Abbey of Beaulieu in Boulogne. He is witness to a charter by King Stephen to the abbey of St. Augustine in Canterbury in 1136-45 (Regesta V 3, p. 59).  His eldest son Eustace married Marguerite de Guines, daughter of Arnold de Gand, count of Guines, and Maud de Saint-Omer. They did not have any children. His brothers were Ingram and Ralph. Their sister Adelaide married Baldwin de Champagne. - Ingram succeeded his brother Eustace (Dict. de la Noblesse V. 1 pp. 387-9). However, Ireland in his History of Kent says:

The first to come to England with the Conqueror was John, who was governor of Dover Castle and Warden of the Cinque Ports, as was James Fiennes, his son in 1087. John Fiennes held this office under Henry I (1100-35), and Alan Fiennes under Henry II. His son James inherited this office from him under King Richard I. His grandson was Ingelram, who died at the siege of Acre in 1190. The Dictionary states that he had taken his son Thomas with him, who obvioulsly died there as well.

Henry de Fiennes holds 1 fee of the custody of Dover (dto. p. 614).

In the year 1194 appears Adam de Tingry who sues Alice de Aspelle for land in Bedford (CCR V. 1 p. 251). He was married to Margaret  daughter of Gilbert de Sonderville. In 1200 their son Nicolas gives the king 20 marks for an inquiry by free men of Bedford, whether Adam de Tingry his father could not have a reasonable part, a moiety of his mother's inheritance of her father's land. The answer was that his father had married her without the King's consent, she being ward of William fFtzFulk who had married her elder sister Sinoda. But if he pays 20 marks within a year, the sheriff shall give him a sealed writ to get seisin (Oblatis R., p. 130) .- 1213 Abbrev. Plac. p. 89: Nicholas de Tingrie recovers from the Abbess of Alnestow the advowson of the church of Tingrie in Bedford. - In 1227 Nicholas de Tingry was summoned to war, sent for the Prior of 40 acres of land of marsh in Flittewik, but he does not show up in Bedfordshire Eyre. (Bef. Hist. Rec. Soc.) - Nicholas may be a descendant of Adam above.

But it is Ingram son of Eustace de Fiennes, baron in the Boulonnais, who married Sybil de Tingrie, living 1217, daughter of Pharamon de Boulogne, lord of Tingrie, son of William de Boulogne. His grandfather was Geoffrey, son of Count Eustace de Boulogne. In 1125 Eustace count of Boulogne gives to the abbey of Cluny out of his ville of Fobinges in England..- Pharamus was nephew of Queen Maud, wife of King Stephen, the heiress of Boulogne (Round's Peerage). - Pharamon held Tingry in 1130. He was benefactor of several abbeys including Waverley abbey in Surrey and Missenden Abbey in Buckinghamshire, where Sybil his daughter inherited from him Wendover manor and Eyton after his death. Douglas Richardson says that his grandfather was an illegitimate uncle of the Queen and thus half brother of Godfrey and Baldwin de Boulogne, victors and kings of Jerusalem in the first crusade 1097-9. - Godfrey died 1100 when Baldwin became King of Jerusalem.- Round states that this Geoffrey was Geoffrey de Mandeville.. - In 1130 Pharamus owes 30 silver marks for his lands in England (CPR).  He was living 1181-2 when he paid  60 lbs for his manor in Wendover and Eyton in Buckingham (CPR) as he had done before. - In 1208-13 he has 10 fees and William de Fiennes 6 in Lamburn, Fifehide, Blackhull and Laufare, in Essex (Liber Rubeus V. 1). - Faramus gave land to the Templars in Essex and Devon, as well as in Martok, Somerset (John Waller Phd). Martok was later held by his descendants (see below).  -  Pharamus de Boulogne and William de Fiennes have 6 military fees in Lamburn' in Essex including Laughfar, which is held by Henry FitzAucher (Testa Nevil). - 1211-12 The heirs of Faramus hold Martoc of the honour of Boulogne in Somerset

Ingelram,de Fiennes, who had married Isabel, his only daughter, had to pay 40s for making waste in the wood of Clopham, Surrey, but the King had pardoned Faramus that amount (1184-5, PR. Vol. 33). In 1186-7) Ingelram paid 30 lbs for the manor of Wendover and Eyton in Buckinghamshire (PR. Vol. 36). Ingram died during the third crusade at Acre in1190 as so many more.

In 1199 his daughter Sibilla de Tingry gave 200 marks for the lands in Martoc and Wendover for her licence to marry (Rot. de Oblatio). In 1199 she paid a fine to the king to hold Wendover and to marry whom she will (VCH). - She paid 20 marks tax in Buckinghamshire in 1202 (Chancery Roll). From her father Pharamon she had further the manor of Carshalton as her dowry, as well als Magdalen Lower in Essex. - In 1205 she made a fine for 200 marks for Wendover (CFR). - In 1207 Sibil demised the manors of Martock and Wendover to her son after having had several court cases concerning land in Wendover (The land of the Normans). However, between 1208-15 Wendover was held by Hugh de Gourney. -- Sibylla was summoned in 1210-11 to warrant the Prior of Southwark for the advowson of the church of Wendover. - 1217-8 Sibille holds 6 military fees in Lamburne, 2 in Fifehide and Blakehall and Laufare, 2 in Hertfordshire, 2 in Cotes, Cambridge, and further 2 in Kent (Liber Rubeus). - In 1217 She pays scutage for two fees at Cotes (CPR). - By an undated charter Sibille gave to the abbey of Bec in Normandy one hide of land in Balgham which belonged to her manor of Clapham in Surrey, receiving 40s (Dugdale Monasticon V. 6 p. 1068).- Her father, had held also land in Dorset in 1164-5 (Pipe R. Vol. 7). -

 Ingram and Sibille had A daughter who married Baldwin or Bartholomew Hampden, son of Robert de Hampden and Lora de Giffard, of a side line of the earls Giffard of Buckinghams. For Hampden please see under Belknap in this web page. The sons were                               

Thomas On 4 November 1205 The king orders Geoffrey Fitz Peter to pay to Thomas de Fiennes out of the exchequer 10 marks at Michaelmas and 10 marks at Easter of  the 20 marks  conceded to Thomas in fee yearly (CCRlit p. 56).

Eustace and

Ingelram's and Sybil's heir William (1160-1242), lord of Fiennes married Agnes de Dammartin, sister of Renaud, count of Dammartin and Boulogne, children of Simon count of Ponthieu and a daughter of Alberic II de Dammartin and Maud his wife (CCRlit p. 56). Renaud's daughter Maud married King Philipp of France.

William de Fiennes (died about 1243). He has half a fee of the Honour of Kingston, which was of Adam de Port  in 1211-2 (Liber Rub. p. 600.) - March 1207 William has done homage to the King. His mother Sibille has pleaded in the King's court for dower in Somerset and Buckinghamshire. William to give her a rational part of the manors of Martok and Wendover (p. 79) - William de Fiennes is recorded in 1194-9 having a court case against Alexander de Boiton (CRR). In 1198-1213 he held 6 military fees in Lamburn and 2 in Essex (Liber Rubeus). - 1199-1204 Rainald Dammartin, count of Boulogne, did homage to King John of England during his strife with King Philip August of France, giving as hostages his wife IDA, two sons of William de Fiennes and others (The life of K. Ph. Aug. p. 254). - On 26 April 1205 the sheriff of Somerset has mandate to give at once full seisin to William de Fiennes of the manor of Martoc with appurtenances as his mother Sibille held it ((p. 65). - On 15 March 1207 William  has done homage to the King. As his mother Sibille had pleaded for dower in Somerset and Buckinghamshire, William to give her a rational part of the manors of Martok and Wendover (p. 79). -  William holds the manor of Mortok in Somerset in chief in 1212 (Testa Nevill V. 1), and land in Cotes, Cambridgeshire, and pays for two fees of the Honour of Boulogne in Hertford (Feudal Cambridgeshire). - On 31 January 1215 The King orders the exchequer to pay out to William 60 lbs for his land at Wendover (CCRlit p. 185).

William is mentioned in Buckingham Fines in 1217-8, 1220-1 and 1229 -30, when he pays 200 marks to the king for the seisin of the manor of Wendover, having the custody of lands formerly of Ernald Count of Guines, and for not having to cross with the King to foreign parts (CFR). - Sybill in 1241-2 still owes 33 lbs 8 d for several scutages of the honour of Boulogne in Surrey, and William 18 lbs for two scutages. He also gives 5 marks as surety for Ingram (PR). - 2 May 1242 Order to the exchequer to give respite for 10 lbs they owe for reliefs and scutages, until Michaelmas for William and Ingelram de Fiennes (CFR). - On 20 August 1215 The King to the sheriff of Buckingham: When William came back to England in our service we gave him full seisin of his inheritance in Wendover with appurtenances (CCRlit p. 276 - On 25 July 1216 The King informs the sheriff of Somerset that he has conceded to Hugh de Boulogne the manor of Martoc which was of our enemy William de Fiennes.(p. 278).- 12 August 1216 Order to the exchequer to pay to William Fiennes 85 markls 10 s for a pact with Eustace de Greinville,  as William has paid a fine of 200 marks for the seisin of the manor Wendover with appurtenances ((p. 376). Meanwhile William hat been disseised of Wendover again, but on 15 Sept. 1217 the sheriff of Buckinghamshire had mandate to give him at once seisin of the manor of Wendover (p. 228) - In 1223 King Henry III names William de Fiennes sheriff of Buckingham and Somerset (p. 572). - On 19 May 1221 the sheriff of Kent was to give at once seisin to William for the custody of the lands of Ernald count of Guines, for which he has paid 100 marks, except the land in Bedfordshire, which the king gave to Henry de Turberville to sustain himself in the King's service (CFR V. 1 p. 65).

From that time the family took hold in England maintaining their extensive lands in France. William was also benefactor of Missenden Priory (his charter).- In 1216 William and 3 others were pledges for the redemption of Baldwin, constable of Grimlingham, for an amount of 500 lbs due to King John, who died on 19 Oct. of that year (CChR). - In 1221 William sues William de Cantilupe sen. for seven hides of land with appurtenances in Eiton, which belonged to Wendover manor. He puts Huelin de Fiennes and Ingelram de Bertun in his place in a court against William de Cantilupe and Hugh de Gournay (CPR). As a result he was summoned to hand the manor over to the King, who had the custody of Hugh de Gourney etc. (CCR).- In that year on 19 May William de Fiennes made a fine with the new King for 100 marks for having the custody of the lands which had been of Ernald, count of Guines, except his lands in Bedford (CFR Tower p. 65). - William pays 60 lbs tax for Wendover in 1229 (CPR). - He has respite in 1234-5 for his debt to the King for a loan in Ireland (CFR). - In 1235-6 he is taxed 53s 4d for two fees in Somerset, one of them of new feoffment (Testa Nevil V. 1). - 1238 the barons of the exchequer to inquire into the fees of William de Fiennes (CCR). - 1240-1 he has again respite for 15 marks he is owing for several scutages (CFR). - William held land in Northampton where his tenant was John de Lexington 1243 (CCR p. 114).

In 1244 His widow Agnes received the manor of Clapham in Surrey in dower (CCR p. 161). Thus William must have died 1243-44.  William and Agnes had the children  

Maud who married in 1220 Baldwin, count of Guisnes, lord of Ardres and Chatelaine of Boubourg. He was eldest son of Arnulf II, count of Guines and Beatrix, Chatelaine de Boubourg.

Baldwin de Fiennes in 1261 had letters to enter England (CCR); to send William, Ingeram's son, who had been nursed with Edward, the King's son. - 253 Ingram de Fiennes to provide 40 good and valiant, well equipped armed men for service in Gascogny; to send Baldwin de Fiennes, his brother, there with 24 armed men to serve the King.

Michael On 15 June 1243 the archbishop of Yourk had mandate to procure for Michael de Fiennes a church as gift of the king. On1272-1306). 4 Feb. 1257 Sir Michael de Fiennes was one of the witnesses of an inspeximus of a charter by King Edward I to the burgesses of Kemerden (CCHR V. 1).- 1243 Michael de Fiennes, Ingram's brother for whom the archbishop of York has order to provide a church. Between that time and 1267 Michael is in high favour with the King. In 1255 to serve beyond seas (CPR) - 1259 to provide for him the next eccleastical benefice in England at a value of 50-60 marks (CPR) - 1261 he had order to repair to Witsand with 5 knights (CCR). - In 1265 Michael, who had been chaplain of the deanery of Brugge, was made bishop of Thérouanne (CPR) - 1267 again Dean of the free chapel of Brugges (Pleas of Staffordshire) - 1270 He has letters of credential for Germany (CCR).

Ingelram the heir de Fiennes, (1192-1269), baron of Fiennes and lord of Tingry etc., married Isabel, daughter of Jacques or James, Lord of Condé, Balleuil and Moreaumez. - Isabel held Wendover  of her son William.

23 March 1243 The King pardoned Ingelram the relief he owed to him  and gave him respite until Michelmas (CFR Tower p. 405). In that year he held also land in Northampton, held by John de Lexington (CCR). In April 1241the king had ordered Ingram to come with him overseas, and if he connot for some reason to send to him his son Robert who owes service to him.. In 1244 Ingelram held Clopham in Surrey worth 11 lbs and one and a half fees in Kersatton (Testa Nevil V. 2). - At that date the King gives Agnes, widow of William, the manor of Clopham in dower (Rot. Selecti). That year the king ordered the sheriffs of Somerset, Bedfordshire and Buuckinghamshire to allow Agnes the lands which were of Ingram de Fiennes, to sow her dower lands (CCR). The king ordered also to take into his hands the manor of Martok as it belongs to Norman aliens. It is to be given to William Freuware, but Ingram's mother is permitted dower there (CCR)  -

1248-9 Ingelram de Fiennes sues Ralph de Marcy for one messuage and 120 a of land with appurtenances in Fifehide. He grants it to him for a yearly rent of 20s (ESSX FF V. 1, p. 181). - In 1247 the King pardons Ingram the debts which his father William had left in the exchequer including scutages, loans etc. (CCR p. 501) and grants to Ingram and his heirs a weekly market in the manor of Martok (CCHR V. 1 p. 315). - 6 November 1258 Grant to Ingram to enclose his wood in Gayton, Kent in the King's forest of Salcey, with a dike and a hedge to make a park but so that the King's deers cannot enter (CCHR V. 2). - 1249 The King gives Ingelram a rent of 10 lbs, which the abbot o Faversham used to receive from Robert de Guines, uncle of Arnulf, count of Guines. The sheriff of Northampton to give him seisin of the manor of Gayton in that county. Witnesses Sir Peter de Sabaudia, Bertram de Criol, Sir John de Lexington,  William de Say and others (CCR & CCHR V. 1).  In 1251 Ingram granted Wendover for 3 years to Peter of Savoy (Round).

Enguerrand de Fiennes shall have respite for 40 of the debts of Robert de Guines until Easter in 15 days (31 1250 March FFH3).CCR). - 6 July 1251 Mandate to the bailiffs of Kent to set John de Vallibus, clerk and Ingram de Fiennes free with 4 horses, which have been arrested there (CCR). - In 1252 Ingelram sued Robert Brand, tenant of 1 knight's fee in Kynoehull, dependant on Wendover. On 21 April of that yearConfirmation charter of the demise of Wendover manor to Peter de Saboudia for 3 years by Ingram de Fiennes (CCHR V. 1). - On 10 May 1252 Ingelram had land in Carshalten, Surrey. He also holds Gayton manor in Gayton and land and rents in Chokel, Cnoston, Walneston, Estneston, Westhaddon, Flore, Grimsby, Croton, Holcote, Oveston, Ailling Parva, Newton, Bokton and Rithersthorp (CIPM). - 1252 Robert de Guines and Robert de Bethun sold all their lands in England with the homage and services of the knights and freemen to Ingelram, which the King confirmed. - On 3arch 1252-3 the sheriff of Buckingham had order to give Enguerrand respite until one month after easter for owing scutages of the debts of Robert de Guines. The same to the sheriff of Northamptonshire ((FFH 3).  The bishop of London was asked to let Ingram swear homage for the manors of Parva Hoyland and Tolleshunt in Essex, the latter one once of the Tregoz family. The same to the sheriff of Lincoln for Boby and Navenby (CCR). - In 1257 the King pardoned Ingram the debts which his father had incurred of scutage for war in Ireland, Pictavia and Wales, for th marriage of the king's eldest daughter and for his relief ((Hist. Soc.). 

In 1259 Ingelram owes 12 lbs in Essex for making the King's son a knight and 40s in Somerset and Dorset for the same (CPR pp. 334 and 165).

1 In 1255 Ingeram has the vill of Wendover and 7 hides in Eyton by change with the castle of Dover (Rot. Hdd, Buck., p. 20). - Further the King sends M. Gilbert de Milles to Ingelram to provide 200 cavallery to come privately to the King, and Gilbert to provide their visum (CCR). - In June 1254 Ingelram de Fenes v. Reginald de Aitton, a messuage and land in Wendover (Buckingham FF). In 1257 The King pardoned Ingelram the taxes which William his father owed to the exchequer (FF) - One year later he was pardoned again the debts of his father and the ones of Sibylla, his grandmother. - In that year Ingelram obtains licence to enclose his wood in Gayton in the King's forest of Salcey with a dyke and a hedge, in order to convert it into a park (CCHR). 

1260-1 The king pardons Ingeram all arrears for the services of the knights' fees he holds from the king in chief (CFR) - On 7 January 1261 an inspeximus of a charter in fabour of Ingram de Fiennes,was issued  concerning the manor of Wendover with appurtenances and furtherlands in Eytonm Birchmore, Haneloaw and Hedcorham, Buckinghamshire which Faramus of Boulogne then had received from the king with all the customs and liberties pertaining to the properties. Witnesses Thomas the chancelor, Henry de Essex (d. 1163), Richard de Lucy (CCHR V.2). - At that date King Henry II gave to King Stephen's son William, count of Boulogne, the honour of Boulogne which was of his grandfather Eustace in England, who gave to his relatif Faramus the manor of Martoc in fee and inheritance to hold for 1 knight's fee, which William confirms and his wife Isabel witnesses. - As per advice of the Council the king grants to Ingram de Fiennes the manors and the knights fees which he holds of the king in chief of the honour of Boulogne of his own inheritance in Essex, Hertfordshire and Cambridgeshire for  the service of 2 knight's fees which previously had been of 9 kinight's fees. - On 18 November 1269 an inspeimus and confirmtion of a charter of Ingram lord Fiennes, who had given to Michael son of Simon de Houton of Northampton the manor of Garton with the advowson of the church to hold by him and those heirs which are not religious men (CCHR V. 2).

In Ingelram's lifetime appear John de Fiennes, Henry de Fiennes in 1244-2 who made a fine of 20s with the King for not having to go to war in Wales (CPR).

At the petition in 1260 of Isabell, Ingelram's wife, Ralph de Lyveroun was made a knight (CCR). - 1261 sees Ingelram favoured by the King, who promises him 200 lbs out of the payment of the yearly tribute to the Pope (Liberate Rolls) - In 1262 the King orders Philip Basset, his justiciary, to give Engelram de Fiennes 200 marks out of the custody of the lands, which were of William de Beauchamp, deceased, during the minority of the heir (CCR), and 100 lbs out of the first issues of the lands and tenants late of the earl of Gloucester and Hertford (Liberate Rolls). In the same year he gets pardoned all his arrears in the exchequer and feudal services (CCR). - On 18 July 1262 he witnessese a charter by the Knights Hospitallers (Kts of Edw. I). - 1263 Ingelram de Fiennes was ordered to restore to Philip Marion all his lands in Surrey, Buckingham, Bedford, Northampton and Worcester (CCR) and was granted for his long service the land to a value of 200 marks yearly out of the lands late of William de Beauchamp of Bedford, namely the manors of Cerditon with the chace, Sheldesle and Haunes (CPR). Further 400 lbs came his way on the morrow of St. Hilary (Liberate R.) - In 1264 he captured John Mansel, the former Chancellor, who had flown to France, near Boulogne (Glouc. Rec. Soc.). - August 1265 grant to Ingelram de Fiennes, who has been faithful to the King and Edward his son during the war, that his lands shall be restored to his bailiff Robert Amberes to his use (CPR), which happened on 9 Aug. 1265. - 6 Dec. 1265 grant to Ingelram for his service to provide to him 200 lbs yearly of land of the first escheats that fall in (CPR). - On 5 May 1270 Ingelram and Isabel his wife grant the manor of Wendover to Robert Aguillon. Ingelram holds Cotes in Cambridge  and Lee in Buckingham on 2 Feb. 1272.

The sheriffs of Buckingham, Essex, Surrey and Somerset were ordered to find out, of which lands Ingeramus de Fennes died seised of properties in those counties (1269 - Rot. Selicti). - In 1270 the King orders Richard Clifford, escheator, to hand over to his beloved Queen Alianor all the lands and possessions of Ingelram de Fiennes, deceased, which he held in chief in custody for William de Fiennes, son and heir of Ingelram, till William comes to England and does homage (CCR).

Isabel, widow of Ingelram, died 1296 seised of the manor of Wendover, held in dower by knight's service of the King. Her heir is William Fiennes (CIPM V. 3). - She held also the manor of Kingshull, whose tenant was John le Brand for 5 marks annually. He had to to do suit to her court every three weeks and twice a year for view of Frankpledge at Wendovers with twelve of his tenants (Inquis. Misc. V. 1 p. 288). - On 21 Sept. 1291 the King had lent her the houses of Marlborough castle. -  Ingram's and Isabel's children were:

Maud, their daughter (1254-1321) cousin of Queen Eleanor, married Humphrey de Bohun, 7th earl of Hereford and Essex (1249-1298 at Plessy). - He was son of Humphrey de Bohun, earl of Hereford, captured at the battle of Evesham, imprisoned in Beeston castle where he died in 1264). He was married to Eleanor de Braose, daughter of William de Braose, lord of Brecknock and Eva Marshall, daughter of the earl of Pembroke. Maud and Humphrey's son Humphrey, their heir, died at the Battle of Boroghbridge on 16 March 1321 fighting the Despenser's, and lies buried at York. He was married to Elisabeth, daughter of. Edward I and widow of the earl of Holland. She died in childbed giving birth to her 10th child in 1316 (The Hist. of Bucks. by Lympscombe). - In 1275 Maud's brother Sir William pledged a part of his estate in Essex, probably Blakehall, to the Queen asking her to pay for him 1.000 lbs to Humphrey de Bohun (for her marriage portion) (VCH Essex, Ongar Hdd).

Robert, who was the founder of the Fiennes branch of the Lords of Heuchin. - He owned service to the King (see above).               

Reginald had power of attorney during his brother's William stay at crusade in the Holy land. Reynold de Fiennes received from the king annual fees of 20 lbs in 1236 and 1237 (Liberate Rolls). 1240 Liberate to Reynold de Fienes 20 lbs in advance for his yearly fee that he ought to receive at the exchequer at Michaelmas in the 24th year.

Walter had leave of Mertok manor Somerset for 6 years and served several times overseas 1282-85 (Knights of E I). - 1270 Walter de Fiennes leases to to Éleanor, wife of King Edward I the manor of Somerset for 6 years (CPR V. 6, p. 459).

William Fiennes, eldest son and heir, baron of Fiennes and Lord of Tingry, a minor at his father's death, was married to Blanche de Brienne, Dame de Louplande (1245-1302), who held also land in Maine, daughter of Jean d'Acre, grand butler of France, son of Jean de Brienne, King of Jerusalem, younger son of Erard II, Ct. of Brienne and his second wife Berengaria, daughter of Alfonso IX of Catile. He had become King of Jerusalem in 1210 by his first wife Marie de Montferrat, and Emperor of Constantinople in 1231. Jean d'Acre had an elder brother Alphonso who was married to Mary, daughter of Alice countess of EU and Raoul de Lusignan. Alphonse was count of EU in name of his wife.

John de Brienne, younger son of Erard II count of Brienne,  married to Marie de Montferrat, Queen of Jerusalem. He became King of Jerusalem in 1210 and Emperor of Constantinople in 1231 by his second wife Berengaria, daughter of Alonso IX of Castile. They had Alonso count of EU and Jean d'Acre Grand Butler of France, the father of Blanche, (Kts of E I).

William was educated with Prince Edward, later King Edward I, with whom he went to war in Scotland in 1260. - In 1240  William Marcy sued William for 60 a of land with appurtenances in Laufare. A duel was waged, after which William quitclaimed for 20 silver marks (ESSX FF V. 1, p. 139). - William in 1242-3 held a knight's fee and a half in Kersalton, Surrey, of Humphrey de Bohun, earl of Hereford (Testa Nevill V. 2). He held also the manor of Mertok in Somerset in chief as one knight's fee and held a market at Stoke in that county ( Plac. quo Waranto p. 694, reign of E I) - In 1263 William was to restore all his lands in Shropshire to Philip Marmion (CCR).- In 1270 he went to the Holy Land, having received protection for 5 years. He gave power of attorney to his brother Reginald during his absence (CCR). Therefore he had mortgaged the manor of Mertok, for which he paid feudal aid in 1284-5 (His tenants then were Richard de Boulogne, kt., Peter Fauconberg, Laurence de Henton, the abbot of Missenden). - In 1272 he sold the lordship of Loupland and land in Maine to Pierre de la Brosse, chamberlain of Philip le Hardi with the consent of his wife.

In 1277 William was summoned to military service against Llewelyn Prince of Wales, to muster at Worcester on 1 July (Mil. Writs)   On 21 March 1279 William was appointed of the custody of Ponthieu and of Abbeville in Normandy (CPR). - 1281 sees him with Edward at war in Wales, when he gives power of attorney to William Amesas (CPR). - In 1281-2 Robert, the bishop of Bath and Wells, sues William de Fiennes for three and a half knight's fees and rent in Lamburn, Fifhide, Rothing Beauchamp, Laufare, Hatfeld Regis, Bastenden and Cotes (Buckingham, Cambr. and Essex) and succeeds in his plea paying 120 silver marks (CCR). - In 1282 William was summoned for military service in Wales for holding land in Somerset, Essex and Buckingham (Mil. Writs).

In 1285 he is permitted to levy scutage of his knight's fees for the King's army in Wales as recompense for his service in that army. In that year he held Stoke in Somerset and had licence for a market there, but had to prove that the family had held that property in times not remembered (Abbrev. Plac.). - When war broke out with France he decided for his lands there, so that his possessions in England were seised. - 1286 William de Fiennes, son and heir of Ingelram de Fiennes, was to be quit of the arrears pardoned to his father (CCRH).  He was pardoned 5 scutages and other debts. - On 21 Sept. 1291 the King lent to his kinswoman Lady Fiennes the houses of Marlborough castle to live there (Kts of Edw. I). - 1292 the heir of Hugh de Courtenay with his lands in the value of 400 marks were committed to William (CIPM V. 3) - 1294 William owes to Hubert Doge and others, citizens and merchants of Florence, 359 marks to be levied in Somerset and Surrey (CCR). -  The same year he had protection for one year going beyond seas (CPR). - In 1294 William was summoned to military service in Gascogny, to muster at Portsmouth on 1 Sept.and in 1297 to appear in London on 7 July (Mil. Writs). - On June 1299 the King had granted to William de Fiennes all his lands in England which had been taken into his hands due to the war with France, and now also restores to him the wardships he had held of the lands of Hugh Courtney, a minor, and the land and heir of Baldwin de Benston with the marriage of the heir (CCR). - For the same reason Robert Burgersh, warden of the Cinque Ports, had to deliver to William the Liberty of those parts (CCR). 

The arms of William de Fiennes were AZ 3 lions rampant OR, which had been the arms of Ingelram the crusader who died at Acre (English Crusaders).

5 July 1302 William de Fiennes has died. His heir is John de Fiennes, aged 25. On 5th July of that year he has lands in Surrey, Dorset and Buckingham, and had livery in Somerset (CIPM). His father had further held land in Kent,  Northampton, Hertfordshire, Warwickshire, Cambridge and Lincoln.

William and Blanche had the following issue:

                - Margaret (d. 7 Feb. 1333) married Edmund Mortimer Earl of March. - Edmund was son of Roger de Mortimer and Maud de Braose, daughter of William de Braose Lord of Brecknock and Eva Marshall, son of Reginald de Braose and Gwladys, daughter of Prince Llewelyn of North Wales and Joan, natural daughter of King John, whom the pope had made legitimate.Edmund and Margaret had a son Roger, who married Joan, daughter of Peter de Geneville, lord of Trim in Ireland, descended of Maud de Braose, daughter of another William de Braose, and Walter de Lacy. - Roger was created Earl of March on 9 Nov. 1328. It was him who had been put into the Tower by Edward III having had an affair with Queen Isabel of France, Queen of Edward II. - He was executed and attainted in Nov. 1330. - The youngest daughter of Roger, Beatrix, married first Edmund, son of Thomas Plantagenet, earl of Norfolk, and secondly Thomas de Braose, son of William de Braose of Sussex and Gower and his third wife Mary de Ros.

                - Joan married John de Wake, 1st Lord Wake. She is mother of the 'Fair Maid of Kent', wife of Edmund the Black Prince, and grandmother of the later King Richard III, who was deposed in 1399 and died unhappily in the castle where he was confined.by his usurping cousin Henry, Duke of York, the new king Henry IV.

                 - Isabel married William de Mortaigne in France (Dict. de la Noblesse)

                 - Yolanda Dame de Huquelières d. 1323 (Dict. de la Noblesse)

                - Reginald had on 26 Nov. 1323 a special commission of oyer and terminer had been given at the demand of Adomarus de Valence, earl of Pembroke, to judge the persons who had entered his park at Brabourn, Kent. Some of the persons were Waresius de Valence, Henry de Valence and Thomas his brother, John de Dene, Geoffrey atte Kechener and Reginald de Fiennes and others (Parliam. Writs V. 2, p. 363).

                 - Gilbert inherited the lands in Sussex (see below

                 - Robert, son of William, uncle of Robert de Fiennes of France above, was seized in his demesne as of fee of the manor of Wendover with appurtenances.- Robert had on 26. Dec. 1309  licence to enter Wendover manor as brother of John paying 20 lbs (Kts of K. Edw. I, pp. 21-2). -The King in 1316 had given order to the sheriff of Buckingham to deliver to the King's kinsman, Robert de Fiennes, the manor of Wendover, renouncing the lease of the manor by Robert to the King for 10 years in 1314 (CPR). - On first April 1316 order was issued to revoke the grant of Wendover to Robert and to take the manor again into the King's hand (CFR). - On 25 August 1316 Robert was appointed seneschall and keeper of the land and county of Ponthieu and Montreuil as attorney of the King and Queen Isabella, holding this office until 15 Aug. 1320. In 1322 Robert was stil under 60 and fit for service. On 19 Nov. 1323 Wendover was confiscated because he had sheltered Roger Mortimer in France (CFR V. 2 p. 245). The next day the manor was committed to Reynold de Hardpyry with the task to anwer for all items to the exchequer.  On 16 Nov. 1324 The barons of the exchequer had order to take security of John de Say, Reynold de Wendover and William Benet who have the cxustody of the lands of John de Fiennes who is in his lands in France (CFR).   

Robert ad been in the King's service in 1314 and in 1328 receiving for arrears out of Buckingham  of 110 marks yearly from his time as sheriff. He was still remunerated for his services to the King in 1347. He had been beyond seas in the service of the King in 1336, when the sheriff of Buckingham was ordered to give him respite (CCR). - Wendover, which had been committed on 2y July 1337 to Hugh Berwick, because Robert was an alien, was still in the King's hand in 1347 (CFR). -  Robert was living in 1347. He had the illigitimate children, William and Catherine.On 20 January 1345 the sheriff of Buckinghaams. had order to pay to Thomas Dagworth and his wife Eleanor countess of Ormond a rent of 80 lbs out of the 110 lbs granted to them by Edward Prince of Wales, which had been of Robert de Fiennes before his forfeiture, out of his town of Aylesbury (CCR p. 508).

                - John the heir, Baron de Fiennes and de Tingry, married Isabella, 7th daughter of Guy de Dampierre, earl of Flandres and Isabel de Luxembourg. She died 1323. - Sir John Fynes had the arms AR a lion rampant SA (Heraldry of Edw. II and Dering), AR a lion rampant regardant SA (Camden) and sealed a lion rampant crowned (Birch).

John and Isabella had gone to France during the war, where their son was born, who later had difficulties in succeeding his father in England. They lived at St. Omer. In France he was elected chief of the nobles of Artois to make war on the Countess Maud. He was taken prisoner with the count of Flandres and confined with him in the Louvres 1322 (Dict. de la Noblesse). - John was summoned from Berkkshire in 1297 to perform military service in person with horses and arms beyond sea. He had to muster at London on 7 July. The same in 1306 to appear in the exchequer and  muster at Carlisle in person on 8 July to go to war against the Scots (Mil. Writs). - In 1302-3 he and his tenants held one military fee in Wendover (Feudal Aids). - In 1306 he owed with two others 300 marks to merchants of Lucca to be levied of their holdings in Somerset, Buckingham and Rutland (CCR). - He enfeoffs his brother Robert with Wendover manor on 26 Dec.1309 and holds land in Northampton in 1315. John  held Mertok in Somerset with the adjacent villages in 1303 and 1316 (Feudal Aids). - In 1328 the sheriff of Buckingham, John de la Launde, was obliged to deliver to John de Fiennes all the issue from his lands during the time of his custody (CFR). On 2 Feb. 1329 The barons of the exchequer to get from John de la Launde the issues of John's lands and to make sure that he has paid them to John as ordered on July 3 (CFR).  Those lands had been taken into the King's hands, because John had been born in France, and Simon de Bereford, escheator beyond Trent, was ordered not to distrain John de Fiennes for his homage to the King, who had given him respite (CCR). - In 1314 the sheriff of Somerset was ordered to let John have seisin of two parts of a messuage, land and rent in Mertok, which were held of him by the outlawed William de Mertok (CCR). - One year later John held two knight's fees, also documented in 1303 and 1306, which William de Fiennes had had in 1300 (CCR) - In 1317 he held the manor of Gayton in Northampton (CIPM V. 6).

On May 26 of that year the King gives orders to the community of St. Omer and Calais and their mayors to recompense John de Fiennes, his kinsman, for the damage done to his properties there. - The King in 1318 requests John de Fiennes to support W. bishop of Exeter, Humphrey de Bohun, earl of Hereford and Essex, constable of England, and the King's clerk, M. John Walewayn, in their attempt to make peace with the count of Hainault (CCR). - In 1321 John had trouble having asked his ministers in Gynes to retain a load of wool sent from England to St. Omer. The King orderd him to recompense the sender (CCR). - In 1322 John finally got hold off the remaining third of the manor of Gayton, which Juliane Murdok had held in dower (CCR). - 1323 The King expresses his astonishment, that John de Fiennes is maintaining Roger de Mortimer of Wigmore (his sister's father in law), who had escaped of the Tower, and other rebels in his lordship of Picardy, at the same time holding land in England (CCR). - On 3 July 1327 John's properties were finally restored to him in England (CFR). - On 20 March 1337 the sheriff of Northampton has mandate to deliver to John de Fiennes a third of the manor of Gayton (CFR). But on 27 July of that year Richard Pyk was committed to keep the lands of John de Fiennes, an alien (CFR). - About 1339 John de Fiennes had forfeited his manor of Martok in Somerset, which the king gave to William de Montacute, earl of Salisbury and Marshall of England on 6 March 1339. The day before themanor of Wendover hadd been granted to John de Molyns (CCHR V. 4).

At some time John was a commissioner of the King of France to meddle between Calais and the Cinque Ports. At another time he was involved in severe treaties of the the English king with Flanders and France. John had been born in France where his title was Baron of Fiennes and Tingry which territories constituted parts of Guines. He held also land in Befordshire and Northampton (Knights of E I). - On 4 May 1347 The King had granted to John de Molyns the third part of the manor of Gayton for forfeiture, which belonged to John de Fiennes (CCR).

                        - Their daughter Jeanne married on 1 Dec. 1319 Jean de Châtillon, count of St. Pol, son of Guy, Great Boteler of France, and Marie de Bretagne. Her second marriage was with Jean de Mortaigne in 1344.                

                  - Their son Robert, (d. c. 1370), Baron of Fiennes, Châtelaine de Bourbourg, Lord of Tingry.

On Oct.1364 Robert de Fiennes of France petitions the King, saying that Robert de Fiennes, son of William, deceased, his uncle, was seized of Wendover at his death and that according to the treaty of peace between France and England this manor should be delivered to him as next heir (CFR). In that year he had become Grand Constable of France (CCR). -Robert the King's yeoman claimed Wendover in 1364. - In 1365 Gillian, late the wife of John de Molyns, petitioned King and Parliament for the manor of Wendover, which her husband had been granted by the king, as Robert's father during the war with France had left England and had gone to his possessions in France, where Robert had been born. The King decided against her claim and gave Robert the manor, having sworn during the peace negotiations to restore all the properties to the French, who had held property in England before the war ('Select Cases' before the King and Council). - In 1371 William Wykeham, bishop of Winchester, surrendered the manor of Wendover to the King which he had recently acquired from Robert de Fiennes (CCR).

Robert's carreer in France began with his service to King Philip de Valois, which service extended to the Kings John and Charles. On 8 Oct. 1347 he was installed as Captain of St. Omer with 60 men at arms, 8 knights and 52 esquires. 1358 he was Regent of the Picardy. 1359 he took during the war the castle of St. Valery and other fortresses. His office of Grand Constable he gave over to Bertan de Guescelin in Sept. 1370,  the great opponent of Robert Knollys in the wars of France (Dict.).

Robert died SP. He married twice: (1) Beatrix, Dame de Gavre, comtesse die Fauquemberg, Châtelaine de St. Omer and (2) to Marguerite de Meulan, widow of Miles de Noyers, count of Joigny, and daughter of the count de Meulan, count of Tancarville and Jeanne de CRISPIN, Dame de Warenbec, d`Etrepagny and Naufle.

Egidio (Gilbert or Giles) de Fynes (d. 1331), younger son of Ingelram, was married to Sibil, daughter and heir of William Filiol of Oldcourt in Sussex and Cecilia, sister of Aymer de Chanceux. - The arms of Giles were AZ 3 lioncels , rampant OR, 2 and 1, a lable of 3 GU (Henry VI Roll and Parliamentary).

Like William, on 13 July 1270 Gilbert had licence and protection to go on crusade to the Holy land with Prince Edward. He constituted Emeric de Chanceux and Stephen de la Louvaine as his attorneys (CCR). - 2 Nov. 1278 Giles receives a grant of the custody of the heir of John Blund during his minority, tenant in chief, with his lands and his marriage (CPR). - At about the same time he had a grant of the wardship of lands at East Mersey, Essex, late of John de Ripariis (29 Dec. 1277-8), namely Foteswick in Wantage manor, Berkshire. Between 1280 and 1283 he witnesses several charters by Queen Eleanor. -On 8 November 1280Sir John de Insula, Sir Andrew Sackville, Sir Giles de Fiennes witnessed a grant by Eleanor to Sir John Weston and his wife Christina of the manor of Middleton in the Isle of Wight. (CCHR V. 2). This showes his conections in Sussex and further off. - He witnessed another chaarter of the Queen to Richard de Burgh in Ulster and his wife Margaret. This charter is dated 2 July 1283 at Conway, witnessed also by Thomas de Normanville., when King Edward I was at war with the Welsh. It showes also that Gilbert was there as well (CCHR V. 2). - On 11 Aug. 1283 his swans at Wartling, Sussex, were stolen, certainly because he was not there.

1284 he had a plea against Ralph de Gevington and Cecily his wife regarding a messuage and land in Wartling, which he conceded them for life, with reversion to him (SSX FF). - 1289 William de Gryselyn sued Gilbert and Sibilla his wife for a free tenement in Pevensey, which Queen Alianor had given them (Abbrev. Plac. p. 218). - On 5 May 1290 he received free warren in his demesnes at Old Court and Mersham (Knights of King Edw. I & CCHR V. 2)). This was Mersham in Guestling Hundred. - In 1296 Gilbert was enrolled for the defence of the coast in the Rape of Hastings, Sussex and in the same year to perform in person military service in Scotland for holding land in Nottingham and Derby. Muster at Nottingham on 7 July. In 1301 he had to muster at Berwick-upon Tweed on 24 July for military service against the Scots, holding land in in Bedfordshire and Buckinghamshire (Mil. Writs). - Giles de Fenes and Sybil his wife in 1314 sued William de Echingham for the manor of Oldcourt. They were allowed to hold it for life with reversion to William and his heirs rendering a rose yearly (SSX FF). - 1300-1327 Giles was summoned to war (Mil. Writs). - 1340 Nicholas de la Beche and Joan his wife sued William de Echingham for the manor of Old Court, which Sibil de Fiennes holds for life. Reversion to Nicholas and Joan and heirs of their bodies (SSX FF). - Gilbert had held further land in Nottinghamshire, Derby, Bedfordshire und Buckinghamshire.(Knights of E I ).

Gilbert and Sibil had

                  -  Eleanor who married Richard FitzRichard de Vernon. - 1294 Grant for life to Richard Vernon of the manor of Routhclive with remainder to Richard his son and heir and Eleanor, daughter of Giles de Fiennes, his wife (CPR).- The Vernon family came from Normandy to England with the Conqueror and were awarded land also by king Henry I. William de Vernon was married to Emma, daughter of Osborn Fitz Herfast and Emma, eldest daughter of Ralf count of Bayeux of whom they received the large territory of Breteuil with appurtenances.in the 11th C. That is why a member of that family inherited the Isle of Wight which had been of Willism fitz Osborn by gift of the Conqueror, as well as holdings in Wiltshire and Devon where they became earls.

                  -  John who married Joan Jordaine, sister of Reginald, the forester of Windsor. They received livery of her lands on 2 June 1297.

 On 16 Feb. 1306 he held land in Somerset, Bucks., Rutland, Oxfords., Berks. Dorset and Gayton in Northampton.. In 1315 he has scutage for his good services in Oxfords., Berks. and Dorset and was overlord of Gayton in Northamptons. (Kts of K. Edw. I & Cal. of Scutage, Rolls). - He was lord of Mertok manor in Somerset and as such in 1327 granted the advowson of the church of Gayton and the reversion of a moiety of that manor to William Trussel (Inq. Misc.)  John had held Hurstmonceaux for life as gift from Thomas de Fiennes, for which he paid 6s 8d subsidies In 1332. John Monceaux in 1296 had paid 1 lbs 4s 10 1/4d. - In 1332 John held the manor of Hardinton in Somerset (CCR). - The manor of Wolvele in Whytewalham was held of Richard de Windsor. John is his heir in tail (CIPM).

On 2 July 1294 Joan, wife of John de Fiennes, had livery of her lands. She had protection to go oversea with the countess of Holland on 16 Aug. 1297 (Kts. of K. Edw. I). - Joan on 24 July 1330 owes 100 lbs to Nicholas de la Beche, kt, to be levied of her lands in Berkshire (CCR). Joan died 1339 seised of La Twychene, lying in the forest of Windsor in Berkshire, probably as heiress of her brother, and land in Lynham and Afcote in Oxfordshire. She  was secondly married to Adam de Shareshull.  Her son John, aged 36 and more is her heir (CIPM).

                          - John ( b. 1303 d. 1353) - John had the same arms as Gilbert de Fiennes, but with a label AR.   

1332 John Fienes paid 6s 8d subsidies for Herstmonceaux, having married Maud de Monceaux, sister and heiress of John Monceaux, the last male of the family, whom she had succeeded about 1331. This family is first mentioned in Domesday Book in 1086, when a certain Wibert held the manor of Herst as 5 hides. Maud is a descendant of Ralph de Monceaux, who lived in 1131 (PR) and was married to Edith, daughter of William de Warenne and Gundreda (SAC V. IV, p. 131). Ca. 1180 Idonea de Herst, in 1158-9 called Idonea de Monceaux (CPR), was married to Guy de Mortimer. She was living in 1202 (Robertsbridge CH). Her son Waleran de Herst or Monceaux, died before 1217, documented 1210-12. He is followed by William de Monceaux, constable of Pevensey Castle, then by Waleran and three Johns (VCH). 

John became constable of Dover castle, holding the manor of Horne or Kenardington as part of the lands he had received for the defence of the castle, for which he had to maintain a small army. - In 1332 John, son of John de Fiennes of Abbot's Waltham, owes 40 lbs to Thomas Blaynfront, kt. to be levied in Berkshire. He also owed 24 marks to Nicholas Crane of London. - John de Fienes, son of Joan de Fiennes, owes to Thomas Bonet, citizen of London, 8 lbs 9s 4d (CCR).- Maud de Ferrers sues John de Fiennes and Maud his wife for the manors of Compton Monceaux in Hampshire and Ashhall in Essex. The plaintiffs to hold for life of the deforceants and the heirs of Maud for 100 marks (Essx FF, V. 3, p. 27). - 1337 Maud de Ferrers, wife of John de Insula, had died, holding for life the manor of Compton Monceaux, Hampshire, of John de Fiennes and Maud his wife, with reversion to John and Maud de Fiennes.

In 1337 consequently John and Maud sued Thomas Fiennes for the manors of Ashhall in Essex and Compton Monceaux in Hampshire and the advowson of the church of Hurstmonceauxh in Sussex. The properties went to John and Maud, contingent remainders successively to John son of John, William and Robert his brothers, Joan his sister and heirs of their bodies or right heirs of John de Fiennes (SSX FF).

The muster Roll for the Rape of Hastings of 1339-40 showes that SirJohn Fenys had to procure one man at arms for holding 20 s of land in Horstmonceaux (Coll. Topotr. & Geneal. p. 18, V. 7). - 1341 Commission to survey dykes to John Fenys and others in Sussex, and in 1342 the same with John Paulyn, William de Wyghtersham and others between Knellesflote and Robertsbridge (CPR). - 10 October 1343 John de Fiennes, kt. and others witnessed an enrollment of a charter b William de Montacute earl of Salisbury, and  on 13 August next year he acknowledged that he owes to William de Edington, clerk, 200 marks to be levied of his lands and chattels in Sussex (CCR). - 1345 Sir John de Fiennes, kt., witnesses a deed by William Jurdan of Braye to Isabel, wife of Hugh de Berwyk (CCR). - In 1346 John de Fiennes sued Margaret, widow of Nicholas de la Beche, for the manor of Oldcourt, which Aimer de Chanceaux had given to William Filliol in marriage with Cecily, his sister (Pedigrees of Plea Rolls p. 53)..- On 20 August 1349 Sir John de Fiennes, kt., Hugh de Normanville and others sighned an enrollment of a grant by Mohn son of John Brocas, kt., to Hugh de Berwick and his wife Isabel. - 15 July 1352 John de Fiennes is appointed deputy escheator in Southampton (CFR).

Maud was the last heiress of a long row of ancestors. The family of Moncheaux-Soreng, near Neufchâtel in Normandy (Lloyd). In 1057-9 Robert Monceaux witnessed a charter by Ralph son of Ralph de Grandcourt near EU. Several other families from places near Naufchâtel, the old Drincourt, had settled in the Rape of Hastings in Sussex under the earls of EU. Drew de Monceaux who was married to Edith, daughter of the earl of Warenne and Gundred, daughter of the Conqueror, went to the first crusade in Palestine (1097-99). Ralph de Moncellis pays 20 s at Bosham in 1130 (PR). Idonea de Herst of Sussex and Kent, the heiress of Herst appears in the Pipe rolls also as Idonea de Monceaux. She was married to Ingram de Monceaux, second son of Alan de Monceaux of Yorkshire. Between 1147 and 54 they witnessed a charter by the earl of Albermarle, of whom Inram held one fee in 1166  (Early Yorksh. CH). Idonea was living in 1201(PR) as last heiress of Wibert who had held Herst in Sussex in 1086 (DB). Ingram was dead by 1205 when she married Guy de Mortimer. - Idonea's and Ingrams' son was Waleran, his son William d. 1243 - Waleran d. 1278 (CIPM), John d. 5 July 1302 - John (d. 1306) was married to Olympia (SSX FF) and John living 1328 (CCR) - Maud the heiress, who with her husband John de Fiennes paid subsidies in Sussex 1332. - The Herst of 1086 was called Herstmonceax after Idonea's marriage to Ingram de Monceaux.

Maud died on 5 April 1351, holding Herstmonceaux manor in Sussex of the barony of Hastings, the bailiwick forestership of Twychene held of the castle of Windsor, land in Cokham and Wolvele, the manor in Whytewaltham, Berkshire (CIPM). 

The escheators of Essex, Surrey and Sussex, Oxford, Berkshire and Southampton are to take into the King's hand the lands late of John de Fienles in 1353. -  On 12 June 1353 an inquisition by the escheator of Berkshire showed that John de Fyenles held in chief of Queen Philippa in his demesne as of fee on the day of his death the bailiwick of the forestership of Twychene and Cotham in Berkshire by service of 10s to be paid yearly at Windsor castle, and other lands. William is his son and heir. (CCR)

                                             - Robert was tax collector with others in Sussex on 1 Oct. 1393 (CFR).

                                             - Joan married to Guy de Brian - In 1344 Sir John Fynes, kt., witnesses a grant by Guy de Brian and Joan his wife to Alexander Sackville.

                       - John d. 24 March 1375 a minor, but married to Joan (d. 1381-2). At his death he held Lynham, Ascote manors in Oxfords., Ashall in Essex, Hurstmonceaux, Oldcourt, Laughton, Burgersh, Wertling manors in Sussex, Compton Monceaux and other manors in Hampshire, the forestership in Twychene bailiwick, Windsor, Wolvell manor, land in Witewaltham and Cokham in Berkshire. (CIPM): His heir was his brother                                      

                                 - William (d. 1360) was married to Joan de Say, one of the four heiresses of Geoffrey de Say (d. 1359). Geoffrey and Idonea his wife hat sued Walter de Legham and Martin Archambaud for the manor of Hammes by Lews which they received (SSX FF). - In 1353 John de Alveton, escheator in Berkshire, had order to cause William, son of John de Fyenles, to have seisin of the bailiwick of the forestership of Twychene, see above, and that William, John's son and heir, is of  full age (CCR). - In 1350 William was lord of Northiam in Sussex (Hist. of SSX by Lower) and therefore a neighbohur of the Knelle family.- The Say family was a very old one. William de Say d.1192. His son Geoffrey married Alice de Marminot, sister of Walkelin, who was great grandson of Gilbert Marminot, who held Cowdham manor under Odo, bishop of Bayeux and earl of Kent, of the Conqueror.

18 April 1360 order to the escheators of Sussex, Oxford, Berkshire, Southampton and Essex to take into the king's hand the lands late of William de Feynles (CPR). The inquisition on 3 June at Compton Mornceaux, Hampshire showes that Williama de Fiennes, kt., died beyond sea on 2 Dec. 1359-60. His son and heir John is aged 4 years or more (CIPM V. 10). William died seised of Compton Monceaux and Shirefeld manors in Hampshire, Lynham and Ascote manor in Oxfordshire, the bailiwick of Twychene in the forest of Windsor, Wivele manor, Whitewaltham, Cokeham manor in Berkshire, Hurstmonceaux with the advowsom of the church, Oldcourt and Laughton manors in Sussex. He held also the fees of Northiam and Ewherst in Lordingstrete (CIPM). - William's heir is a minor and in the ward of Queen Philippa (CCR). In Sussex the manor of Herstmonceaux was alienated to William de Batesford 6 years before his death, the manor of Oldcourt and diverse lands of others, Ewhurst and Northiam , tenants named. The king granted custody of the lands to queen Philippa. 

On 10 July 1360 Joan, who was wife of William de Fyenles, tenant in chief, had to take an oath that she would not marry again without the king's licence. William de Hatton, the escheator, to assign her dower of the lands of her late husband in Sussex, in presence of John de la Lee, steward of the lands of Queen Philippa, to whom the King has committed the wardship of those lands until the lawful age of William's heir (CCR). She received Compton Monceaux and land and tenements in Hampshire (CIPM). She held one third of Herstmonceaux in dower, two thirds were granted to Queen Philippa during the minority of the heir (VCH).  - Joan married secondly Stephen de Valence. She died in May 1378. The writ dates of 22 September. She held manors of the inheritance of her son John for his life: Lynham and Ascot in Oxfords., the manor of Wolfele, and  Twycham in Berkshire, In Essex of Stephen de Valence, deceased before her, the manor of Ashhall in Aungre, in Sussex one third of Herstmonceaux with the tenants named, in Compton Monceaux, a third part in dower. Her heir is William de Monceaux aged 21 (CIPM).

Joan married secondly Stephen de Valence, who had a grant to farm Herstmonceaux (VCH). A document dated 21 June 1370 confirms that Joan was still living, late the wife of William Fienlys, now deceased, whom Stephen de Valence has taken to wife. This document also reveals that the escheator of Oxfordshire, John Froille, had order to deliver to Stephen de Valence and Joan his wife the manors of Escote and Lynham to hold during her life. Those manors had been enfeoffed to Adam de Shareshill by William, who now had died. (CCR). - She seems to have died about. 1381-2.

                                                              - William Fynes (b. 1 Aug. 1357, d. 18 Jan. 1402), son and heir of Hurstmonceaux, was a minor in the king's ward in 1363 (CFR). The next year the sheriff of Buckingham had mandate to seize into the king's hand the manor of Wendover, which Robert de Fiennes of France, son of William, his uncle, had held (CFR V. 16). - In 1364 John Dymock held at his death a messuage and land in Diching of the heir of William de Fiennes, a minor in the King's ward, of the manor of Hurstmonceaux (CIPM V. 11). - William proved his age on 6 Dec. 1378, born on 1 Aug. 1357, and baptised in the church of Herstmonceaux (Proof of age of SSX Fam.). He was married ca.1380 to Elizabeth Batesford (VCH), daughter of Sir William Batesford, justice. She was living 1398-9 and died c. 1405-6. As stated before, William Batesford held Herstmonceaux, probably during the time William was a minor, so that was the reason that his daughter and William got to know each other. - By a fine of 200 marks, made with the King on 4 Dec. 1378, payable in four years, William de Fiennes, kt., tenant in chief, had received licence to marry whom he will of the King's fealty (CFR).

In 1382 William, brother and heir of John de Fienles, kt., was fined for entering on lands without licence, which Joan his mother held for life (CPR). That same year he petitions to be installed into the inheritance of his deceased brother (TNA SC 8/222/11064). - After the death of Sir William de Brian, Sir William Fynes obtained the manors of Seale and Otford in Kent (England's Topogr. V.4). - William de Fienles, sheriff of Sussex, and others were appointed by the King in 1399 to besiege Bodiham castle (SAC V. 18). In that year he was made a Knight Bachelor on 30 Sept. (Knights of Engld.). - In 1402 he, Robert Oxenbridge and others were sent to overlook ditches, sewers, bridges in the marsh of Pevensey between Bexhill and Beachy Head (SAC V. 18).

22 Jan. 1402 Order to take into the King's hand the lands late of William de Fiennes, kt., tenant in chief in Oxford, Berkshire, Southampton, Essex and Sussex (CFR). Sir William has a brass in the chancel of the church of Herstmonceaux, where he lies buried (The Beauties & Ant. of SSX). - His  arms were AZ, three lions rampant OR -  The arms of the Fiennes in 1275 were AR, a lion rampant SA.

 William and Elizabeth had the following sons: 

                                         º Roger, kt. (b. 1381, d. 18 Nov. 1449) married Elizabeth Holland, sister of Sir John of Northampton (her arms.were AZ semée de fleurs de lis). - Roger, son of Elizabeth Batesford and William Fiennes, son of William and Joan de Say, was baptised on 14 Sept. 1381 in Herstmonceaux (SAC V. 12). - 27 July 1405 Commitment to John Pelham, kt., of the keeping of all the manors and lands late of William Heron, kt., lord Say, to hold until the full age of Roger, the son and heir of William de Fenys, kt., a minor in the king's ward. Those properties lay in Kent, Sussex, Hertford, Essex and Norfolk (CFR). [William Heron was the second husband of Elizabeth de Say, daughter of Beatrice de Braose, who had died without issue in 1399. Her husband died 5 years later. Thus her husband's sisters or their descendants inherited. The third of the four sister had been Joan, who had married William de Fiennes, Rogers grand father]. - In 1407 inquests were held in Lewes and East Greensted where Roger proved is age (TNA C 131/64/88 and CIPM).

1411 Licence for 20 marks for Roger Fiennes, esq, to enfeoff John Pelham, kt, Robert Oxenbrigge and others of his manors of Burgham and Woodham, Kent, and the bailiwick of Twychene in the forest of Windsor, held in chief (SSX FF). - In 1412 Roger had lands and rents in Compton in Hampshire and paid 20 marks Feudal Aids. - He had served at Agincourt in 1415 with 7 men at arms and 24 archers and came back as a heroe. They had captured two French prisoners, of whose ransom 55 lbs were transferred to the King (SAC V. 15). - 1418 Protection for Roger Fenys, kt., to move around Normandy in the King's service. One year later the king gives him for his good services all the possessions and appurtenances in the bailiwick of Caux, which had belonged to Laurence de St. Beulve. - He received a letter of patent for the bailiwick of Caux in Normandy in 1419. In 1420 the king appoints him captain of the castle of Piercourt (Mém. de la Soc.des Anti. de Normandy, V.3) - In 1423 Roger was appointed mayor of Bordeaux in Aquitaine (Proceedings of the Privy Council). - 1424 commission to Roger Fenys, Thomas Lewknor, knights, Robert Oxenbrugge and others to enquire by oath in Sussex into concealed lands, escheats, marriages etc (CPR). - On 16 May 1425 Hamon Belknap had mandate to take musters at Dover to array Roger Fenys and others. On 20 May Ralph Boteler and others had order to muster at Calais, the captains to proceed to France with their men. Roger Fenys, kt., had to be there with 30 men at arms and 90 archers (CPR). - 1425 Ralph de Boteler, kt., and others had to take the musters of captains at Calais: Roger de Fynes, kt., with 30 men at arms and 90 archers (CPR p. 302).

In 1417-8 Roger bought a quarter of wheat and two horses from the Abbey of Robertsbridge (SAC V. 8). - In 1422 Roger sued Thomas Hoo, esq. for land and wood in Wartling and won the case. - In 1428 Roger Fenys, kt., Thomas Lewknor, Richard Dallingridge, Thomas de Ashburnham witness an inquisition of military fees of the Rape of Hastings (Dawson, Hist. of Hast. p. 251). -1428 Roger holds the manor of Wolfle in Cambridge, which John de Fenys once held in Waltham. He and his tenants had two and a half fees in Herstmonceaux. Under his tenants are Robert Oxenbregge, Thomas Sackville and John Fyens (Feudal Aids and Inq. & Ass.). - In that year John de Hoo, son of William de Hoo, kt., uncle of Thomas Hoo, quitclaimed to Roger Fenys, kt., land in Worthing, which Roger had acquired from Thomas, son of Thomas de Hoo, kt., brother of John (CCR). - Robert Bonwell and John Bache in 1430 demised to Roger Fiennes, kt., the manors of Oldcourt and Batysford (once of William de Batelesford, his grandfather), and land in Wartlyng, which he purchased of Thomas Hoo (CCR). - That year William Cheyney, the King's justice, Robert Oxenbregge, Vincent, William and John Fynch and others quitclaimed to Roger the manors of Herstmonceaux, Oldcourt, Batysford and all the lands they had in the parishes of Herstmonceaux, Wertling, Dalyngton, Pevensey, Westhamme, Monkesey, Horseye and Hailsham. The manors of Strely, one third of Froydevill in Kent, Compton Monceaux in Southampton, Asshalle in Essex, Wolfle in Berkshire and the reversion of Ascote in Oxfordshire, held by James, Roger's uncle, for life (CCR). The Memorandum of acknowledgement was made before William Prestwyke of the King's free chapel of Hastings, witnessed by Humphrey Duke of Gloucester, Guardian of England. Roger afterwards granted all those properties to the persons, who had quitclaimed them to him (CCR). In 1432 John Clynton, Lord Clynton, and Roger Fenys exchange parts of their inheritance from Elizabeth Say, formerly wife of William Heron (CCR). 

On 3 November Roger de Fiennes, kt. was appointed sheriff of Surrey and Sussex (CFR. - On 12 Noember he had order to hand the counties of Surrey and Sussex on to sheriff John Penyngton (CFR). - John Colbrand, cousin and heir of John Pelham, kt., in 1435 quitclaimed to Roger all services due to the manor of Herstmonceaux, homage and fealty etc., held of John Pelham (CCR). The next year Roger Fenys, Thomas Lewknor and others witness a gift of jewels, movables and immovables, chattels by Reynold West, Lord de la Warr to Richard West, his son (CCR). - On 16 July 1436 Roger received cusstody for 3 years of the manors of Preston and Hoo in Sussex, which are in the king's hand by the death of John, Duke of Bedford. Those manors were granted to him for life on 14 Jan. 1440 - In 1439 the Hundred of Foxearl was conveyed to Sir Roger Fiennes and his son Richard by John Pelham, kt., except Wartling and Bucksteep (Collin's Peerage)- Another order of array were issued to John earl of Huntingdon, Henry earl of Northumberland, Roger Fiennes, Thomas Lewknor, Richard Dalyngygge, Thomas Echingham and others in Surrey and Sussex (CPR) - The year 1441 favoured him with a licence to crenellate Herstmonceaux, erect battlemens and towers and enclose it. - This was probably a favour as he had been at the Battle of Agincourt with the king, who had made him also Treasurer of his household afterwards. - In 1436 Roger Fenys, kt. sued William Hall and Elizabeth, his wife, for lands and rents in Westdene and other places, according to a fine levied by John Fillol and Matilda, his wife in 1326 (Pedigrees from the Plea Rolls p. 354). - John Pelham in 1438 confirms and quitclaims to Roger Fenys his estate in the Hundred of Foxearl and the homage, suit of court etc., for which Roger holds from him the manor of Herstmonceaux, except fealty (CCR). - On 11 April of that year Roger Fenys, kt., receives pardon for all offences and outlawries committed before last first October, as well as exemption for life being put on assizes or other offices. (The names are spelt Fenys alias Fenes, Feneles, Fyneles and Fynes).

In 1440 he was one of the tax collectors in Sussex (CFR V. 16) and invited to attend Parliament. - Roger and John Sherwyn received that year a grant in survivorship of the keeping of the castle and town of Porchestre with the forest and warren (CPR). Further grant for life to Roger Fenys, kt., treasurer of the household of king Henry VI, of the manors of Hoo and Preston in Sussex at a yearly rent of 28 lbs 16s 4d. Ralph Botiller, kt., Roger Fenys, kt., and others had to enquire into wool, secretly exported without payment of customs or other dues (CPR). - 1441 as treasurer of the household, he had to muster with Richard Dalyyngrugge and others all men at arms and archers, which Richard Duke of York wants to send to France (CPR). - On Feb. 5, 1441 he received a license to crenellate, entower, embattle and make a wall in his manor of Hurstmonceaux. This work cost him 3.800 lbs. In the chapel  many members of the family are buried. Their coats of arms could be seen there. - In 1446 John, son of John Chitecroft, quitclaims to Roger Fenys and others the manor of Levesham and all his lands etc. in Rye, Hastings, Winchelsea, Fairlight, Fairfield and elsewhere. - In 1448 the heirs of Elizabeth Fiennes, Joan Brenchesle, Alice Echingham, daughters of Sir William de Batesford, and those of the Dallingridge family: Ralph Botiller, James, Fenys, Thomas Hoo, Roger Fenys , Thomas Lewknor, Thomas Criol, knights, Thomas Echingham, Roger Lewknor, Richard Fenys, another Thomas Lewknor, Richard Bruyn, Richard Lewknor esquires, Edmund Mille and Bartholomew Bolne, sue John Lewknor esq., and his wife Joan for manors in Norfolk, Kent and Wiltshire which are right of Thomas Hoo, esq. by gift of deforciant. The Norfolk manors are held of the King., 1000 marks for the manors held in chief by king's order (Wilts. FF). - Sir Roger Fenys of Herstmonceaux was witness to a will  dated 29 Oct. 1449 (Transcript of Sussex Wills), the year he himself died.

Roger and Elizabeth had a daughter

                                                 - Margaret married Nicholas Carew (d. 1458), second but surviving son of Nicholas Carew (d. 1432, sheriff of Surrey several times and MP in several Parliaments. He was son of Nicholas de Cartew, knight of the shire for Surrey, and 1372 Keeper of the Privy Seal under Edward II and one of the executors of the king's will. He died 1391 seized of the manors of Home-Beddington and Huscarls in Surrey and others in further counties. Bedington in Surrey was the seat of the family, which Nicholas, his grandson, also inherited.

                                                                                                          - Nicholas (d.1466 ), who had an only son, a minor (dsp), whose heir was Richard, son of his uncle James.

                                                           - James was married to Eleanor, daughter of Thomas Hoo, first lord Hoo and Hastings, by his second wife Eleanor de Welles, daughter of Lionel Lord Welles. They had

                                                                                                                           - Richard (d.1520), knight and banneret at the Battle of Blackheath in 1497, sheriff of Surrey in 1501, Lieutenant of Calais in the reigns of Henry VII and VIII. His son

                                                                                                                                  - Nicholas was married to Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Thomas Brian, kt., in service of Queen Mary in 1523. Nicholas was also lieutenant of Calais and favourite gentleman of the chamber of Henry VIII, master of the Horse and knight of the Garter. But having conspired with Henry Pole, Lord Montague, Marquis of Exeter, to put Cardinal Pole on the throne, he was attainted and executed on 3rd March 1539. His line can be followed up until the 18th C. (Hist. of Surrey).

                                                 - Robert, who died in 1509 (Add.to Dugdale's Baronage), was married to Eleanor, daughter of Sir William Jenney of Knoddishall in Suffolk, by his wife Elizabeth, second daughter of Thomas Cawse, whose first husband had been Sir Robert Brewse, kt. (Burke). Her brother was Sir Edmund Jenney, who was married to Katherine Boys. - Robert's arms were AZ 3 lions rampant.

Philippa, sister of Joan Dacre, Richard's wife, (see below) married Sir Robert Fiennes. Thomas, her father, had 8 brothers and sisters: Christopher, Hugh, a clerk, Ralph, Humphrey and Philip. Anne who married Thomas Strangeways, Elizabeth married Thomas Huddleston and Katherine (Coll. Topogr. & Geneal. V. I). Thus it seems that Robert had been married twice. - And it was Humphrey Dacre, who rebelled and finally became Lord Dacre of the North.

Obviously, there had been problems about Joan Dacre's inheritance: In 1448-52 Thomas Hoo and Bartholomew Bolne petition from Thomas Dacre, kt., and Elizabeth his wife, daughter of Sir William Bowet and Amy Ufford, the parents of Philippa and Joan (The manor of Smithwick was settled on them in 1447, which had been Amy's dower), various manors in Norfolk and Suffolk as well as Hurstpierpoint, Wiston and others in Sussex. Thomas and Elizabeth received them for life, and afterwards the manors in Norfolk were to remain to Richard Fenys, esquire and Joan his wife and their heirs, contingent remainder to Robert Fenys, esq. and Philippa his wife and heirs, sister of Joan. Rest of the manors to Robert and Philippa (SSX FF) - Philippa and Robert Fiennes received St. Andean in Sussex in the Parish of Tyescombe in 1448, with remainder to Joan and Richard. - 1487 Commission to John Sulliord and others to enquire in a case in Suffolk between Thomas Hoo the younger and Bartholomew Bolne, plaintiffs and Thomas Dacre, kt., and Elizabeth, his wife, regarding several manors in Suffolk and the advowsom of the Abbey of Sibton and the Priory of Beyborough for the lives of Thomas and Elizabeth with remainders to Robert Fenys and Philippa his wive, and Richard Fenys and Joan his wife (CPR). - According to the Complete Peerage Thomas, father of Joan and Philippa, was first married to Margaret, daughter of Hugh Earl of Stafford. Thomas was born 1386 and died 15 Jan. 1457-8.He was a descendant of Ralph Dacre of Gillesland and Cumberland (d. 1339), who married in 1317 Margaret, only daughter of Thomas de Multon , lord of Gillesland, - Thomas Dacre, kt.m was dead on 4 July 1455 (CFR V, 19). - On 16 Feb. 1460 a writ was sent to the escheator of Suffolk that Elizabetyh, widow of Tnhomas Daccre, kt. had died. She held property of the King in chief.  A similar writ had been sent to Christopher Cooke late escheator on 7 April 1459, but he had been removed during writing the letter (CFR V. 19).

 In 1461 Robert Fenys, esq. witnessed a quitclaim by Maud Fyshe of all her lands in the town and fields of Wandesworth, Surrey (CPR). - In 1476 the Duke of Suffolk, Robert Fenys, kt., Thomas Brewes, kt and others received a commission to inquire in certain riots, assemblies etc in the county of Suffolk (CPR). - 1484 Grant for life to the King's knight Robert Fenys of an annuity of 40 lbs out of the convent of St. Edmundsbury, Suffolk. That year he had a commission of array with others in Suffolk(CPR).On 7 November 14r9 Robert Fenys became sheriff of Surry and Sussex (CFR).

The arms of the Dacres of Gillesland were Gules, 3 escallops argent . - The ones of Dacre of the South had as crest: A griffon's head with a gold ring with saphir in his mouth, in a wreath OR and AZ mantled AZ doubled Ermine (The Wall's Book of Crests). - Sir Richard had AR 2 lions passant AZ (H VI Roll).

                                                                                        - Richard, kt., of Herstmonceuax, eldest son (c. 1422 - d. 25 Nov. 1483-4)  created 7th Lord Dacre on 7 Nov. 1458, in right of his wife Joan (m. 7 Nov. 1458, d. 8 March 1487), daughter  of Sir Thomas Dacre  who died before his father, Thomas, the Lord Dacres of Gillesland of the North (Vis. of SSX), of whom Joan was heir general, and became baroness Dacre in her right. - She was a descendant of the Vaux or de Vallibus family. Her grandmother was Philippa, daughter of Ralph Nevill, earl of Westmorland, and her mother Elizabeth, daughter and heir of Sir William Bowett, kt., and Amy Ufford (Add. to Dugdale's Baronage). - This branch of the Dacres was constituted 'Lords Dacre of the South'. - Joan died 1487. The inquisition shows that she died seised of properties in Norfolk, Norwich, Sussex, Kent and Surrey (TNA C 142/2/33).

Richard in 1450 had a grant of the manor of Catsfield together with John Devenish and three others. - Richard Fenys, lord Dacre, and Joan his wife, were pardoned of all trespasses committed in entering castles, manors etc., late of Thomas Dacre, grandfather of Joan (CPR). - The next year they received a grant of the manors of Irthington, Dacre, Kirkeswalde, Blackhall, Farlom, Brakanwayte, Lasingby, Brampton, Burgh on Sands, Ayketon, Roucliffe and Glossenay, as well as land elsewhere, and a moiety of the castle and manor of Castell Kariol in Cumberland (CPR). - In 1473  Richard inherited Eccleston or Bradley manor in Lancaster.

Richard Fiennes, the first Lord Dacre of the South, was made constable of the Tower by King Edward IV and one of his Privy-Council. He was summoned to Parliament as baron and was succeeded by Thomas Fiennes (Magna Britannia). On 8 Nov. 1452 Richard was committed to the office of sheriff of Surrey and Sussex and after 8 Nov. of that year was made Knight Bachelor (Kts. of Engld ) and on the same day sheriff of Surrey and Sussex (CFR.). - He became chamberlain of Elizabeth Woodville, Queen of King Edward IV.

Richard Fenys, kt., Roger Lewknor, kt., Thomas Hoo, John Michelgrove and others in 1457 had a commission to survey dykes in Sussex (CPR) - On 7. In 1461 Richard, William Hastings and others were commissioners of oyer and terminer in Sussex (CPR). - In 1458 he was declared Lord Dacre in name of his wife. - 1462 sees him as commissioner to levy money in Sussex, from all who have not yet kept watches, to Thomas (Bourchier), archbishop of Canterbury, with Richard Dalyngrigge, Robert Oxenbrigge and others (CPR). - In 1464 he was one of the commissioners of oyer and terminer within the county of Kent (CPR). - ord Dacre, Sir Thomas Echinghham, kt., Robert de Oxenbrugg and others witnessed a charter by the Mayor of Rye and the whole community to Robert Crouche (RYE/136/198). - He was summoned to Parliament in 1459 to 1482.

On 20 March 1465 Ralph Botiller of Sudeley, Richard Fenys of Dacres, kt., Thomas Echingham, Roger Lewknor, kt., Thomas Hoo, esq., Thomas Lewknor esq, and Bartholomew Bolney received licence for a payment of 10 marks to grant the manor of Brabourne in Kent to Thomas (Bourchier) Archbishop of Canterbury (CPR). On 10 June of that year there was another commission of oyer and terminer to enquire into offences against the peace in Surrey and Sussex to John Bourchier Lord Berners, Humphrey Bourchier of Cromwell, Richard Fenys of Dacre, Roger Lewknor and others (CPR). - On 3 December 1468 Richard Fiennes, lord Dacre, and his heirs received a grant from the king of all goods of criminals whatsoever in ther manors of Pierpointhurst, Westneston and Strete in rhe rape of Lewes, Sussex, with power to put themselves into seisin (CCHR V. 6). - In 1469 followed a commission of array to William earl of Arundel, Thomas de Maltravers, kt., and Richard Fenys of Dacre, kt., John Fenys, Thomas Echingham, John Lewknor and Robert Oxenbrigge, as well as a commission of oyer and terminer the following year. - 1473 Richard was constable of the Tower and 1475 member of the King's Council. In 1474 a commission to survey dykes in Surrey followed (CPR). - Another commission of oyer and terminer was given to Richard, Walter Devereux of Ferrers and others in Middlesex in 1477. For Richard Fenys of Dacre and others followed a commission of array in the county of Lincoln in 1483 (CPR).

Richard Fenys was steward of the Prince of Wales, aged 9 months at that time, the later King Henry VI (Grants from the Crown) and administrator of the Principality of Wales, the Duchy of Cornwall and the County of Chester in 1471, Tutor and Counciller of the Prince from 20 Feb. 1473 to 8 July 1475. Later he became chamberlain to Elizabeth, Queen Consort of Edw. IV (A Handbook of Travellers). [That must have been before Anthony Woodville, eldest brother of Queen Elizabetn took over].

Richard, Lord Dacre, died in 1484 seized of the manors of Herstmonceaux, Oldcourt, Batisford, Strete and Dichling; further Wartling, Warbilton, Dalinton, Pevensey, Wetham, Monkensey, Horsey, Nailsham, where he held land, all members of the barony of Hastings in East Sussex (CIPM V. 3, p. 362, of 13 Feb. 1485). - On Richard's funeral his coat of arms was: Two chevrons between 3 roses. This shield was held to be from far ago (Coll. Topogr. V. 3). This were also the arms of the Knollys family. - Richard had an effigy in the North chapel of Herstmonceaux church.

After his death Joan Fenys, lady Dacre, Richard Fenys, esq. and Thomas Oxenbrigge, gent, were granted the custody and lordships etc. late of Richard Fenys, kt., lord Dacre, deceased, during the minority of Thomas Fenys, kinsman and heir, son and heir of John Fenys, his son and heir, with the custody and marriage of Thomas. 

Joan Fenys, lady Dacre, in her will dated 13 Dec.1485 legated all her possessions to Thomas Fenys, Thomas Oxenbridge and John Tensel. Her will was proved on 14 June 1487 (Transcript of SSX Wills). Joan's IPM shows that she held the manors of Covehithe, Cove, Bewflobby, Thobington, Bough, Wetham, Benace and Henstead in Suffolk with the advowsom of Sibton Abbey and the Priory of Blyburgh, held of the king in chief. The last five manors went to Sir Thomas Dacre and Elizabeth for life with remainder to Richard Fenys and Joan his wife. - Her inquisition post mortem dates from 1491 (IPM V. 6, nº 75, SSX).

                                                                                                         - Elizabeth married John Clinton the younger (d. 1464), whose father had been married to Idonea de Say, daughter of Geoffrey. - Elizabeth was a widow on 3 Dec. 1485 according to an abstract of will dated 13 Oct. 1485 in Testamenta Vetusta,  whereby Lady Dacre, widow of Richard Dacre, gives to Elizabeth Clinton, her daughter, and Thomas her son, all her chattels (The Ancestor V. 8).                              

                                                                                                  - John, kt., (d. 1487-9), heir of Richard, died in his father's lifetime, having married Alice, eldest daughter of Henry 5th baron Fitz Hugh and Alice, daughter of Robert Nevill, earl of Salisbury. She was descended in female line from the St.Quintin's, the Fauconberg's, the Brus of Skelton, the Furnival's and others. Herbert de St. Quintin was living in the time of the Conqueror, with whom he had come from Normandy. - Her sister Elizabeth married Sir William Parr, from whom descended Catherine Parr, daughter of their son Thomas, last Queen of King Henry VIII; and Anne, wife of William Herbert, Earl of Pembroke, a descendant of Miles, earl of Hereford and the Bohun family. - Therefore Alice was aunt of Sir Thomas Parr, knt. and coheir of George, last Lord FitzHugh. She had the sisters Anne, who married Francis Lord Lovell, Margaret, wife of Robert Constable, Joan, a nun at Dartford and Elisabeth (Coll. Topogr. & Geneal. V. 7).

By this marriage the manor of Mappleton with appurtenances came into the Fiennes family, and later into their branch of the barons Say and Sele. This manor had been part of the possession of Peter de Brus, who left 4 daughters as his heirs, of which one of them married a Fauconberg (Hist. of Holderness V. 1). - Alice inherited a moiety of the barony of Marmion and died seized of the manor of Buckholt in 1534, which her father in law, Richard, had inherited from Joan Brenchesle-Batesford. - In 1477 Thomas Maltravers, kt., John Fenys, kt., and others had to enquire into the matter of a wreck of ship on the coast belonging to Genoese merchants living in London (CPR). - John 's arms were the same as of his father Richard's.

                                                                                                            - Anne, daughter of John Fiennes, Lord Dacre, in 1491 became the third wife of William, 6th Lord Berkeley, son of James, created Marquess of Berkley and Earl Marshall of England (The manor of Tetbury). This honour was due to him. His mother was Isabel de Mowbray. She was descended from John de Mowbray, second baron and sheriff of Yorkshire, who was married to Alina, eldest daughter and coheir of William de Braose, lord of the Honour of Bramber and Gower. Her husband took part in a rebellion against the King  at the Battle of Barnborough and was hanged at York in 1323. Aliva was sent to the Tower, where she found her second husband, Sir Richard Peshale. There followed three Johns de Mowbray, the last one earl of Nottingham, who died in 1379. His brother Thomas succeeded him, whose daughter was the Isabel mentioned.  - Anne married secondly Sir Thomas Brandon.

                                                                                                                         - Eleanor, on 20 Feb. 1505 an indenture was made between Thomas Fiennes, kt., Lord Dacre and William Lunsford, gent, to witness that William shall marry Eleanor, sister of Lord Dacre (Lunsford Pedigree). The Lunsford's of Sussex are supposed to be of Saxon origin. Hugh, Richard and Mathilde de Lunsford had to do with Alured de St. Martin and Stephen de Knelle and his son Geoffrey (see Knelle genealogy).

                                                              - Thomas, kt., heir of his grandfather (d. 9 Sept.1533), 8th baron Dacre, 12 years old at his father's death, was married to Ann Bourchier (d. 28 Sept. 1529), only daughter of Sir Humphrey Bourchier, son of Margaret Berners, daughter of Philippa Dallingridge and Sir Richard Berners, and wife of John Bourchier, lord Berners (see Dallingridge genealogy in this web page). Thomas succeeded his grandfather in 1492, aged 17. His custody had been granted to Thomas Fiennes and Thomas Oxenbridge in 1489. By this marriage his descendants inherited some royal blood. - Richard Fiennes, kt., Lord Dacre, at his death was seised of the manor of Codham with appurtenances and the lordship of Codham in 1485. His heir is Thomas his grandson aged 14 (CIPM  on 13 Feb. 1485).

The King in 1491 granted to William Knyvet, kt., William Paston, Edmund and Thomas Jenny the lands in the King's hands by the death of Joan Lady Dacre, tenant in chief, and the minority of her grandson Thomas Dacre, Lord Dacre, son of her son John, except the manors of Herstmonceaux and Strete, Sussex, Wolfesfeys in Berkshire, and all her lands in Sussex (CPR). Special livery and licence of entry without proof of age to Thomas Fenys, Lord Dacre, son and heir of John Fenys, kt, son of Richard Fenys, Lord Dacre and Joan late Lady Dacre, who was daughter and heir of Thomas Dacre and Elizabeth his wife.

Thomas's will dates from 1 Sept. 1531, proved 18 May 1534 (Transcripts of SSX Wills). - Thomas lies buried in the Dacre Chantry of Hurstmonceaux church (A Handbook of Travellers).

In 1495 Lawrence and Thomas Aylmere sued Thomas Fenys, kt., Lord Dacre, son and heir of John Fenys, kt., and his wife Anna, in Walyngton and Bedyngton (Surrey FF). - In 1496 a commission of array in Sussex was issued to Thomas earl of Arundel, Thomas Fenys of Dacre, Roger Lewknor, Roger Lewknor, kt., and Thomas Oxenbrigge (CPR). In 1499 he was assessed at 15 acres of land in Sussex (Battle Abbey CH). - The same year he had a commission with John Devenish and Richard Carew to arrest Thomas Laughton and John Pylcher to bring them before the Council at Westminster (CPR). The earl of Oxford, Thomas Fenys of Dacre, kt., Robert Oxenbregge, gent, and others were pardoned 10 marks that year for entering without licence upon a messuage and land of the manor of Alresford in Essex, held in chief, acquired from John Brewode and Thomas Oxenbrege, both deceased (CPR).

Sir Edward Poynings, Sir Thomas Fenys, kt., and others made a fine regarding a quarter part of the manor of Tyborne and manors and lands in Sussex and Middlesex (Middx FF). - In 1506, 23rd March, Edmund Dudley, Andrew Windsor, John Caryll and others demanded against Thomas Fenys, kt., the manors of Fisshewik and Eccleston etc. By a later suit they quitclaimed all their rights in those properties against a payment of 1.000 lbs (Lancaster FF).- Thomas was commissioner for taxes in Sussex in 1502-3 and 1512 (SAC). - 1513 Sir Richard Carew enfeoffed John Oxenbridge, clerk, Sir Godard Oxenbridge, Thomas Fenys, lord Dacres, the Sirs William and John Scot and others with 10a of meadow in Beckenham Kent and 3 manors in Surry for 1.000 lbs (Kent FF). - 1515 Assessment among the possessors of land between Borham bridge and Werthyngwall was Sir Thomas Fenys, kt., holding 15a there (Battle Abbey Muniments). - 1526  Feoffment from Thomas Mustarden of Glynde to Sir Thomas Fenys, lord Dacre, Sir Thomas Fenys, kt., John Covert and others (GLY/1493 PRO).

Thomas sold Eccleston and Fishwick to Edmund Dudley on 10 July 1502. The manor of Wannesworth and other lands were sold to Reynold Braw, kt., Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster (Cal. of Ancient Deeds). - John Caryll and others on 21 Oct. 1502 demise and confirm to Thomas Fenys, esq., Edward Lewknor and Edward his son and others lands and tenements in Slinfold (Harleian Charters).

Thomas had been made Knight of the Bath on 31 Oct. 1494 (Kts of Engld.) and had been Constable of Calais (Hist. of SSX by Lower). - The children:

                                                                                                                                         - Anne was the third wife of six of Sir John Gainsford, sheriff of Surrey 1.500 and 1517, who had 20 children by his many wives.

                                                                                                                                        - Dorothy and John In St. Helen of the Holy Cross in the Parish of Sheriff Hutton in Northriding, York, a brass has been found, dating from 1491 showing Dorothy and John Fenys, two children which are assumed to be of Thomas.                

                                                                                                                                        - Mary married Sir Henry Norris, a courtier of King Henry VIII. She was a lady of Mary Tudor, sister of the King, who had married the old King of France and after his quick death married Charles Brandon. After the scandal and foregiveness of Henry he was made earl of Surrey.                                                                                      

                                                                                                                                        - Thomas, son of Thomas, succeeded as 9th Lord Dacres and was executed on 29 June 1541 at the age of 24 for the murder of a sub-forester he had not committed, forfeiting his title. William de Shelley, husband of Alice de Belknap, was involved in his trial but avoided the final sentence, which he thought not to be correct. In 1539 the king had ordered the lord Dacre of the South to accompany the lord of Norfolk to receive Anne of Cleve at Dover (Letter and State Papers H. VIII). - In 1540 The Lord Dacre of the South, the Duke of Norfolk and others and their retinues brought Anne of Cleves to Rochester on New years Eve (1 Jan.), when the king and some of his followers came to see her (Arch. Cantiana V.6). - Thomas was married to Mary, daughter of George Nevill, Lord Abergaveny and his third wive Mary, daughter of Edward Stafford. - Thomas had been summoned to Parliament in 1536 and 1539.

                                                                                                                                                    - Thomas seems to have died young in 1553. He married Jane, daughter of Edward Sutton, Lord Dudley dsp.

1550 Grant to Edward (Seymour), Duke of Somerset, of the custody of land worth of 200 marks in the manors of Herstmonceaux, Herstpierpoint, Buckholt, Strete, Ewhurst and others in Sussex, in the King's hand by the minority of Thomas Fynes, Lord Dacre, including his marriage - In 1553 Thomas Lord Dacre was still a minor in the King's ward (CPR). - The Duke went later the same way as Thomas' father.

                                                                                                                                                   - Gregory Lord Dacre (dsp on 25 Sept. 1594 and buried at Chelsea) was married to Anne (d. 14 May 1595), daughter of Sir Richard Sackville of Withiam and Winifred, daughter of Sir John Bruges, Sussex, and sister of Thomas, first earl of Dorset (Compl. Peer. V. 3). Gregory was born on 9 June 1538. He proved his age at Hailsham on 14 Dec. 1559 as brother and heir of Thomas Fynes deceased, Lord Dacre of the South (SSX IPM). On 9 June of that year he had been 21 years old. Anne in her will ordered almhouses to be built in Tothill Fields, Westminster. (See Dallingridge).

In 1557 George had paid a fine for a licence to have his land restored in Suffolk and elsewhere. He was restored in blood and honour by act of Parliaament in 1558. - Gregory in 1562 accompanied  Edward Fynes, Lord Lincoln, to the French court of Charles IX, a few days before the terrible Bartholomew night. - In 1567 he paid a fine for a license regarding lands in Suffolk and others. Gregory also owned St. Andean in Sussex. - He sold Compton Monceaux Manor in 1574, and Hurstpierpoint to George Goring in 1582. - From Calendar of State Papers Domestic: 1581 Grant in reversion to William Burghley and Robert earl of Leicester of various lordships, manors etc. in the counties of Sussex, Norfolk, Lincoln, York, Kent and Essex, previously granted to Gregory Fienes, Lord Dacre. In 1585 a bill was issued for settling the controversies between Gregory Lord Dacre and Henry Lord Norreis of Rycot. In 1588 Gregory wrote to the Council that he can array ten lances, ten light horse, 10 petronels, fourty corslets, 20 muskets and 20 calivers for the defence of the King, but feels sorry not to be able to do any more due to long and costly suits of law. - In 1594 lands in Old Fishbourn, once of the priory of Porchester or Southwick in Hampshire, were granted to George Fiennes Lord Dacre and Peter Temple, esq., as of the honour of Petworth (Dallaway, V.1). They had one daughter,

                                                                                                                                                                - Elisabeth died young.

                                                                                                                                                   - Margery or Margaret (b. 1541 -d. 10 March 1611), his sister, married 1564 Sampson Lennard of Cheveningen, (d. 1612) and Apuldrefeld, Kent. He was son of John Lennard, a barrister-at-law of Wales and of the Common Pleas, and justice of peace, also High sheriff of Kent at some time. He was married to Elizabeth, daughter of William Hamon of Elham in Crayford. - They are all buried in Cheveningen church.  Margery inherited the title of baroness Dacre on 8 Dec. 1604, which was allowed to her and her issue, as well as the office as Earl Marshall. The title of Lord Dacre descended in that family until 1788, when it became extinct (Geneal. of the Extinct Brit. Baronage). - Sampson was sheriff of Kent 1590-1. He died 20 June 1615 aged 71 and was buried in Cheveningen.

Sampson and Margery - son Henry Lord Dacre. He was baptized on 19 May 1570 and died 8 Aug. 1616 . He was knighted on 22 June 1596 at Cadiz by the Earl of Essex. Henry married 1589 Chrisogona, daughter of Sir Richard Baker and Elizabeth, da. of Thomas Dinley of Berkshire. - Richard Lord Dacre (d.  20 Aug.1630, buried at Hurstmonceaux.), was married to Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Arthur Throgmorton, kt, of Notrthampton and Anne, da. of Sir John Lukas, Essex. Elizabeth was buried on 19 Feb. 1621-2. Richard married secondly Dorothy, da. of Dudley, third Lord North, and Francis, da. of Sir John Brochet. Francis died aged 93 and was buried 21 April 1698 at Chevening. - Francis Lord Dacre (d. 12 May 1662), was married to Elizabeth, daughter of Paul, first Viscount Bayning of Sudbury, and Ann da. of Sir Henry Glenham. She died July 1868. She was created countess of Sheppey for life on 6 April 1680. - Thomas Lennard, was married to Lady Anne Palmer or FitzRoy aged 12, eldest child of Barbara, Duchess of Cleveland, and Roger Palmer Earl of Castlemain. Thomas was created Earl of Sussex on 5 Oct. 1674 and died 30 Oct. 1715, when the earldom became extinct (Burke). He had been obliged to sell Herstmonceaux to cover his gambling debts. They had a son Charles who died at the age of 1 1/2 and two daughters who inherited. - Francis Lennard followed. - Henry  Lennard (d. 1703), who had the daughters Margaret, Anne and Catherine, who all died before Thomas, the earl (The Tenures of Kent). - Thomas, born posthumus on 20 april 1717, the earl, left two daughters, Barbara and Anne. Barbara inherited the barony of Dacre of the South. Barbara, Lady Skelton, died in 1741 without issue, whereby her sister Anne became the baroness Dacre. She died 1755, and her son Thomas with her husband and cousin Richard Barrett, became the next baron (The Ancestor V. 5). - The line can be followed up to the mid 19th C., when several members of the family married by the end of the first quarter and had descendancy.

Margery and Sampson had several children: Except of Henry, the heir,  there were Gregory, baptized 25 Oct. 1573, lord of the the manor of Apuldrefield, died 28 Feb. 1618-9, married to Matilda. - Thomas and 4 other sons, who died in infancy, as well as 6 daughters, of whom one died in infancy, another one was called Elisabeth. 

The arms of Sampson as shown on their tomb read: Lennard, quartered with Fynes, Boulogne, Say, Mandevill, Dacre, Multon, Gillesland, Ufford, Clavering, Merley, FitzHugh, Grey, Odingsells, Warren, Marmion, Lisle, FitzGerold, Tyes. - Further there are marked: Sampson, esq. and his wife Margaret, baroness Dacre, sister and heir of Gregory Fienes, kt., Baron Dacre of the South, daughter of Thomas baron Dacre, son of Thomas Fiennes, kt., son of Thomas Dacre and Anne his wife, daughter of Humphrey de Bourchier, kt., son of William Bourchier, earl of Essex and count of EU and Anne, his wife, daughter of Thomas de Woodstock (Plantagenet), Duke of Gloucester. - And from her mother's side, daughter of Maria, daughter of George Nevil, baron Bergevany, son of Edward Nevil, baron Bergevany, son of Ralph Nevil, earl of Westmoreland and Joan his wife, daughter of John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster (Plantagenet) - (The Topographer and Genealogist V. 3).

                                                                        º Sir Thomas (SAC V. 18) Fynes, Clavering, younger brother of Roger, son of Sir Willliam and Elizabeth Batesford. - 1401 Commission of array to Thomas Fenys, Edward Lewknor, Richard Sackville, chancellor of the Court of Augmentations, later earl of Dorset and others (Battle Abbey CHs). - Participation in Cade's Rising: In 1450 Cade had been in service with Thomas Dacre of Bailey Park Heathfield, whose eldest brother was Sir Roger Fiennes of Herstmonceaux castle. The men living close to Thomas, especially his servants, were strong followers of Cade. The constables of the Hundreds of Sussex mustered men and gently families like the Aspleys, Bartefolts, Gilderigges, Lunsfords, Oxenbridges, Poynings, were followers (SAC). - Sir Thomas Fiennes, Gyles de Fiennes and others were feoffees of uses of Sir Goddard Oxenbridge at Snailham, Gravelhurst, Globy's and Corner in Guestling (CIPM of Goddard (SAC, V. 2, pp. 219-21).

                                                                                        - Roger, esq., married Elizabeth Echingham, daughter of Sir Thomas Echingham of Etchingham and Margaret, second daughter of Reginald West, Lord de la Warre. He died before 5 Aug. 1482 as per the following document: Robert Oxenbridge, Esq., Henry Hall, Esq., John Smyth, clerk, Edward Blount and Anne his wife, daughter of Sir Thomas Cobham, kt., deceased, concerning a feoffment in right of Anne to Margaret, widow of Sir John Elrynton, kt., and Elizabeth, widow of Roger Fenys, Esq., both daughters of Sir Thomas Echingham, kt., deceased, of seventy acres of land and marsh in Bexhill. Dated 5 Aug. 1486. Anne's sister Margaret had been firstly married to Sir William Blount, who died in 1471 at the Battle of Barnet. Note: Edward Blount was son of Margaret Echingham and and Sir William Blount. - Robert Oxenbridge was eldest son of  Anne Fiennes and Goddard Oxenbridge). - Roger Fenys or Fiennes in 1449 was keeper of the King's wardrobe (TNA SC 8/27/1343). - On 20 Oct. 1447 Roger Fenys, kt., Thomas Hoo, Bartholomew Bolny sue John Squery and Emma his wife for 17acres of meadow in Hese Kent. The deforciants quitclaim to the querents receiving 20 marks of silver (Kent FF).

                                                                                                  - Thomas Fiennes, kt. died 8 Feb. 1527 (SSX IPM V. 8). Thomas his son and heir is aged 30 and more. He left the manors of Pechards, Ratton Harwards in Willingdon, Blaverham Harward and appurtenances. - 1476 and 1487 Amercements were levied in Sussex of Thomas Fenys and others (Battle Abbey CH). - In 1480 Thomas Fenys, esquire of the body and Anne Urswick his wife, late the wife of John Dorward of Bokkyng, Essex, esq., received a grant from the King of the manor of Polstede Hall in Burnham and appurtenances in Norfolk (CPR). - 1489 Thomas Fenys, esq. and others sue John Fermer and Joan his wife for land, wood and rent in Mayfield and Heathfield, but it went to John Cheyney (SSX FF). - In 1495 Drew Sambourn, esq. had licence to demise the manor of Farnham to Christopher Ursewyk, clerk, Thomas Fenys, esq. of the body, Thomas Oxenbrigge, serjeant-at-law and others (CPR). - Thomas Fiennes was made a Knight of the Bath on 14 Nov. 1501 (Kts. in Engld.). - Drew Sambourne died seised of a messuage with appurtenances in Langridge, Somerset. His feoffees were Christopher Urswick, clerk, Thomas Fenys, kt., Thomas Oxenbridge, serjeant-at-law, Richard Carew and others, who later enfeoffed William Sambourne, son of Drew and Anne his wife. William d. 19 Oct. 1504 (CIPM V. 22, p. 208, 1508). -   Ann Urswick seems to be the daughter of Sir Thomas Urswick, knight, who sued for premises in the parish of St. Giles of London in 1474 (Ldn. & Mddx FF).SSX

                                                                                                             - Thomas aged 30 and more at his father's death. - He seems to have been parson of Berwick (1547), Bexhill (Transcript of  SSX Wills). - This is probably the one who in 1532 was chaplain and sued with others Richard and Thomas Devenish for the manor of Morehall and tenements in Ninfield, as well as a third part of the manor of Elington in Northumberland, of diverse manors in Lincoln and of the manor of Fauxton in Northampton, which were all granted to the plaintiffs and the heirs of Thomas. - Thomas Fiennes, clerk was prebendary of Hollington belonging to the canons of Hastings. In c. 1536 after the dissolution  the prebendary was demised to Giles Fiennes, esq., by indenture to pay 40s per annum and the tithe of 6s 11d (Dawson, Hist. of Hast. V. 1, p. 313).

                                                                                                             - Philip- In 1564 Philip Fynes, gentleman, Sir Richard, Thomas and John Sackville and others went to court for the manors and lands in Sussex, Kent, Essex, Suffolk, Norfolk, Lincoln, Southampton, Northampton, Berkshire, Wiltshire, Dorset, Nottingham, Derby, York, Norhumberland and premises in London (London and MDDX FF). - 1564-4 Richard Sackville, kt, Thomas and John Sackville esqs and others plead against Filip Fynes, gent, for the manors of Herstmonceaux, Herstpierpoint, Westneston, Strete, Buckolt, Ewherst, Berwick and Hailsham with appurtenances in Sussex. They were quitclaimed to the plaintiffs and the heirs of Edward Sackville (SSX manors in FF). - In 1564 the manor of Langhurst in Westfield was in the hands of Philip de Fiennes, probably conveyed to him by Kingston and Anne, daughter of Thomas Oxenbridge, who sold it to Sir Richard de Sackville (VCH).

                                                                                                             - Ann, daughter of Sir Thomas Fynes of Clavering and Ann Urswick, was the second wife of Goddard Oxenbridge, who died in 1532. She received as her dower Brede manor, Ford Place and many other properties with the task to pay to her son John 20 marks during his liffe. She had a large descendancy (see Oxenbridge genealogy). Their daughter Margaret married as his second wife John Thatcher of Priesthawes, who died on 9 Feb. 1574. Their children were James Thatcher and Katherine, who died in 1612. She was married to Herbert Pelham of Michelham, who died 30 July 1614 (SSX Geneal. V. 3).

                                                                                                              - Margaret married William Lunsford of Sussex

                                                                                                              - Elizabeth married William Paynes of Essex               

                                                                                                             - Jane

                                                               - Giles of Clavering, considered in his father's will. In 1526 Giles, John Levett, jun. and Thomas Pelham sued for 26s 6d rent out of Annington manor and tenements in West Greensted, which were granted to them (SSX FF). Giles was married to Elizabeth, daughter of John Ernley, a judge. - Giles died 1554 seised of the manor of Yielding, which he had held during the minority of John, son of John Levett (SSX IPMs). His descendancy has been taken from Sussex Genealogies:

                                                                                                                           - Ann married William Threele of Boxley, Sussex

                                                                                                                           - Mary married John Leeds of Sussex

                                                                                                                           - Henry fourth son 

                                                                                                                           - Thomas second son, married Elizabeth Tatersall. They had a daughter

                                                                                                                                       - Elisabeth who married William Lee.

                                                                                              - John of Claveringham, eldest son, married Elizabeth, daughter of Richard Colepepper of Wakehurst, in female line descended of the Echingham family. - In 1555 John and Elizabeth quitclaimed Lewesham manor to John Lacy and Thomas Duffell (SSX FF). - John Duke in 1573 sued John and Elizabeth for Tolles manor and several tenements, which were quitclaimed to him. - John and Elizabeth  had a daughter 

                                                                                                                           - Joan who married Thomas Culpepper, gent, who died on 13 April 1602. His heir is Edward Culpepper, his cousin of Wakehurst. He leaves Nyhends in Balcomb, which had  been granted to John Threle and Joan Fynes, daughter of John Fynes of Claveringham deceased.                     

                                                        Edward third son, married Ann Holden. - Edward Fynes and Robert Threle sue Thomas Culpepper for the manor of Tynsley in 1565. It was quitclaimed to the demandants and the heirs of Edward Fynes (SSX manors in FF). - Edward and Ann had a daughter

                                                                                                                           - Ann

                                                                                                                           - John of Claveringham married Agnes, who married secondly John Threle. She was one of three daughters of Richard Holden of Hurstpierpoint, whose will was proved in 1553, by which he left his estate in Arlington to his daughters (Hist. of SSX by Lower). John and Agnes had a son

                                                                                                                                            - John - John Threle and Agnes his wife and John Fenys, son and heir of Agnes, were demanded by George Cotteon, esq., in 1591 for the manor of Pacons and tenements in Herstpierpoint and Albourne. The deforciants quitclaimed to the plaintiffs (SSX manors in FF).- In 1630 John Fynes, son of Agnes, died on 12 May 1630 (SSX IPM) when, his son and heir            

                                                                                                                                                    - John was aged 6. He left the manors of Claverham and Pakins in Herstpierpoint with their appurtenances at his death on 17 May 1633, aged 9, the same properties as had been handed on to him (SSX IPM), to  his brother and heir

                                                                                                                     - Anthony, who in turn dies on Jan. 1st 1638 (SSX IPM) leaving again the same inheritance to his younger brother

                                                                                                                                                           - Francis not quite 9 years old.

 

                                         º James (b. c. 1395, d. 1450), a knight, brother of Roger and son of William Fiennes and Elizabeth Batesford, was created lord of Say and Sele on 5 March 1447 as descendant of Joan de Say above. In that year John Lord Clinton and Say, grandson of William Clinton, Lord Huntingdon, who had married Juliane Leybourne (dsp), released his title of Lord Say to Sir James Fiennes (Hist. of the Cty. of Kent). - James was married to Emelina Cromer of  Wittingham, Kent. 1448-9 Emmeline, former wife of James Fenys, Lord Say of Hever, deceased (KAS).  She died 5 Jan. 1552. However, see below.

The Fiennes of Kent had the arms AZ, 3 lions rampant OR, crest: 2 hands conjoined issuing from clouds, supporting a flaming heart. - The Fiennes, barons Say and Sele, had quarterly 1 and 4 three 3 lions rampant OR (Fiennes) and 2 and 3 AR a chevron between 3 moles SA for Twisden. Crest: a wolf sejant (The General Armory).

In 1412 Jacobus Fyenles has Wolvele in Berkshire for 10 marks (Feudal Aids). James went to the wars in France and in 1418 received the Lordship of Court-le Compte in Caux and other lands in Normandy. 1419 he was Governor of Arques (Compl. Peer.) - In 1428 he holds directly from the bishop of Lincoln lands and tenements in Ascot, Oxford, as one knight's fee. - He also held the lands which had belonged to Rogier Blosset and other lands in Normandy. - 1421 Letter of the King assigning Jacob Fenys as governor of the ville of Caudebec, France. - 1436 He was sheriff of Kent. James Fenys, King's esquire, in 1437 received a grant for life of the manor of Monkencourt with appurtenances (CPR). On 3 Nov. 1438 James received the office of sheriff of Surrey and Sussex. 1439 sees him as esquire for the king's body, as such receiving a grant of the wardship of John, son and heir of William Scotte of Camberwell in Surrey (CFR). That year Thomas Northwode quitclaimed to Roger Fenys, James Fenys, Richard Wakeherst, Adam Iwode the manor of Hever Brokas in Kent. Witnesses were Thomas Lewknor, Thomas Sackville, Reynold Cobham and others; and Richard Boteler, son and heir of William Botiller, granted to Roger and James Fenys the towns and parishes of Waunesworth and Battersey in Surrey, formerly of William, his father, deceased (CCR).

In 1440 James was granted in fee simple the manor of Withiam, called Monkencourt, Sussex, with appurtenances and discharge of payment of any 10th granted to the King by the clergy in the province of Canterbury for him, his heirs or tenants, as well as the manor called Capell for the term of 40 years of an annual rent of 40s (CPR). - On 27 Sept. of that year further grants were given to James, namely the wardship and marriage of Alexander Clifford, son of Lewis, son of William and Elizabeth his wife, as well the manor of Huntingfield in Kent (CPR). In 1443 The King gives James Fenys, esq. 40 lbs annually out of the manor of Hedindon with the Hundred of Bolingdon outside the east Gate of Oxford for his fealty and services (CPR). - The next year follows the King's grant of the manors of Solihull and Sheldon for life. - He was knighted 1445. - In 1446 Edmund Leynthale, son and heir of Margaret, daughter and heir of Richard earl of Arundel, quitclaims to James Fenys kt., and William his son the manor of lordship and advowsom of Mereworth (CCR).

1445 James by a plea against William Menston recovers the manor of Mereworth with appurtenances and advowson of the church. One year later he and William Jole sue Ralph Leghe and Elizabeth his wife for 863 acres of land, wood and meadow, 60 lbs rent and rent in kind and covenant paying 100 marks silver (Kent FF). - This same Ralph de Leghe conveyed the splendid manor of Knowle or Knole with its park to James Fiennes (Hist. of Kent by Ireland). - In 1447 the King concedes to James Fenys, recently created Lord Say and Sele, the income of the castle of Dover with the castle ward, wreck of sea, 200 lbs yearly out of the customs and the custody of the Cinque Ports etc, and thus became constable of Dover castle (CPR). - In this office he receives order in 1448 to proclaim the statutes ratified by Parliament in 4  and 5 H. IV (CCR). - During that year he received two more grants: By John Kirkby and William Bake with Stephen Slegge the demise of the manor of Kenerton and lands etc. in the liberties of Kent. By Nicholas Carew of Bedington, Surrey, to Roger, his brother, and himself and others all Nicholas's lands etc. in Surrey (CCR).  

In 1441 James was tax collector in Kent, in 1446 for Kent and Sussex, in 1450, as lord de Say, kt., for Surrey, Sussex, Kent and Middlesex (CFR V. 17 and 18). - In 1446 James was chamberlain to Queen Margaret . - In 1447 the King had granted to James Fenys, Lord Say, his chamberlain, the fee farm of the town of Bristol. - He was promoted to being member of the King's Council and Lord Treasurer since September 1449 in succession.

Having been empeached by the Commons for his adherance to William de la Pole, earl of Suffolk, and the surrender of Maine and Anjou, and sent to the Tower, on 4 July 1450, James was captured by rebells there led by Cade, and beheaded. His head was paraded on a pole before his body, which they then hanged and quartered. He was buried in the Grey Friars. - James Fiennes, lord Say, was decapitated at Standard in Chepe in the 7th hour in the afternoon, and also William Cromer, then sheriff of Kent, son in-law of James was decapitated at Aldgate (Annals Rerum Anglicum - Liber Niger V. 2, p. 471).

James had made his will on 12 April 1449 to be buried at the Grey Friars in London. To Jane my daughter 400 marks out of my goods or lands, residue to Emely my wife, to pay my debts. Enfeoffment to his wife in the manors of Herne, Knolle Panterys Jones and Sele etc. William received the manors of Merwick, Huntingfield and Kenerton in Kent, remainders to Elizabeth, EmmeIine and Jane, his sisters. If William died without heirs, these manors to revert to my daughters (Lambeth Wills). 

                                                                         - Emmeline - There exists a curious document dated 9 August 1443: " James Fenys esq. for the king's body made an agreement with Ralph Rademelde and Margaret his wife, both deceased, that Robert Radmild, their son, should marry Emmeline, daughter of James" The writ of 'clausit extremum' for Ralph Radmylde, esq. was issued on 19 Oct. 1443. Ralph Radmelde had been sheriff in Southampton and had held land in Sussex.

                                                                          - Elizabeth, mentioned in her father's will, married William Crome,r who was executed in 1450. She married secondly Alexander Iden, who killed Jack Cade, and thirdly Laurence Raynsford.

                                      - Jane received  400 pounds as stated in her father's will, according a genealogical table which does not give her name. She married Thomas Danvers (d. 1502) - See also Elizabeth

                                                                         - William, Sir (b. 1429, d. 1471), son of James. - was married to Margaret (d. 1477), daughter of Thomas Wykeham alias Perrot of Oxfordshire and Jane, da. of Reginald de Trumpington. He was son of Sir William and Alice, da. of William Champeneys and Agnes, sister of William Wykeham, bishop of Winchester (d. 1443,). They inherited Broughton Castle and Standlake manor in Oxfordshire. - Margaret married secondly John Hervey and died in 1478. - CIPM: Margareta who was the wife of John Hervy and before that of William Fenys, Lord Say, had dower in Oxford, Southampton and Somerset. - William and Margaret were both descendants of Geoffrey de Say and Idonea his wife and both also descendants and Margaret de Peplesham. Margaret of her first marriage to  a Cralle and William of her second marriage to William de Batesford.

William had to sell the greater part of his properties due to the War of the Roses, during which he became twice prisoner and had to buy his freedom. Knolle Panterys Jones was conveyed to Thomas Bourchier, Archbishop of Canterbury, with several other lands including a quarry, which certainly served the archbishop well, as he received license to crenellate and converted the manor into a beautiful place which can be visited still. - In 1448 Edward Stonor, grandson of John Stonor, sold the manor of Ashe near Basingstoke, Hampshire, to William de Wykeham, bishop of Winchester. The bishop's kin, William, granted the reversion of the manor to William Fiennes, son and heir of James Fiennes, Lord Say, who had married his only daughter and heiress Margaret (VCH Hampshire, V. 4). A marriage settlement? - William sold also the wardship of the Cinque Ports in 1454 which his father had obtained.

In 1457 he owed 125 lbs to Thomas Wenslowe, citizen and draper of London (TNA C 131/236/22). - On 29 November of that year John Chiteroft, esq. granted to William Fenys, lord Say and Sele, Richard Fenys and John Cheyney, kt. a gift of all his goods, debts and chattels in England and elsewhere. - 1460 John Bolney, Ralph St. Leger and others sue William Fenys, kt., and Margaret his wife, for several manors in Kent and Sussex, which go to John Cheyney (SSX FF). - 1461 William Fenys, knight, lord of Say and Sele, and others demised to Geoffrey Boleyn, citizen and mercer of London, Master Thomas Boleyn, clerk, and others the manors of Hevere Cobham and Hevere Brokas with appurtenances, which they held by the demise of Joan, late the wife of William Brenchesle, knight (Cal. of Deeds in PRO). The following year William gave to Geoffrey Boleyn, alderman of London, a receipt and acquittance of 66 lbs 13s 4d as rest of the 1000 marks due to him for the manors of Kempsing and Sele in Kent (CCR). - 1461 the King granted William Fenys, lord Say and Sele, kt., for life the office of keeper and warden and custody of the New Forest in Southampton and the manor and park of Lyndherst (CPR) .- In 1462 the sheriff of Southampton has order to pay yearly to William the wages for the keeping of the castle and town of Porchester, forest and warren (CCR). - 1463-4 William Fenys, kt., son of James, late Lord Say and Sele, sold to Geoffrey Bolyn, Alderman of London, the manors of Hever Cobham, Hever-Brocas, Sele and Kemsing (Pedigree of Plea Rolls). Hever which in the next century would play a prominent role in English history.

William became Constable of Porchester and Pevensey castles 1461, and was keeper of the New Forest 1461-7. He was Vice Admiral of England under the Earl of Warwick, Lord High Admiral (The Kingmaker). He fled with King Edward IV to Flanders and at their return he died at the Battle of Barnet 14 April 1471 (Compl. Peer.). - 1468: A General pardon was given to William Fenys of Say, kt., late commissioner of sewers and tenaJohn Chiteroft, esq. of Sussex granted to William Fenys nt of the lands late of James Fenys, kt., the manor park of Lyndhurst, Southampton, and heir and tenant of the lands late of William Wykeham, late sheriff of Oxford and Berkshire, tenant of lands late of Emelina, late Lady Say, executrix of the will of James Fenys etc. of all offences, debts, accounts and arrears to the King (CPR). - Commission of oyer and terminer to John Bourchier of Berners, William Fenys of Say and Sele, kt. and others in the counties of Middlesex, Surrey and Essex (CPR). He had succeeded to the Peerage on 4 July 1451.

                                                                   - John, younger son of William Fiennes, Viscount Say and Sele

In 1461 John Fenys, kt., Thomas Bourchier, kt., Thomas Fenys, Esq., John Devenish, Thomas Oxebrygge and others contested Thomas Burgh of Wallington. In 1475 John, son of William Fenys, kt., late Lord of Say, received a general pardon of all his offences committed (CPR). - On 5 April 1479 Joan and Petronilla Worsham, daughters of Simon Worsham, enfeoffed John Fenys, kt., younger son of William Fiennes, Viscount Say and Sele, William Lunsford and others in their lands and tenements in Bexhill (Battle Abbey CH). - There must be something wrong with the dates.

                                                                                         - Henry (b. c. 1460, d. 1477), a minor at his father's death, married in 1474 Anne (d. c.1491), daughter of Richard Harcourt, kt., of Standon Harcourt in Oxfords. and Edith da. and heir of Sir Thomas Clere. - At their marriage they were installed in the manor of Ashe in Hampshire (see above) but after a year Henry granted the manor to Richard Duke of Gloucester, later King Richard III, and Morgan Kidwelly and his wife Joan, who then granted the reversion to Richard Fiennes, son and heir of Henry and Elizabeth his wife. - Henry's IPM says: In 1477 The king granted to his brother Richard Duke of Gloucester the custody and marriage of Richard Fenys, son and heir of Henry Fenys, tenant in chief. They held by grant of William de Fenys, Lord Say and Sele and his wife Margaret, Henry's grandfather, the manors of Bloxham in Oxford and Dene in Hampshire (CIPM H VII, V. 2, nº 548). - 1483 Richard Harcourt, kt., was granted the custody of all lordships, manors, lands etc. late of Henry Fenys, Lord Say, tenant in chief, during the minority of Richard his son and of the marriage of Richard (CPR). - As Anne survived her husband, she had those manors in dower. - Richard de Harcourt (d. 14 Oct. 1488, Inq. 4 Feb. 1498) had enfeoffed Richard Lewknor, Henry Fenys and others of the manors of Laghan and Godston in Wolksted (CIPM V. 3, p. 566).

                                                                                                    - Richard (b. 1474, d. 30 Sept.1502) Writ of 4 March, Inq. dated 8 Nov. died seised of Broughton Castle and Standlake manor in Oxfordshire and other property in Hampshire (TNA). - According to another inquisition with writ of 11 October 1502 and inquisition of 28 Nov (CIPM H VII, V. 2 nº, 436)  he held Bloxham in his demesne as of fee tail and his heirs, by gift to his ancestor William Fenys, lord Say and Sele and Margaret his wife (see above) by several persons. Further by grant of this William to Henry Fenys and Anne, daughter of Richard Harcourt, kt., his grandfather, a fourth part of Stanlake manor, called Wykham's Court. - In Hampshire he had the manors of Dene, Quydamton, Halle and Chyreheocle and 16 messuages, ten tofts, two mills 1300 acres of land etc. and rent in those manors (CIPM H VII, V. 2, nº 548).

Richard married Elisabeth, da. of Richard Croft of Chipping Norton, Oxf. and Anne Fox. - On 8 Sept. 1503 the escheator had to assign her dower of Richard's lands, in the presence of Edward Fenys, his son and heir, a minor. She finally received a third part each of the manors of Erleston, Dene, Hall, Quydhampton and Churcheokeley, as well as a moiety of 16 messuages, ten tofts, two mills, 800 a of land, 100 a of meadow, 300 a of pasture, 10 lbs rent lying in the mentioned manors (CIPM H VII, V. 2). She also received a third part of the manors of Broughton, North Neuton, Bloxam, a third part of the hundred and view of frank pledge of Bloxam and a third part of a fourth part of the manor of Stanlake, called Wykhams Court in Oxford (CIPM H VII, V. 2). - Elisabeth late the wife of Richard Fenys, esq.,married 1509,  her second husband William West. She died 29 March 1527.

                                                                                                                 - Elizabeth married Francis Barentyne, son and heir of Sir William Barentyne of Great Haseley in Oxfordshire, who died on 17 Nov. 1549, his son being aged 27. They had a daughter Mary, who was an idiot from birth (SSX Genealogies V. 1). - Elizabeth married secondly William Danvers.

                                                                                                 - Edward (b. 1500, d. 7 July 1528) was one year old and more at his father's death and thus came into the wardship of Thomas Brandon, kt. - Edward was married to Margaret, daughter of Sir John Danvers of Dauntsey, Wilts. and Anne, da. of John Stradling. She married secondly Thomas Neville of Holt in Leicester with whom she had a son William. - Edward died seised of  land in Hampshire, Oxfordshire and Somerset (TNA). See above! His Inquisition dates of 25 Sept. 1529 at Ilchester, Somerset.

                                                                 - Richard at (B. 1520 Broughton Castle in Oxfords. d. 3 Aug. 1573). - Richard, sheriff of Oxford, was made a Knight Bachelor in August 1568 (Kts. in Engld.) - For a full biography please see www.historyofparliamentonline.org/. He was 2 years old at his father's death. Richard married Edith, sister of Sir John Fermor, of Easton Neston, Northampton, merchant of the Staple of Calais, and Anne, da. of William Brown, Lord Mayor of London. She was living 1551 (Complete Peerage). - He inherited the manor of Ashe in Hampshire, which had for some time been confiscated by the crown because it had been held by King Richard for some time. The manor had been restored to the family in 1505 (VCH Hampshire).

                                                                                                         - Edward Fynes , Lord Clynton and Say of Broughton Castle and Ursula his wife, fourth daughter of Richard Fermer, esq.- In 1547 they were granted the manor of Folkingham in Lincoln, late of Thomas Duke of Norfolk, with the castle and park of Folkington and the farms and lands called Burterope in Lincoln. A large list of further grants follows (CPR). - The same year Edward had licence to grant his lordship and manor of Clyfford in Hereford and the park late of the earl of March, to Anthony Bourchier (CPR). - In 1548 further large grants followed (CPR). - In 1551 Edward Fynes, kt., Lord Clynton and Say, was called Great Admiral of England and received further grants by the King, and in the following year he was one of the King's Councillors (CPR).

Edward was married twice. The manor of Woodford which had been granted to Sir Anthony Browne (d. 1548), master of the horse and his second wife Elizabeth was granted in 1552 to Elizabeth's second husband Edward Fiennes, Lord Clinton and Say whom she married in that year (VCH Essex). In 1553 licence was given to Edward, the Admiral, and Elizabeth his wife, late the wife of Anthony Brown, to grant their lordship and manor of Ronewell in Essex with appurtenances to the King's Counciller John Gate, kt. They received further large grants in that year (CPR). - In 1558 Edward Fiennes and his wife Elizabeth sold the manor of Goldstone with appurtenances for 800 lbs to Robert Tyrwitt, esq. (Kent FF)  - 1587 Elizabeth Fynes of Balcombe, born Culpepper, made her will.

                                                                                                                                                        - Henry, son of Edward, had received Standlake manor in Oxford from his father.- It is possible that he had a daughter

                                                                                                                                                                - Elizabeth as per the following document: George Lord Willoughby married Elizabeth, daughter and coheir of Henry Fiennes, Lord Clinton of Kirksted Abbey, Lincoln. George died 1674 (Coll. Topogr. & Geneal. V.2, p.4).

                                                                                                                                                       - Richard (d.1612-3) and his wife Constance, daughter of Sir William Kingsmill, kt., of Hampshire, and Bridget, da. of George Raleigh, Warwicks. sold the manors of Overton in 1584, Church Oakley in 1589, both lying in Hampshire, and Deane manor in 1590. They also sold Standlake in Oxfordshire to Francis Fettiplace. - In 1586 it was considered to revive the title of Lord Say and Sele to Richard Fienes. The following year Richard wrote to Lord Burghley endeavouring to recover some of the land mortgaged by Sir William Fenys (Cal. of State Papers Domestic). - In 1593-4 he was sheriff of Berkshire. - Richard Fenys, kt., received in 1592 letters patent as lord Say. - He was made a Knight Bachelor in the same year (Kts. of  Engld). - Richard's and Constance's son

                                                                                                                                                                       - Richard, (b. 1587) -  On 2 May 1627  he is mentioned in a deed by Sir John Colbrond to Thomas Chowne regarding land in Manxey in Pevensey, lying west of land of Richard, Lord Dacre, and Cooper Pankhurst (ASH/4501/502).

                                                                                                                                                                       - William (b. 28 May 1582, d.1662) succeeded to the Peerage at his father's death in 1612-3 and was knighted at that date. He was created Lord Keeper of the Privy Seal, and Viscount Say and Sele on 7 July 1624. He was a stout Puritan and ambitious. - In 1645 Thomas Windsor, a minor, became ward of William Viscount Sele, master of the Court of Wards and Liveries (Coll. Topogr. and Geneal. V. 2 p. 4). - 1641-2 he became Lord of the Treasury and High Steward of the University of Oxford. He was also joint commissioner of Regency and 1642 Lieutenant of Oxfordsh., Cheshire and Gloucesters. Further joint commissioner to treat with King Charles I and the Scots. 1657-8 he was member of Cromwell's House of Lords. By Charles II he was made Counciller for the Colonies. - C. 1602 he married Elizabeth, 6th da. of John Temple of Stone,  Bucks, and Susan, da. and coheir of Sir Thomas Spencer of Northampton. They are buried at Stoughton (Compl. Peer.). - They had four sons:

                                                                                                                                                                                            º James, (b. c. 1603, d.15 March 1673-4),  son and heir of William, Viscount Say and Sele, married Francis, 4th daughter of Edward, Viscount Wimbledon, third son of Thomas earl of Exeter, son of William Cecil, Lord Burghley, by his first wife Mary. Francis was daughter of Edward and his first wife Theodosia, daughter of Sir Andrew Noel of Dally, Leicester (Cecil Genealogy ). - They were buried at Broughton. The barony of Say and Sele fell in abeyance because James had died spms, as two sons died in infancy and the third one died in France, still young. There were two daughters:                        

                                                                                                                                                                                                 - Francis (d. 1687) married Andrew Ellis esq. of Alrey of the county of Flint in North Wales, daughter of James Fiennes, Viscount Say and Sele, and grand-daughter of Lord Wimbledon (Cecil Lord Burghley, who had Wimbledon House). This inscription has been found on a gravestone on the floor of  Wimbledon chapel. In a window of the chapel were the arms of her father James impaling Cecil with a tablet underneath: Mr. James Fines, son and heyr of the Viscount Say and Sele and his wife Frances Cecil (The Environs of London (Surrey V. 1). - They had also a daughter Cecil, who married on 13 March 1672-3 at Westminster Abbey Sir Richard Langley, who died sp Oct. 1678. She married secondly her cousin William Fiennes of Newhouse in Stretton Gransum, Herefordshire, who also died sp. Cecil died at Bath 22 July 1715 and was buried at Broughton. (Complete Peerage V. 7)

                                                                                                                                                                                                  - Elizabeth (d. 28 March 1674) married John Twistledon of Barley Hall, Yorkshire and Horsmondon Place, Dartford, Kent, as his third wife. He died 14 Dec. 1682. They had a daughter Cecil who died 1723. She married George Twisteldon of Woodhall, York, b. 6 Dec. 1652 at Clapham, Surrey, son of George Twisteldon, Lieutenant Col. in the Parliamental army and Governor of Denbigh Castle for some time. They had descendancy, which became representants of the family when Cecil's aunt's Francis's family was extinct and adopted the name Fiennes (The Peerage V. 7).

                                                                                                                                                                                           º Nathaniel (d. 16 Dec.1669), brother of James, created Peer by Oliver Cromwelll was commsissioner of the Great Seal in 1655 and member of the House of Lords. He married Elizabeth, da. of Sir John Eliot of Cornwall. He was the seond son of James Viscount Say and Sele.  they had 

                                                                                                    - William 3rd Viscount, their second and surviving son. He married c. 1670 Mary, da. of his paternal uncle Richard Fiennes and Margaret, da. of Andrew Burrel of the isle of Ely. Mary died in childbed 23 Oct. 1676. - He married secondly on 7 Sept. 1685 Katherine, da. of John Walker of Northampton. William d. 1698.

                                                                                                                                                                                                               - Nathaniel, (b. 23 Oct. 1676, d. unm. 2 Jan. 1709-10), only son by William's first wife Mary, 4th Viscount 

                                                                                                                                                                                             º John, second brother of James, also created Peer by Cromwell, m. Susanna, da. of Thomas Hobbs of Great Amwell, Hertfords., Col. in the Parliamentary army and member of Cromwell's House of Lords. Their 5th and only surviving son

                                                                                                     - Laurence (b. bef. Feb. 1690, d. unm. 27 Dec. 1742), 5th Viscount Saye and Sele

                                                                                                º  Richard of Ixworth, Suffolk, third brother of James

                                                                                                                                                                                                      - Richard (d. 1722), Rev., Rector of Akelay in Bucks. only son of Richard. He married Penelope, da. of George Chamberlayne of Wardington Oxford.                                                                                                                              

                                                                                                                                                                                                                - Richard (d. 29 July 1784) 6th and last Visount Saye and Sele. He married on 13 Nov. 1753  or 28 Jan. 1754 Christobella, widow of John Pigott , da. of Sir Giles Eyre, justice of the Kings' Bench. Chrstobella died sp 23 July 1789 (Compl. Peerage V. 7).

                    

From VCH Kent, Vol. 2: "Pope Boniface on 5 Dec. 1400 ordered the abbess and convent to assign a room in the monastery to Cecily Batesford, one of the nuns, and another nun to be her companion for life, as by an illness she was greatly hampered in presenting choir and chapter hours (Cal. Papal Let. III, 355). Cecily died an abbess on 14th July 1439. Next year her sister Joan Brincheslee made grants to the convent asking for a celebration at Cecily's death anniversary, at which two flagons of wine should be distributed, one to the abbess and the remaining one for the convent" (Roch. Epis. Reg. III, fol. 157d). Joan also donated richly to the convent.

There exists a very interesting charter referring to Wartling in Sussex, where William de Echingham, Thomas Lewknor, John de St. Clere, Edward Dalyngrigg, kts, as well as John Wardieux of Bodiam, William Batisford and others witness a sale and quitclaim of arms. Those mentioned  were  all related to each other.